We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow at the Barn B&B

Snow at the Barn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow at the Barn B&B
Save
You added Snow at the Barn B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Barn, Chippenham Road, Marshfield SN14 8NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Marshfield B&B and Inns
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited the Bath area for our wedding anniversary in January and were not disappointed in our stay at Snow at the Barn. Booking was easy and prior to our stay our hosts had offered to help us book a restaurant for our first evening. Our hosts gave a very warm welcome upon arrival and had even thought to get us a card wishing us a happy anniversary, which was a nice touch. The B&B is very conveniently located for Bath and surrounding area - great if want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a bath itself. The breakfasts were brilliant and our hosts were only too happy to accommodate the fact that I don't eat meat. Our room was comfortable, very tastefully decorated and in very good order. There is a great pub serving brilliant food, The Lord Nelson, within an easy walk.

Great rate, great hosts, great room, great breakfast, great location! Would definitely return and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We booked Snow at the Barn having read other guest reviews and we were not disappointed. We were only there for 2 nights but wished it could have been longer. Brian and Ros have tried to think of everything to make guests welcome.
We shall undoubtedly return when we wish to visit Bath again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

lovely location, lovely breakfasts, excellent hosts. recommend to all couples and families who need a b&b close to Bath or Bristol. our family of five stayed here last summer, whilst down in this part of the country for a wedding, and we loved every moment of our stay. there is also a good pub round the corner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The knowledgable, informative and engaging hosts, who communicate fabulously from start to completion of transaction, are as pleasant and easy going as you could possibly want.
The interesting building (better seen without rain) houses great guest rooms, best described as decorated with warmth and sense of what people want and expect. We had a faultless stay, apart from the rain.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnowBrian, Owner at Snow at the Barn B&B, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for very kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Situated in a pretty village location about 10 minutes north of Bath, this a most welcoming, comfortable and well appointed place to stay. The hosts, Brian and Rosalind, are friendly and a good source of local knowledge. The stone built house, which is full of beautiful watercolours and furniture produced by the host's father and his own work, is a former barn conversion. It is well situated within it's own walled garden close to the centre of the village and to two pubs which apparently serve very good food. The bedrooms are on the first floor and in the attic. We stayed on the first floor - the room was very comfortable, clean and the en-suite had a large shower. A nice touch was locally produced flapjack and shortcake. Overall a great find and easy to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Well it is really difficult to add to previous reviews , we stayed for two nights last weekend and it was every bit as good as the reviews say . We were met by Rosalind and immediately made to feel welcome , the rooms were beautifully finished and very comfortable with high class furniture ( some made by Brian) and luxury bedding , unfortunately an allergy to feathers meant a bedding change , which was no problem , except for an apology from Brian and Rosalind regarding the bedding ( no need to apologise for quality)!
Breakfast was excellent as we were expecting , then I developed a chest infection ( not linked to the bedding ) and spent the next 36 hrs in bed ,but pleased it was so comfortable, but very upset I missed breakfast on day two.
It is obvious that Rosalind and Brian are very proud of their home and rightly so , i will definitely be back , if they will have me !!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this top class B&B, We had two rooms both of which oozed class, style, comfort and quality throughout, as did the entire B&B. We have stayed in many B&B;s and I must say the Snow at the Barn is up there at the top. Brian and Rosalind our hosts could not have been more welcoming and warm. The breakfast was absolutely lovely and there are so many extra's which made this a home from home. The house is in a wonderful setting and nice and central. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow at the Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow at the Barn B&B

Address: The Barn, Chippenham Road, Marshfield SN14 8NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Snow at the Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barn dates from the 18th century and lies within the village of Marshfield, a designated conservation area on the southern edge of the Cotswolds just 6 miles from the Roman city of Bath. The comfortable B&B accomodation is to a high standard (Visit Britain 4 Star - Silver Award) and offers beautiful gardens, ample off street parking, a warm welcome, delicious breakfasts ( Visit Britain Breakfast Award) & a relaxing atmosphere. Rooms have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow at the Barn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.