We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ford Wetley Cottage
Ford Wetley Cottage
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Ford
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
580PatM
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want to chill out, this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

No phone signal without a short stroll, and no internet. So .....not only does it mean that you are uninterrupted, it also means that the youngsters actually talk to you!

The cottage is lovely, secluded, very comfortable and remarkably well equipped. The downstairs (with the exception of the bedroom) is all solid flooring so no worries about the dogs making a mess. We went on lovely walks, relaxed and in the evenings we watched films, talked or played games - it was just brilliant to chill out. There is even a dog friendly pub within about a 25 minute drive which serves excellent food.

Louise and Adrian left us a fantastic welcome pack and very useful instructions dotted around the cottage. Excellent

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are however currently connecting Wifi to the cottage but we can always turn it off if requested!!! Hope to see you again one day. Louise& Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Britkids
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas Week at Ford Wetley Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas week at Ford Wetley Cottage with friends and extended family. It was a wonderful location. A very warm and cosy house which is extremely well managed and equipped with everything you could possibly need. Would highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review and hope to see you all again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
IrisjDerb...
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A taste of Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I can honestly say this was the best family holiday we have all experienced,, The sheer beauty of this cottage and garden made us all very appreciative of true values.. Louise was a woman after my own heart and was really forthcoming with her help and kindness... The weather was really beautiful could not have asked for more,,Wonderful place to be...

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The settings of the cottage
Liked least: The stay was to short
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2012
Thakn you for your lovely review, glad you all enjoyed your week here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kate W
Oundle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a real gem of a holiday cottage...kids didn't want to come home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We booked to stay at Ford Wetley cottage last minute....we figured camping over the cold bank holiday would not be fun. Well, how lucky were we to stumble upon this gem of a holiday cottage!

The cottage itself is warm and cosy and pretty much has everything you need. The owners have been very thoughtful and have made this a very easy / comfortable home from home. However, what sets this cottage apart is it's truly idyllic location.

It is peaceful, yet not so off the beaten track that you can't get to a pub / shop within a reasonable drive time. The gardens are just wonderful, and the kids could have stayed playing there all day with no need for any excursion out. There are streams, little waterfalls, shetland ponies, tyre swings, places to picnic and endless opportunities to play the best games of hide and seek.

When you are tempted to leave, there is plenty to do. We went scrambling on the Roaches, explored Dovedale and ventured to some of the cycle tracks.

Overall a very successful long weekend. I will be booking again....my kids are demanding it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2012
So glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to meeting you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EllieDeeB
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem. Well equipped. Well located. Peaceful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My family (with 3 young children ranging from 7 months to 7 years) stayed at Ford Wetley Cottage in August 2011. It's a beautiful cottage in a stunning location - very leafy and secluded. The owners house is located just a short walk down the driveway but you still have plenty of privacy and aren't overlooked. The cottage itself is really well equipped and steeped with character. We all felt instantly at home there. All rooms had ensuite shower/bath facilities and although we didn't use the downstairs bedroom it would probably be very useful for parties that had older relatives holidaying with them. The woodburner was fantastic (though took us while to learn how to light it properly!). We were delighted to be able to collect eggs from the hens and once Louise & Adrian returned from their own week's holiday we were joined by the wonderful Murphy! My children still talk about him and every Border Collie we see is instantly referred to as Murphy! He was delightful - would play 'fetch' tirelessly! There were also various cats to be seen which kept my children entertained! The cottage is surrounded by trees and greenery. Lovely garden areas. There are woodland areas to explore but they were a little 'wild' for our children to explore due to their age, but older children/teens will have lots of fun here. We had some great days out including Chatsworth House (a real 'must'), Monkey World at Trentham Gardens, visited Matlock Bath (a seaside town feel!) and Bakewell (the museum on the hill is worth a look) and enjoyed several stops at the village of Hartington (the Cheese Shop and ice cream van mainly!). All in all the cottage is superbly placed to access all sorts of visitor attractions both in Staffs and Derbyshire. There is little in the way of mobile phone coverage until you drive a little way away from the cottage and the hamlet (although we got a single bar of coverage at a particular point in the garden next to the field (not far from the the living room window) so you'll have to ditch the mobiles in favour of complete peace and quiet - no bad thing. Though there is a pay phone just down the road...and of course Louise & Adrian nearby if you need anything. We had a great week's stay and would love to return some time. Oh, and a Tesco food delivery at the start of the week was a great help! Fond memories of a lovely week.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Murphy and the hens
Liked least: Missed my mobile phone a bit.....just a little bit though!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2012
Were are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ford Wetley and enjoy the space as much as we do. Thank you for your lovely review. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BristolTo...
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Four night break in this lovely barn conversion. Very cosy, no draughts! Lovely to have en suites to all the bedrooms. Lovely lounge with sofas that are actually comfy, often a rarity in holiday accommodation. Louise and Adrian welcoming and helpful. Visited Leek, Buxton and Bakewell and had good walk at Dimmings Dale. Also excellent walk from Hartington Station back to The Royal Oak pub who had excellent food. 9 miles plus by the time we got back to car.
Cottage in lovely location, would be beautiful in Spring and Summer with the woods and stream.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jenwk
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage - don't hesitate to book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning cottage close to Leek which my family and I booked to celebrate my mum's 60th in July. I spent weeks looking for somewhere that would accommodate both my 1 year old niece and our dog, Penny, and eventually stumbled across Ford Wetley which was not only dog-friendly but had 3 double rooms, all en-suite.

When we pulled up outside the cottage we were not disappointed with our choice. This really is a lovely place and very well kept, and we were lucky to have more or less 5 solid days of good weather enabling us to make full use of the BBQ facilities! My niece also went every morning to collect eggs from the chickens which she loved.

For us city-types it was a real shock to discover just how quiet and peaceful this cottage is; it really feels like a place where you can escape to and unwind. The owners were incredibly helpful from the moment we booked and we were able to organise a number of suprises for my mum in advance with their assistance, including a massage from Louise, which my mum said was incredible!

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and would be more than happy to return in the future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The look of the cottage and the area. Oh and the chickens!!
Liked least: Finding it!! Was a bit tricky to locate...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2011
Thank you James, so glad you enjoyed your stay, you're all most welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$133
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Louise C
44 01538304561
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Dec 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing