We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guildford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hollies
5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Ranked #2 of 2 Guildford B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully decorated bedroom and lovely bathroom, set in showpiece lawns and gardens. But surprisingly for a B&B that rates itself as 4 stars, we returned to an unmade bed and unserviced bathroom day after day for the duration of our stay. Dirty plates were even left on our table and small touches like replacing a box of kleenex that was finished on our first morning was never attended to.

Light sleepers wanting a very peaceful stay should also be aware that this property is in the flightpath and planes from Perth airport fly very low overhead.

There is more to looking after guests than bringing in breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Oh my gosh, we cant stop thinking about this place!! From the moment you arrive, you know you are in for something truly special!! We were met by the lovely housekeeper (we arrived late into Perth on a Saturday evening) who assisted us to the back of the property where the 2 rooms are located. Before the door to our room had even been opened, I was already lost for words - the beautiful gardens, lighting and outdoor furniture is magical. Then you walk into this gorgeous, boutique style room (agreed with a previous review - its a country/french provincial style). Everything is meticulous, clean and super comfortable. After a very restful sleep, a soft knock on the door alerted to us to our continental breakfast (at exactly the time we had asked for). It was almost too pretty to eat! Croissants with fresh preserves, fruit salad and yoghurt, muesli and juice. I honestly didnt think it could have gotten any better until we got a visit from the gorgeous Homer and Pippa (the 2 x King Charles Cavalier pups). Pippa wasnt one for too much socialising but Homer loved to pop into our room have a little pat and cuddle every so often and then went on his merry way. What I truly loved the most about The Hollies however was the way you are given complete privacy to come and go as you please (unlike alot of other B&B's we have stayed in). This place is just amazing and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to any of my family or friends (which we have done) who are looking for something really special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Hollies has two rooms to offer, one with lounge, one which is simply an en suite room. The garden is beautiful and superbly maintained, the linens and decor outstanding, the setting could not be better. Our host, Judith, left us to our own devices and was not at all intrusive. The continental breakfast consisting of muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissant, was delivered to the room at the stated time and was delicious.

However, this was billed as a four star establishment and at $170 a night did not, in my view, offer value for money. The beds were not made during the day for us, there was no room key, we had to ask for our breakfast plates from the previous morning to be washed, the tea sachets were not replenished, and overall we did not receive 4 star service.

Nevertheless, The Hollies is situated in Guildford which is a very historic part of WA and the gateway to the Swan Valley and the wineries. A great location from which to visit a fantastic area. A welcome pack would also have been most welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My sister and I spent a night at The Hollies last year. We absolutely enjoyed the character house and hospitality of Judith the host. She made us nice breakfast and gave us an umbrella when we left on a rainy day. We are looking forward to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A unique experience with a french provincial flavour. It was so peaceful and inviting, you could forget you were in a big city! Beautiful garden and surroundings in which you really could relax. Thanks Judith- we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a beautiful stay at the Hollies, just pulling up the drive way made me feel peace and being English I also felt a little piece of home was right in front of us.
The gardens are really beutiful and so are the rooms. We stayed in both room and enjoyed both just as much. The Director of greetings - Homer was also a welcome visitor for us, a beautiful little King Charles Spaniel.
The decor in the rooms is lovely, good bathroom and the breakfast in the morning was really refreshing and healthy, loved it, it was a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Hollies is as beautiful as the pictures show. We were travelling with another couple and found the Hollies a perfect B&B for us, having the two very well equipped rooms, one with a little sitting area, separate to the main house and surrounded by the beautiful gardens .It is a very private and peaceful setting to spend a quite moment after a very busy day sightseeing. We were able to sit in the garden to have afternoon drinks and breakfast and enjoyed the beautiful Spring weather. We enjoyed the simple but very satisfying breakfast of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and a warm croissant with a selection of two very yummy preserves. The room was equipped with tea & coffee making facilities, it would have been nice to have a plunger as I don't drink instant coffee, (my only complaint). Judith the owner is only too happy to help with local information but not overwhelming. The Hollies is very central to Perth and its surrounds without being in the middle of the city. We would have loved to stay and explore the local area of Guildford, as it seems to have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hollies to your Saves list