We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star but all relative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Fourth Night!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sayan
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5 star but all relative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

During our two week trip to Bali, we stayed at the Four Seasons Jimbaran Bay, Amankila and the Four Seasons Sayan. While we enjoyed the Four Seasons Sayan, it does not compete with the Four Seasons Jimbaran Bay or the Amankila. I would've given the hotel 4 stars relative to these other two hotels, however it definitely deserves five stars in comparison to hotels such as the Alila and Royal Piti Maha (these are not nearly as nice).


Pros of Four Seasons Sayan: incredible service, comprehensive gym (the best of all the hotels that we stayed at in Bali), shuttle into town (although it stops around 5pm), recently renovated rooms and facilities, extensive list of activities such as yoga, walking, biking etc., the most delicious ginger tea in the gym/spa area.

Cons of Four Seasons Sayan: The design of the hotel is very ugly--we had a few architecture folks in our group so they were not so pleased with this. Also, the rooms in the main hotel building are very damp, so much so that one of the rooms in our two bedroom suite was unusable. We also had an ant infestation in our room which was rather unpleasant. Lastly, the food is ridiculously overpriced (unless breakfast is included do not eat any meals here! Especially since food is ridiculously cheap in Ubud town. Go to Sari Organik and Bridges--food is better and a fraction of the price).

While it seems that the cons greatly outweigh the pros here, I want to clarify that we really did enjoy the Four Seasons Sayan and found it to be great value (around $500/night including breakfast). After touring the other rooms on the last day of our trip, we realized that we would have been much happier in a riverside villa--definitely worth the splurge! We also visited the Amandari and if money is no object, then I would probably recommend that you stay there (it was over $1000/night). However, the Four Seasons is half the price and given the better value, we were happy that we stayed there rather than the Amandari.

Room Tip: Splurge for the riverside villa! 100% worthwhile. Do not stay in the main building--it has a waterfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    89
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
124
407
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely resort, fabulous service, but the food and beverage prices were a complete rip off.
There is simply no excuse for over inflating the prices well above western restaurant prices. $50 for 1 glass of average wine? Seriously?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Ms.,
Terribly sorry that you feel our F&B prices are a rip off. There is no doubt that Four Seasons is expensive compared to freestanding restaurants in Bali. However, prices are competitive amongst luxury five star resorts in Bali.

With regards to the wines by the glass, allow me to confirm that we have no wines by the glass US$50 or more. Our wines by the glass range from US$20 to $35, including few Champagne brands.

Hotels and resorts in Indonesia pay 300% import tax for all imported wines, which makes an average bottle of wine purchased in one's home country far more expensive by the time it is served on the table for a customer.

Once again, my apologies for the high prices, but rest assured, our intention is never to rip off our guests. We value our customers like any other resort.

Thank you for your candid feedback.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we have stayed at samaya seminyak for 4 days then we have stayed at four seasons ubud for 3 days. ıt was a total downgrade even thought it was more expensive than samaya. we have stayed at riverside villa. it is located near the river however river area is not owned by the hotel so that anyone can reach from jungle to your private pool! they should indicate that in their website before booking. Even the evian water place at minibar was not complimentary they have charged a senseless price for them. hotel is located at ubud 20 mins drive to ubud. they have a shuttle service till 5 pm. so you cannot use shuttle service if you want to take dinner at ubud! most disappointing thing was the driver service. hotel has a private car service if you want to see around. it costs 25 us dollars per hour which is too much in bali norms. we have booked a driver and a car for a day to see around. we have shared the places we want to see with the driver however driver insisted to take us to some other places and reviled the places we wanted to see. the places the he took as was completely disaster they were total tourist traps and waste of time. it is unacceptable to experience those kind of behaviour from the staff of four seasons. finally when we were checkin out they have charged breakfast fee although breakfast was included in our room rate. luckily I have noticed that and corrected it. only thing good about four seasons ubud was the spa and it was little bit pricy compared to others

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Ms,
Truly disappointed that we fell short in the expectations at all levels.

All concerns mentioned are seriously taken into account and we shall address them accordingly. We take customer feedback to heart and ensure areas that can be changed such as incorrect breakfast billing (a human error on our part), driver taking you to tourist traps, resort transportation prices (we shall once again do a competitive survey amongst Ubud luxury resorts) are addressed and acted upon.

With regards to the local villagers at the river, they realize the importance of guests staying at the Four Seasons, since most of them own the land the resort is built on. Again, I shall address this matter with the village chief who's interest is in the interest of the guest and the support of Four Seasons.

Once again my sincere apologies. I am unable to turn the clock back and undo a disappointing experience, but would request to be given another opportunity to give you a true Four Seasons experience.

Thank you once again for your candid feedback.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a fantastic time from the minute we arrived and the way we were greeted, in such a lovely and authentic Balinese fashion. We stayed in one of the villas and it was well worth the expense. The resort is meticulously kept, the staff is so courteous: you feel like you've been coming to the resort for ever (even if you just arrived 2 nights ago). The spa was amazing, with these beautiful spa villas that are like heaven on earth. the river just down below the resort makes the location even more special. I would recommend to systematically ask for the more economical local driving options (rather than the hotel car) to take you to town, since people in Bali are very respectful and we havent had any experience of anyone wanting to take advantage of us.
We stayed there for 4 nights and used this as a pied-a-terre to visit the inland part of Bali. It worked out well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful setting in the 'jungle' up on a hill with a vista over the valley below. Fabulous villa, lovely private pool, exceptional service throughout. In-room breakfast was probably the best I've had anywhere, and served with charm and style by the butlers.

We were only there for a couple of nights for a wedding, but would have loved to stay longer. Great spot for the wedding though... by the raised lily pond overhanging the hillside.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amazing hotel, setting and incredible staff. We enjoyed the many activities they offered daily and took advantage of the village walk as well as the cycling tour. Also, we rented out the lily pond for a private dinner and that was magical. A must redo for us.
Finally, make sure you attend one of the traditional dances that they host in the lobby. They are much better than the other ones in town!

Room Tip: Get rooms close to the rice fields that the Four Season's runs. They are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The location is perfect as the resort is really "away from it all" but we were close enough to enjoy the city of Ubud and explore a lot of the restaurants and sites near by. The hotel grounds are amazing and the villas were exactly what we were looking for. The staff spent extra time to really make sure we felt comfortable. The breakfast location was fantastic, but the food was average and not on par with the resort, but we still enjoyed it every morning. The bike ride was also incredible, although if your a couple expect it to be rough, it's a mountain bike trail for a reason and another couple had to turn around as it was rougher then anticipated. However, our guide was great and we even found some local artists to buy from from.

Would definately recommend this place to anyone in Bali and we preferred staying in the jungle over the beach as you really get exposed to the island life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Address: Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.