We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the best experience then stay at Four Seasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Fourth Night!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sayan
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“If you want the best experience then stay at Four Seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Staff, atmosphere, pool, and spa services were the best I've ever experienced. If I ever go back to Bali this is where I will stay without a doubt. All of their employees had been there for 10+ years. I see why. When a company has employees for that long that shows they take good care of their people. I see why Four Seasons is a Fortune 500 company. It shows.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms but if we stayed there again I would have upgraded to a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. The staff are happy and they love to look after our guests. I am fortunate and blessed to have a team that provides service with warmth and grace. Thank you once again for your very kind review.
As for the villas, next time, try the One Bedroom Villas or my favorite, the River Front Villas. The experience is at another level. Truly special.
Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    91
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
127
414
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Phenomenally beautiful place, the architecture and situation on the river is amazing. Dramatic views in and around the lush vegetation, the excellent sound of rushing water below you, just lovely. We stayed in one of the suites in the main building and were very comfortable, a beautiful room. Be warned there's no elevator on the property, so we ended up hiking up three flights of stairs for breakfast and dinner and the like. (They do have carts to cheerfully give you a ride if you'd rather). The villas looked quite nice too.

The hotel's in a great location; near to all the cultural offerings of Ubud but far removed from the crush of backpacking tourists. The hotel's car and driver were great, he did an amazing job showing us around and helping us learn more about the music and art nearby. The concierge staff were also phenomenally helpful and knowledgable. And we were there over Christmas and enjoyed their special meals, etc. Just a great stay all around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thrilled to read we were able to make your Christmas memorable.

For sure I shall pass on your comments to the Concierge and the chauffeurs, who I know would be thrilled to read such comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back and perhaps next time, you should try the villa by the river. They are quite special. Keep us posted and we shall pamper you and take very good care of you.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a conference in Bali in Nusa Dua and came in early to spend 4 days, 3 nights at the Four Seasons Sayan in Ubud. Without question, it was an amazing experience. The hotel picked us up at the airport and the driver took the time to visit with us about Bali and what we were seeing on our drive to the hotel. The location is magnificent and the hotel architecture is unique and highly memorable, starting with the bridge from the porte cochere leading to the huge lily pond that tops the roof of the reception and dining areas. The staff addressed us by name from the outset and no accommodation was too small to make. Our private villa will pool was worth the stretch and we enjoyed a variety of dinners: bar-b-que night, a private dinner on the roof lily pond and an Indonesian dinner that provided more food than we could possibly eat.

We also chose a number of activities including a visit to the local Ubud market at 8AM in the morning, a cooking class that focused on using Balinese spices and a cocktail making class that became more enjoyable with every concoction (you have to drink what you make!)! The hotel also provided us with a car and driver and we spent our full fist day seeing a variety of sights: the bird and reptile park, a number of Balinese temples and of course, a little shopping (jewelry and wood carvings; both are more on the high end side and it was clear that we were not the first Four Seasons guests to stop by). Notwithstanding, we found a few items that we think were of good value and took this all in stride.

All in all, this is a five star resort with five star service. We hated to leave and would return in a heartbeat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The individual villas with private pools are particularly special and worth stretching for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Well, all I can say is THANK YOU! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also had the opportunity to visit the sights of Bali. I am glad you took the time to come to Ubud as I believe, it's a shame to come to Bali and not see Ubud. This is where the essence and the soul of Bali lies and those who do experience it, such as yourself, go back with fond memories.

Thank you once again for your comments and words of encouragement. Rest assured it shall be shared with the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are looking for a romantic hotel that embodies the beauty of Ubud, this is your hotel. I would highly recommend staying in a Villa along the river. The hotel was nearly sold out, but you feel like you're the only one's there.

Pro's: Gorgeous grounds, exquisite service, secluded feel
Con's: Massage: Massage tables were very uncomfortable (thin padding). My husband is a muscular guy and he could feel the wood table and it ruined his massage. I felt it was too hard as well (we had massages all over Bali and their tables were the most uncomfortable). Go to Five Elements!
Dining room: Beautiful setting, but the food was very pricey for what you get. They did a nice job creating some "theme" dinners - again, very expensive.
Beds: In our first Villa, our bed was super uncomfortable. We both ended up in the middle - sagging bed. After 3 nights we couldn't take it and they moved us right away. It was better, but not great.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Villa! We loved being right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I am terribly sorry about the sagging mattress. Usually, we always get great comments about our Four Seasons beds, but I am pleased it was handled during your stay.

With regards to the food prices, we have made the changes in many areas effective in 2014 and reduced prices. We also have a new chef on board with new menus that have started as recently as last week and continue to review pricing in the outlets.

The spa beds will be looked at immediately.

Despite your comments, I am delighted that you had a perfect honeymoon. Look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary perhaps? We shall keep the river front villa waiting for you.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our stay at Four Seasons at Sayan was out of this world - firstly, the staff and service is extraordinarily detailed, they are all well-informed of our preferences and continually strive to provide us with the best experience. We took the Village Walk and Bicycle tours with their in-house staff (Purnama, an absolutely charming person!) which gave us a great private tour of the real life in Bali (away from the touristy Kuta/Seminyak/etc.). The GM, Mr. Uday Rao, personally introduced himself and would always be around the main lounge, helping guide us with our stay, or to have a good chat about the experiences one must have in Bali. All in all, this was a place we didn't want to leave - we hope to return to the same service some day (soon ;)). Kudos to the resort staff for making our stay cherishable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I am fortunate to have a team that truly is passionate about the job and our guests. It makes my job a bit easier to know that the team is there looking after our guests.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back one day. I shall wait in the lounge area for your arrival.

Wish you all the best for the months ahead.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are planning holiday in Ubud, chip in a few days in Four Seasons for a life Time Memorable experience. You will not be disappointed for the extra money spend.
The Villas 15 and 16 are kind of hugging the River Ayung and have the best setting in the resort, but other villas are also ok. The villas facing the paddy fields are not worth the extra spending.
Breaksfast is nice and fresh cooked , not buffetted .
For us, we spend only two nights, but shall be glad to get back for a longer experience.

Room Tip: Villa 16 is the best located and followed by Villa 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I hope we will be able to cope with the demand for the two mentioned villas after reading your review. They are special and one of the best villa locations for those looking to be by the river.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had booked another 5 star hotel in Ubud Originally, and upon arrival were very very disappointed, I looked up the phone number and quickly reserved a stay for 3 nights at the Four Seasons, within an hour they sent someone to pick us up in Ubud and we were checked into a beautiful villa with private pool, It is a first class property, absolutely beautiful and the staff is some of the most genuinely friendly and helpful I have ever come across. The villa itself was perfect, with a nice large bathroom and impeccably well kept. They also provide a hotel car for trips to Ubud for about 10 USD which is a great deal for visiting the town, you're far enough to feel tranquil but close enough to Ubud for a night out. The only thing I think falls short here is the breakfast, which I spoke to the management about, it is completely sub-par for the price, if they fix that it will be an absolute perfect resort

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments.

Subsequent to your comments and feedback about the breakfast buffet, we have added live egg, waffle and pancake stations. We shall in a month, post a small bar refurbishment, add a fresh juice station as well which will further enhance the breakfast experience.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Address: Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.