We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Were Glad that We Tried It But…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Fourth Night!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sayan
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We Were Glad that We Tried It But…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a perfect spot to recharge your batteries. We’ve been to Bali many times and always head out to Ubud. We simply love the location of Ubud – the rivers, ridges, rice fields, small cafes and shops, and the peace and calm simply beat the craziness of Kuta and Seminyak. We’re fans of boutique options – and there are many in Bali – but decided to try the FS this time round. To begin, it is simply such an architectural wonder. We love dramatic entrances – and the FS Sayan takes its spot as one of the grandest openings we have ever seen for a hotel. We stood we think for a good several minutes in awe of the lush foliage in front of us before we were escorted to our duplex suite, which was well appointed, albeit somewhat tired, using a good balance of Balinese elements and contemporary design. We also had the chance on the final night to upgrade ourselves to a riverfront villa facing the Ayung River which was an absolute treat in itself – your own private pool, large bathroom and outdoor shower, and the river as your backdrop – not the best villa we have been in, but what more can one ask for than this! We also booked ourselves to a 3-hour long spa treatment which must have been one of the best 3-hours of our lives.

One issue which we felt the hotel could improve on would be to increase the frequency of the shuttle to town, including the evening to allow guests to explore dining options in Ubud town without having to incur the inconvenience of securing a taxi to-and-fro and keeping guests captive to the dining facilities in FS. The FS, as with all of its other outfits, come with a hefty price-tag, but too hefty in our opinion. This was an excellent hotel in many regards and we were glad we had tried it out but there was still one caveat – we had previously stayed in the Kayumanis Ubud (see separate review) – twice in fact – and we felt the Kayumanis was much better value for money, with beautifully appointed villas (at least for its newer villas) and your own private pool, very personable staff, manicured grounds, complimentary access to the shuttle to-and-fro from anywhere in Ubud as and when you require it, and less commercialised than the FS, with many more inclusions for a fraction of what FS charges. Not that the FS was terrible in any way, but for us, we felt we just found a much better option in Ubud than the FS.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    82
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
115
376
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I spent the second part of our honeymoon at the FS Resort Bali at Sayan in June 2010 (the first part was at the FS Resort at Jimbaran Bay Resort).

We had a villa that overlooked the Ayung River. The villas have a unique, contemporary design - something that you'd expect to be on the cover of Architectural Digest.

The service was excellent. We wanted to be photograhed on the property because there were so many beautiful opportunities. The resort organized to have one of the staff (a self proclaimed amateur photographer) follow us around the resort for one hour snapping photos using our camera. The photographs turned out to be BEAUTIFUL. Up to then, we were taking turns taking photos of each other and there were hardly any of us together.

Everything about our stay and honeymoon was wonderful!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel, and we just realized that we had made a right decision. Whole atmosphere was peaceful and quiet. The service was no doubt excellent. Every requirement will be perfectly done. The lobby was unique and superb. The villa really amazes us. We lived in villa 28. We could see fields on the other side if the river. We really luv the rural countryside scenery. The villa was big and all the furnitures are new and beautiful. If u want to experience an extraordinary Bali holiday, I strongly recommend here. It's worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimbaranDenpasar, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am so glad to read your review of our resort and I want to thank you for taking the time to do so.

I am happy that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed your dining experience and our facilities.

What makes me proud is your comments on our resort being built "to make your stay as comfortable as possible" and that "the service was unparalleled" as these are focus points that we strive to reach. I will certainly share your comments to Uday and his team and I am sure they will feel happy that they were able to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our resort the next time you are in Bali.

Your sincerely

Michael Branham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I don't know where to start. The setting is unbelievable, as is the quiet. You see very few of the other rooms when you are in your villa, which is exquisite in every detail. The outdoor living area, the spacious room and bath. The indoor and outdoor showers. And, of course, the plunge pool.
Fabulous service-- absolutely impeccable. The staff is genuinely interested in insuring the guest has the best possible experience-- very attentive while never being intrusive.
The spa may be the most beautiful I have ever seen anywhere.
If you are looking for perfection this is where I would head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimbaranDenpasar, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Perfection is what we strive to be and I am honestly proud to read your review describing us as such.

Thank you very much for taking the time to pen this review.

I am so glad you enjoyed the setting and facilities and am especially happy to hear your compliments on our genuine and discreet service. I will share this with my team so they can feel proud that they provided a memorable stay for you.

If you are ever planning to visit Bali again, please let us know and we will be more that happy to welcome you to our resort.

Yours sincerely

Michael Branham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a truly memorable and fabulous place this is. We stayed in a newly refurbished riverfront villa for 3 nights from 9th November. The weather was superb, the villa fantastic and the attentive level of service that the staff provide is truly meorable. Must dos are the 8am guided trek through the adjacent rice fileds and up to the Sayan village, make sure you have proper shoes to walk in !! The 4pm bike ride around the rice terraces is fabntastic, truly a beautiful environment and very interesting by your hotel guide. Both of these activities are provided free of charge by the hotel. Do do a Yoga session at the Lotus Pond, either at 7am or 5pn, for sunrise or sunset. I have never done yoga and found it a great experience. Do lash out on a Romantic Dinner package at the Lotus Pond, the food is fantastic and the staff make the setting absolutely beautiful. Do have a massage in one of the Villa Spas, the setting is again beautiful and truly pampering.

Dont pay any attention to reviewers who tell you that the property is old. It is 15 years old, but there is a lot of money being quietly spent refurbishing the villas and rooms and the place is immaculate

Room Tip: I stayed in Villa 30, which is the last Villa by the temple, but they all looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimbaranDenpasar, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted that you had a 'memorable' stay.

We strive to provide the highest level of service and are happy to hear you enjoyed "the attentive level of service that the staff provide is truly memorable". We are also glad that you took part in a few of the activities that we offer guests at the resort and had memorable experiences.

If you are planning to return to Bali in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan.

Yours sincerely

Michael Branham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Four Seasons Sayan caught us all by surprise the moment we stepped on the connecting bridge. The feeling was incredible! The floating lily pond, magnificent structure, greens everywhere and a bonus river and waterfalls! Food was great and the rooms were outstanding, would love very much to come back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We will definitely go back one day! The Four Seasons Bali at Sayan offers a unique experience that is truly Balinese. Service as amazing and you can just relax and enjoy being in the jungle. We have traveled all over the world and this hotel is one of the top hotels all around that we have stayed in.

Room Tip: every room is good and a suite is just as good as a villa. you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimbaranDenpasar, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed a memorable time at our resort.

If we may resound your opinion, the resort offers a "unique" experience by way of its design and ambiance. We strive to offer the highest level of service, which we are happy to read you enjoyed.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you when you are back in Bali.

Yours sincerely

Michael Branham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Address: Sayan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.