We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere in the Heidal valley, Norway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nordre Ekre Gardshotell to your Saves list
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Lillehammer, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in the Heidal valley, Norway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place offers an amazing combination of culture, atmosphere and great dining. The hosts are friendly and forthcomming and we had a great stay during our weekend here in September 2013. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed only one night, but had a great stay. We had the blue room, which was very nice, with a view of the little valley and river on one side, and the other houses on the other. The rooms are in different small houses which are all old timber farm buildings, but with all creature comforts like modern bathroom and wifi. The bathroom was a little small, but the fact that they had been able to fit them in the old houses at all was surprising, as you would never have guessed from the outside that there was anything modern at all in there.
The beds were good, and the towels had a lovely fresh scent.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was fantastic. I don't think you could get a meal like this for many many miles around. If you are traveling in the area, Nordre Ekre is definitely worth a big detour.

We also had a dog with us, which was no problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us, we are glad you had a nice stay in “the blue” room.
Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This farm/hotel is everything all the other reviewers have said--and it's even prettier than the photos show. Rustic and modern all at the same time, the cabin rooms are large, well furnished with homely (in the best sense) furniture and everything you might need from WiFi to to a reading light. The walls are logs, some of the roofs are sod, the beds are "boxes." Falling asleep, amid ample pillows and listening to the rumble of the river outside was almost narcotic.

It's obvious that the owners take great pride in providing thoughtfully for their guests. We got extra cheese with our dinner, a hug from our waitress, and a lovely meal to boot! The wines were well paired with our meal. The dessert was very good indeed and the bread! The bread!

It's raining today, so I suppose the mountain views are NOT waiting for us--wish I could just settle down here and soak up the atmosphere and gaze at the green, green fields and pine-covered hillsides!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially our homemade bread. Hope to see you again next time in Norway.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Such an enchanting place - a hotel on a working farm that dates back to the 1600s, and has all boxes ticked to deserve my five star rating: genuinely welcoming and hospitable hosts, charming individually decorated rooms/cabins, superb food prepared using largely local ingredients (best meals we had on our trip, by a mile), and a picturesque setting in a valley beside a river. We hope to return one day and I would certainly recommend it to others who plan to explore the western fjord region.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for Your visit, and for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Barthelemy, FWI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were warmly welcome and shown to our suite in a cute doll house style cabin. It was a little suite, antique decoration and comfortable sofa and bed. Great quality bedding, all the amenities possible in a shower bathroom, bathrobe and slippers.
It even had old family pictures which were really interested and showed the local culture.
We really appreciated the combination on modern, comfortable with the kept charm of the old farm.
The dinner was excellent, all with local fresh ingredients. The breakfast was the best of our trip with farmed local cheeses, organic eggs, moose sausage and everything you could imagine or desire.
The hotel is set on a little hill over a river, beautiful spectacle of nature.
Lovely experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We know many of our guests reed reviews before booking a room, and we highly appreciate when our guests take time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This lovely Norwegian heritage accommodation lived up to all my dreams of what Norway can offer. It was everything I had wished for and more. My husband's family comes from Norway but it has taken me 36 years to get there. This was the first place we stayed and it was well worth the wait. I loved the clean, cosy, authentic feel with so many authentic, heritage features and furnishings. The bathroom was contemporary yet not out of place. We asked if they had a special Norwegian cheese my husband likes. Yes, and they produced another similar, unique variety, a specialty of the region. What a treat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. Wer`e glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A really unique small hotel in a beautiful location with friendly service. The collection of historical wooden buildings are very cosy and welcoming. We stayed in the 'loft' which is truly authentic; reached by climbing a narrow staircase with huge beams that stretch across the ceiling and tiny windows which look onto the turbulent green river outside. The toilet is modern and spotless but is outside and separate from the room (and might take some getting used to) - the shower is also the same. There is a guest lounge with library, tv, sofas and coffee machine. Breakfast is great; really nordic and delicious. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review.
Yours and other guests reviews and feedback helps us to get even better, and improve other guest’s experiences.
The room you stayed in is undergoing upgrading this winter, and from the summer 2013 the room will be a two bedroom family room, with a comfortable sitting area in the first floor.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013 and 2014, is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 18th century, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers fine dining with an urban touch, using both traditional local and international ingredients. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso and guest PC in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell Norway/Nedre Heidal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.