We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, brilliant food and service with a smile.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson Inn

The Lord Nelson Inn
1 & 2 High Street, Marshfield SN14 8LP, England
+44 1225 891820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Marshfield
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN, REPUTEDLY ADMIRAL NELSON STAYED HERE ON HIS WAY FROM BRISTOL TO LONDON. The Lord Nelson at Marshfield is a delightful country pub and restaurant frequented by locals and visitors from far and wide. We also offer cosy accommodation, with all of the creature comforts expected by the modern traveller.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, brilliant food and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I arranged to meet some friends at this venue as I had heard the food was good and I was bot disappointed. The waiter was very friendly and served everything with a smile. The locals were very courteous and friendly and I can not fault the food. I will without a doubt be visiting again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sunday evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had an enjoyable meal, albeit a restricted menu on a sun evening, we were well fed and watered. My only comment would be more gravy please with the roast dinner :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful rural pub in a charming village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I came across The Lord Nelson Inn when looking for a lunch spot to meet a friend halfway between Chepstow and Frome. It's easy to get to from the M4/A46. The standard menu was varied with daily specials on a blackboard including a homemade pie of the day. Pleasant atmosphere with friendly locals with plenty of helpful advice. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pub near Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice to see what a pub like this is really like in mid winter and freezing, pissing rain.
Great warmth with a couple of log burners, friendly locals, very friendly and capable bar staff, good beers (for my preferences) and good food with excellent service. Homemade ice cream and waffle as a dessert would be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“elderlywhisperer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Some weeks ago my elderly wife and I were driving to Bristol on the A420 when we were badly held up by road works at Ford so when we finally got through both nature and hunger called so instead of continuing on the Marshfield bypass we went into the village at into the first pub we saw which was The Lord Nelson. Although it was well after 1 o'clock we were warmly welcomed by the landlord and some other friendly people who were probably Locals. Two fires were burning brightly and as we were late we only had some coffee and really excellent Minestrone Soup with crusty bread. As we liked the Nelson so much in every way we took a look at the whole Menu and a very nice looking Specials Board deciding we would definitely return for a full meal.

We have now just been back but for a Sunday Carvery for only £8:95.Luckily we had booked as we were later told this was a very necessary as they regularly serve over 100 with their Carvery. We had a choice of Beef, Pork or Ham and had some of each carved for us. They were all beautifully cooked and really delicious as were the vegetables. They seemed really busy with several families too. The service from their staff, some quite young, was first class and the whole atmosphere warm and friendly. We shall definitely return but next time take some friends with us and probably as we are both retired for a weekday lunch or evening meal. We would recommend the Nelson to anyone - their December Christmas Menu looks really good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Nelson Inn also viewed

Marshfield, Gloucestershire
Marshfield, Gloucestershire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Dyrham, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Lord Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.