We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views of Lake Lugano!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante Stampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante Stampa to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante Stampa
Via Stampa, 3, 21031 Viconago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viconago
City
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Lake Lugano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel is the highest point on a mountain overlooking Lake Lugano. Accordingly, the road up the mountain to the hotel is not for the faint-hearted driver (or passengers) - narrow, winding, and the steepest possible incline. It is best tackled in a small car with manual transmission.

The reward for the adventurous driver is being able to watch the most beautiful sunset and sunrise, right from the room’s balcony high above the lake and the City of Lugano. These views are truly spectacular and are worth the challenging drive.

Our room was spacious, clean, basic, and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, fresh baked croissants and hams. It was helpful to speak some basic Italian as the lady at the reception spoke almost no English.

The hotel’s restaurant seems to be popular with locals, it was filled to capacity both nights we were there. So if interested in dinner at hotel, make sure to mention it ahead of time. And try to eat at the terrace, for the spectacular views.

A great discovery was the town right next to the hotel. Cadegliano-Viconago is a historically interesting town, whose heart is the masterpiece, 600-year-old church of Sant'Antonio Abate. Be sure to leave some time to wander through the streets there, as well as hike the surrounding forests.

Driving tip: if using a GPS, get the address from the hotel’s own website. Some 3rd party booking list the address incorrectly as the nearby town of Ponte Tresa, which is not exactly where the hotel is situated.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the lake, is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perched high on an Italian mountain overlooking the Swiss lakes this hotel can boast the most amazing views in Europe. The family run hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. Our activities for the 3 night stay included cooling off in the sparkling pool and lazing on the sundeck looking again at the mountains and lakes of Switzerland, strolling along the river which borders Italy and Switzerland, finding our way through the local village streets admiring the architecture and drinking tea in the tiny piazza with the locals. The hairdresser managed to colour and style my hair although we couldn't converse except by hand signals. A super find was a church built in the 900's and now is revealing, under the white plaster paintings, of the Leonardo da Vinci school. Breakfasts and dinner at the hotel restaurant were delicious. A gluten free menu was provided and amongst the pile of menus we did find one English language menu. Evening meals were very popular with the locals and we suspect from people as far away as Milano. We estimated over 100 guests eating most nights and the food was delicious. The biggest challenge is to find this unique hotel as it is well away from the tourist route but we stopped and asked locals and are so glad to have stayed in a most special place.

Room Tip: Rooms were all in quiet positions and without views but we were able to sit on the decking or in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lage Zwaluwe, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for our family of four, two small children. We stayed here one night on our way to the Tuscan coastal region. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful although the English language is difficult for them. The view on the lake and surroundings is absolutely beautiful. The hotel has a good restaurant with a good price - quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altikon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stay one night in this albergo every year and it is just wunderful. The view from the balcony is even that fantastic, like the view from the restaurant-terrace. Even in the night... It is 2km from the centre in the hill from Ponte Tresa. The whole family is working in the albergo and everybody is very friendly and nice. The food in the restaurant is very delicious and cheap. The pizzas are great!!!!!

Room Tip: There are about 10 rooms in this albergo, most are with seaview. Ask about a seaview-room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safenwil Aargau Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice Hotel on the top of the hill. We found a verry good hotel with a great view over Ponte Tresa and the lake. The food was verry good too. We will visit this hotel One more!!!! Nice people and clean rooms, with free Wifi on the rooms.

Room Tip: Wie found a verry good hotel with a great view over Ponte Tresa and the lake. The food was verry go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked the hotel as a stop over and chose it because it was not far off our route and because reviews said it had a good view.
The view from our room and from the restorant/breakfast balcony was great! - better than we'd imagined.
The room was comfortable, but could have benefited from a fan or A/C. Whilst the room would not win any beaty competitions, we had everything we needed and the Wifi was excellent.
Dinner was very good and was very fairly priced, bordering on cheap. My pizza was truly excellent and my wife very much enjoyed her mussels. The service could have been a bit more enthusiastic, but we got all we wanted.
Breakfast was served on the restaurant balcony and whilst being a fairly basic Continental style, everything was top quality and was plentiful.
Parking was plentiful and whilst not secure, the location is very quiet and serene.
I did not try the swimming pool but it was available.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view unless your whole stay is during darkness! Eat early or reserve a table at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Just inside the Italian border when arriving from Switzerland you can't probably not find this place without help from your GPS. It takes you higher and higher until the small bending way comes to an end. The hotel is quite simpel but clean and has what you can need for a short stop over. When there you have to try one of their magnificent pizzas and enjoy a local winé of verygood quality to a very resonable price. Take the dinner on the veranda and enjoy the view out over the lake and mountins. In the morning they treat you witha very very good and nice and fresh breakfast . Enjoy the ham and cheese.
Drive up just under and pass the stairs for the hotelentrence and you will be calm to find a parking place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Ristorante Stampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Stampa

Address: Via Stampa, 3, 21031 Viconago, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Viconago
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viconago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Stampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante Stampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.