We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

The Plough
23 Main Street, Greetham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Greetham
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
stamford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I won a three course meal at The Plough in Greetham ,from the local radio station,never been there before,but will definitly go again.all food was prepared fresh,Crayfish and Smoked Salmon salad starter was beautifully presented,Chips were homecooked,chunky and gorgeous,good portions,sweets were also amazing.Lovely real fires,hosts were very friendly,service was excellent

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never disappointed in Rutland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had intended to visit one of the other pubs in Greetham but it was closed due to refurbishment but the new owner came out and advised us that the Plough was dog friendly and was very apologetic that he was closed. Best of luck when you reopen - we`ll certainly visit you on our next trip.

So off to The Plough.

Really warm welcome and lovely feel to the pub. The food is cooked fresh and so you do have to wait and enjoy the atmosphere (and great beer) but we were offered superb fresh bread while we waited. We went for the Steak and Ale pie - excellent and proper vegetables and superb chips. Our only regret was that we didn`t have room for a dessert.

And as we were advised, the pub is totally and genuinely dog friendly.

Thank you - a great start to another enjoyable stay in Rutland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stop off on Sunday walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I called into the Plough on Sunday 19th January on a walk from Exton (a walk we wholeheartedly recommend). We decided to try the Sunday lunch based on previous reviews in Tripadvisor and I have to say we weren't disappointed. The pub is lovely and cosy and has a genuinely welcoming feel. The staff are great and very helpful. We both had the roast pork which was fab followed by delicious sticky toffee pudding. Would definitely recommend a visit. It's a such a relaxing way to spend Sunday lunchtime. Shame we had to walk back to Exton before it got dark!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, absolutely lovely pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

There are 3 pubs in Greetham, one was closed down the other the owners were on holiday, which left us with the Plough and we are so pleased that was the case as this is such a lovely pub and the staff are friendly and hospitable and so are the locals. We really enjoyed it. We dined in here on the Friday night and had excellent starters followed by an excellent main meal. We couldn't have wanted for me. It was that good we ate at the Plough again on the Saturday night. Its great value for money as well. I would highly recommend and can't wait to revisit. Thanks to all of the staff and locals for making us feel so welcome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a lovely suprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Found the Plough whilst searching for somewhere different to eat and was attracted by the a la carte menu on the website. If I'm honest looking at the photos of the pub I wasnt sure what to expect.

I had the crayfish and smoked salmon salad to start you gave to try this the presentation and flavour was amazing my partner had the pate which was equally as nice.

I followed this with the Greetham Melt Fillet Steak glazed with brie and a wild mushroom sauce they beautifully complimented each other, my partner had the ribeye steak both steaks were cooked to perfection.

I even managed to find some room for the lemon curd tart which made a perfect end to a perfect meal.

We weill definitely be returning to the plough there is not many good old fashioned English pubs around and this one is definitely worth a visit! !

You will be pleasantly surprised thats coming from 2 very hard to please people who are both in the trade and appreciate the hard work these guys put in keep up the good work!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Bourne, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.