We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner in a very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garibaldi

Garibaldi
Via Italia, 1, 14010 Cisterna d'Asti, Italy
0141 979118
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $136
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Genova
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner in a very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I spent one night with friends in this nice hotel. The rooms are like little houses around a nice small square with a pleasant view on a valley. We had a wonderful dinner: all dishes (local cuisine) were very tasty, also the wine list is very interesting. The rooms are nice, quiet and comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    95
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely venue; average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Cisterna is a lovely little town with wonderful views. Garibaldi is a very nicely appointed restaurant (well except for the chairs which are uncomfortable). The food is typical Piedmont cuisine. Some of the dishes are very well done such as the zucchini flan with pesto; others not so much. in particular the veal marsala and the tjarin with ragu did not measure up to other versions of the same dish that we have had elsewhere in Piedmont. It ended up as an average meal that will be soon forgotten in light of all the better meals we have had in this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“just one word: WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is definetely the best restaurant that I've tried in Piemonte (I'm Italian and I'm from Piemonte, so I know very well the typical cuisine of this part of Italy). There are only a few things to say because everything was excellent and, although it was a fixed menu (the waitress says aloud the different dishes that are available), a vegetarian option is always possible. For example, as a starter the waitress proposed (among a lot of things!) a cold salad with rabbit and I don't eat rabbit. I asked if I could have something else and they prepared an alternative salad (with more or less the same ingredients) without rabbit. We had 4 different starters, and then we could choose two main (pasta AND meat) from a selection of 3 different pastas and 2 different dishes of meat. And finally came the dessert.
It was fantastic, I am looking forward to coming there again, the food was delicious, and the wine was great (local wine!) and the service perfect.
I do definitely recommend this restaurant.

**********

Ristorante eccellente con un ottimo menù. La qualità del cibo è decisamente al di sopra di altri ristoranti del luogo che abbiamo provato e, cosa non trascurabile, il cuoco è disposto a preparare (sul momento!) delle variazioni al menù nel caso ci siano persone vegetariani o intolleranti a qualche alimento.
Il vino è del luogo ed è tremendamente ottimo! Cortesia e genitlezza nel servizio.
Un posto che consiglio a tutti e dove non vedo l'ora di ritornare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“By all means, just please go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the outside it may not look outstanding, but it was the surprise of our trip and we cannot recommend it enough. It's not 3 star michelin, but who cares. On warm days there is a terrace with probably one of the best views in Italy. Beautiful view and beautiful terrace. Personal service, no menus, but a friendly waiter recommending whatever mouthwatering dishes, they have that particular night. Not a long list of choices and very typical Piedmontese. The antipastis are served one at a time and simply among the best we've had in Piedmont. One of our secondis were alm rack and we still remember how delicious that was. Homemade everything, including the bread. Simple cusine, ridicoulessly cheap and really just what a trip to Piedmont and Italy is all about. To illustrate the price level, a large bottle of water was 1 EUR!! The two of us had 3 and 4 courses each, our son had a pasta, we shared some bottles of water and half a bottle of local and nice red wine and it was around 70 EUR which seemed overly reasonable compared to the very picturesque atmosphere, the high quality of the food and the overall experience. Don't hesitate, just go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neive, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“This is what traditional Piemontese cucina is all about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Limited choice but what we had was well executed and served attentively at a good pace. Like all good restaurants in this part of the world the wine list is predominantly local and with limited mark up. Ceretto Arneis Blangé, excellent local Enrico Vaudano Barbera Superiore (€13) & Socré Barbaresco (€28). Antipasti included salami & lardo with fried dough balls, Jerusalem artichoke flan with Bagna Cauda, prosciutto cotto with a tuna sauce. Secondo we all had Tajarin with a duck ragù and finished with rabbit cooked with lemon and polenta. Only 1 dolce ordered but it was a proper semifredo not out of the freezer and still hard in the centre.Wonderfully atmospheric dining room of a bygone era. Coffees and an amaro at the bar and a bill of less than €200 for 5. We will definitely be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garibaldi also viewed

Cisterna d'Asti, Province of Asti
Cisterna d'Asti, Province of Asti
 
Cisterna d'Asti, Province of Asti
San Damiano d'Asti, Province of Asti
 

Been to Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garibaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.