We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rip off, disappointment & an embarrassment to the top end!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of FlickingFresh Farm

FlickingFresh Farm
Tell Place, Berry Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
0417886868
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barramundi and prawn farm open to the public by appointment/booking only for tours and fishing. Take home farm fresh barra fillets. Check the website for up to date details, pricing and to make your booking.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total rip off, disappointment & an embarrassment to the top end!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I welcomed another group of our continuous stream of guests & suggested doing this barra farm as it would be great fun for the kids & easier for us. How wrong we were! Right from the start the owner refused to be upfront with us in regard to prices over the phone but was more than up front after we drove over 45mins out there & he had us there, being extremely rude & totally unprofessional to say the least. Even days later he has refused to acknowledge his failings here & struggles to see how frustrating it was for us to be mis lead & drive along way with a family member in a wheelchair & 4 kids under 4! In the end it was a blessing for us as we have since taken our guests out on our own boat to a prestine billabong where we all had a ball caught heaps of barra (that we got to keep!) & we didn't have to share one rod between ten of us for a small fortune! Having been a local here for 10years now I'm embarrassed to have a company like this representing the NT. I would never recommend this place to any of our many guests & would instead advise to just book a charter. At least then your getting something for your money(boat ride,fuel,lunch,decent rods,latest lures) you get to keep what you catch(at no extra cost) & you get to experience the beautiful. "free" rivers & water ways that go on for miles & miles while seeing crocodiles & countless more amazing wildlife.. Being locals we love to support local small business & industry but this is one business we will in no way be supporting & will we be sure to tell all of our local friends & their guests of this terrible encounter.. Stay away people!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reelbrainfood, Owner at FlickingFresh Farm, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
An initial response to this group was posted on 7 July. Further response is justified for the sake of all those of you that utilize the service that Trip Advisor offers. Since June 2011 when we opened our farm, we have had close to 6000 visitors fishing here. The only group we have effectively turned away is this group. This group spent less that 15 minutes at our reception area then left. As of today (24th July) this group has posted three "reviews" to Trip Advisor about their brief personal encounter with me. They have neglected to mention that I eat newborn puppies, live, for breakfast - perhaps in their next "review"!. Barring my attempt at black humor, .I see no point whatsoever in getting involved in a "he said/she said" salacious slanging match on an open social forum such as Trip Advisor. Users of Trip Advisor will make their own judgments about these reviews.and perhaps note reviews from genuine visitors that actually stayed and fished on our farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Complete disappointment with unprofessional, rude management!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This venture was a complete waste of time. The website is very poor & after finally getting a contact number we were told twice that price included the fish only to drive 45mins to be told something different! Then the management was beyond rude & advised us "just to leave"! Totally taking advantage of people's dream of catching a barra. Tip- go to one of the many beautiful "free" places to try & catch a barra & avoid the disappointment, frustration & greed of these people. No need!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at FlickingFresh Farm, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
When our fishing visitors arrive we do make a point of explaining what we are offering and the prices before continuing on with the safety awareness talk then the fishing programme. After this initial 3 minute introduction it became clear that this particular party had been under the impression that all the fish that they would catch would be theirs to keep. I apologised personally about this apparent misunderstanding, but some members of the aggrieved party became argumentative, so within 10 minutes of their arrival I suggested to them that they should leave the premises. This party then left and we proceeded with a pleasant evening's fishing with our other visitors who included a number of children. This aggrieved party stayed on the farm for 15 minutes at most, and did not experience any more than the initial talk about the the costs of the service that we are offering. Our website does cover these particulars in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you ever wanted to catch a Barra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were recently in darwin for 5 days and wanted to catch a barra, but due to one of the major comps being on, we found it hard to get on a charter. A friend put us onto this place and we booked in for the next morning. After a short briefing about the farm, it was into the fishing. We got to one of the canals and it was straight into fish. The staff were helpful and I would recommend this to anyone wanting to tick off that first barra catch, especially if they are limited by time. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next morning.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb way to snag a Barra guaranteed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Title says it all, well run, lots of fish and a huge amount of fun, all at a reasonable price. We were family group and had a ball getting strike after strike, and fighting the fish in, we had many more on that we landed, I have fished for years and this is the best way to fish as a family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hi, we booked for two rods and shared with the kids. Initially started off slow, then my husband spotted the barra at the end of an aerator. We moved and nearly every cast managed to catch a barra - most over 75 centimetres which put up a good fight. We went for the 4pm session - didn't finish until dark about 6.30pm, then my husband filletted one barra we purchased. Staff extremely friendly and happy to share information about the farm. Great way to spend the afternoon and something we will never forget.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FlickingFresh Farm also viewed

Berry Springs, Northern Territory
 
Berry Springs, Northern Territory

Been to FlickingFresh Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FlickingFresh Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.