We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Livingstone Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livingstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lympne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Livingstone Lodge
Save
You added Livingstone Lodge to your Saves list
Port Lympne Wildlife Park, Lympne CT21 4PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Livingstone Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with 3 friends. On arrival we were met by Sally, the ranger who made our stay extra special with her friendliness, knowledge on all the animals and bright and cheery ways. After having a safari tour around the safari park where we saw, rhinos, elephants, giraffes, zebras, wildebeest, several species of antelope, ostriches, aftican wild dogs, Sally drove us up to the cottage which looked stunning from the outside, warm and inviting. On entering the cottage we were welcomed with a savoury breads, fresh fruit platter and a glass of Amarula. Darryl was the chef for the evening meal and breakfast, wonderful food served by the smiley Sally. Cannot thank Sally and Darryl enough for looking after us and serving lovely food and service with a smile. Beautiful views over the animals and landscape can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands, uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the park around 2.30pm and took our time wandering round to see what day trippers do at the site. At 4pm we 'checked in' and were welcomed with a drink of Amarula, juice or champagne. Once everyone was gathered we put our bags on the minibus to be transported to our tent and we were driven round on open sided wagons to see the animals. The transport is the same as that used for day trippers except we were able to stop and watch animals for a while and take photos. We were then taken tour tents and they were something special. If camping could be like this. I would do it more often. Our guides brought each tent a bottle of champagne in a nice bucket, glasses and we watched the animals from our decks sipping the fizz. Dinner was plentiful and cooked over an open fire pit and we retired to the lounge sofas to chat with other guests and sip our tipples. Next morning we had a buffet breakfast ( again plentiful) and then watched the animals come close for feeding time. A final drive round the park ended our stay at livingstone lodge. As guests we were automatically allowed free entry to Howletts park near Canterbury (approx 15 miles away). The cost of entry to both sites for the day is £45pp, so once you debut that from the overnight cost, it becomes really good value for money as a weekend away with a difference. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this adventure to anyone. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We took a bit of a chance and booked this for Oct 3rd. Was worried it might be cold and miserable, but despite us having a massive storm on the Thurs eve our lodge/tent was cosy and warm. The whole thing was so well organised, we really felt looked after. Tim and Chloe were always on hand to tell us about the animals and Tim was brilliant with regard to conservation, I really felt I learned a lot. The food was brilliant, both the evening meal and the breakfast. The lodge is set up so that you do get quite cosy with your fellow safari goers, but everyone was really friendly so that wasn't an issue for us. We did lack sleep a bit as it was very windy so the tent was flapping all night, I think most of us had the same issue and there were some tired people around the next day, but the wind is sadly out of the teams control!
The animals get very close to the tents, especially when they feed them at breakfast time.
We will be going back again, in the summer so we can sit out the front of the tent and watch the water buffalo/bison etc wander by!

Room Tip: We were in buffalo, although it's not right at the front the view is still amazing and the tolie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on Friday night and had a fantastic time. The rangers were friendly and knowledgeable and created a relaxed atmosphere from the start. The evening safari was great - all the animals were out and about, doing their stuff - and we were delighted with our tent, complete with double bed. As we sat on our veranda sipping champagne and watching the sunset we agreed that we would be happy to be there even if there were no animals. The fact that there are ostrich and zebra strolling past is an added bonus!
The evening meal was superb, and the other 18 people in the group were like-minded and sociable - it was such a fun evening. Breakfast was also good, and watching giraffe stroll past our tent was a sight not to be forgotten.
This isn't a cheap night away, but for a special occasion would be hard to beat. If I was going to be really picky, my only criticism would be that the tie-backs on our tent doors had ripped so we couldn't sit in the tent and enjoy the (spectacular) view. The bathroom facilities are pretty basic, but then we were camping, and one of the 2 ladies' toilets was out of order.

Room Tip: Cheetahs has a double bed and is right in front of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I have recently stayed overnight at Port Lympne Wildlife Park, we arrived early and wondered through the park, visiting the gorilla's and rhino's which have the most wonderful enclosures to roam in.

We booked in at 4pm, the staff that meet us were amazing, they were so helpful and sat us down and provided us with a complimentary drink, once the other 18 people arrived we set out on our safari, the views were amazing actually felt that we were in another country, the animals that were walking free were Water buffalo, giraffes, wildebeest, ostriches, zebra and many more, the trip lasted around an hour, stoping at every animal and the guide was very knowledgeable and answered every question that was put to them.

Once we arrived at Livingstone Lodge, we were taken to our tent, I say tent it was more like a room, there was electric and very comfy beds, the view from our room looked out onto the massive view of the park and was amazing, it was literally the most wonderful view in England that i have witnessed, the staff came round and handed each room ice cold champagne.

dinner which was at 730pm was amazing, a five course meal which was cooked on a open pit fire in front of your eyes, the meal was amazing, if you go make sure you have the sausages :-)

In the morning its an early start, which i did not enjoy until i came out of the tent/room to the view with all of the animals right in front of you eyes, breakfast was a full english that was really really really tasty.

around about 9am you set back off to the reception but before you complete the rest of the safari, at the end you get to enjoy the park for the rest of the day and also have free entry to there sister zoo/ wildlife park Howlettes which was amazing in its self.

I have not a single complaint about this trip and would recommend that if you can visit this amazing place then make sure you do, this is a must do!!!

Room Tip: ask for a front on tent/room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Myself and 12 others stayed at Livingstone Lodge on Friday night for my hen celebrations and it was the best hen do I have ever been on (and not just because it was my own).

Our safari guides, Ellie and Tim were absolutely amazing and a special mention to Ellie (I really hope I got her name right) for joining in with the hen games my friends had planned for me as a surprise. I must also mention the other guests that stayed on Friday night who were very patient and such good sports for joining in the games and to the lovely couple that brought us a bottle of champagne to celebrate - thank you so much.

Upon arrival at the Lodge, we were given a complementary glass of Amarula (which was delicious) and we went on an afternoon safari. It is surprising just how close you get to the animals!

After the safari, we went for dinner which was gorgeous and the choice of food was fantastic. Huge compliments to the chef (whose name I did not catch).

After dinner, drinks and the hen games, Ellie told us about all the different things she had done working with animals both in this country (which genuinely was really interesting, I am jealous), we headed off to bed in possibly the most impressive tents I have ever seen. The complimentary toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers were a definite hit with everyone.

The breakfast the next morning was again just lovely, so much choice! And the staff put the animal food up near the tents so we were able to watch them up close when we woke up.

We did not get to see as many animals on the second safari the next morning, but we were lucky enough to have seen them all the day before so no one was disappointed.

After the morning safari, we were free to leave and we headed off to Howletts where we were able to go in for free. After looking at the animals, we gave the go-ape style "Treetop Challenge". It was hilarious, terrifying and a brilliant way to end the day.

It was so lovely to have done something completely different and everyone that came said how much of a good time they had.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent on the front row, spectacular views to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This private cottage behind the lodges is Complete Luxury... 4 double & most ensuite rooms, own Private chef cooked us 4-course dinners & a full English breakfast.. Guide Sally had a great sense of humour & felt as if we'd known her years. Staff could not have been more helpful. Animals up close & personal... Totally blew my expectations... Amazing Safari stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livingstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Lodge

Address: Port Lympne Wildlife Park, Lympne CT21 4PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lympne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lympne
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the UK's best tourism experience in 2012, the Livingstone Lodge Safari Experience at Port Lympne, Kent, is the UK's only overnight safari lodge perfect for a romantic break, engagement, celebrations and Hen Parties and has to be the answer to those who would love to visit the wilds of Africa on safari. Enjoy a multi award winning safari experience and a totally magical night under the stars, first-class authentic African dining, dawn safari, full breakfast & more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livingstone Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.