We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chevalee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hautvillers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chevalee
Save
You added La Chevalee to your Saves list
53 Rue Henri Martin, 51160 Hautvillers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hautvillers B&B and Inns
Sussex
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“A Delight !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On a champagne buying dash to France, so just stayed last Friday night.
This is a lovely traditional house, and Cecile is very friendly and welcoming.
We were attracted because there was secure parking, and you could walk to a couple of champagne houses, and walk to the local restaurant.
The added bonus was the champagne on tap in the fridge, the fantastic view and the lovely room. Cecile made us very welcome, and we had a lovely breakfast with plenty of her homemade jams and yogurt.
Its worth returning just to drink your morning coffee outside on the terrace with the great view. And very reasonably priced too !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Amongst the hundreds of private guest houses jostling for business how would it have been possible for the gems to shine before the WWW? The answer is they couldn't, because they were not hotels being assessed by an army of hotel reviewers. Today the picture is very different and a truly outstanding establishment, such as La Chevalee, can have broadcast to the world the praise it deserves. The effort which Cecile and her family make to ensure an excellent stay in the town which invented champagne, is remarkable. The rooms are beautiful, the views glorious and as for the breakfast it takes the whole concept of 'freshly prepared' to a new level. Home made yogurts, jams, juices and spreads compliment a dazzling array of hams, cheeses, breads and fruits. We were delighted to have experienced the hard work and dedication that the proprietors have brought to this superb guesthouse.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to be the only guest arriving on a Sunday evening, and Cecile was very helpful in guiding my larger car through the property door for the secure parking, and then offering a glass of house champagne, and the opportunity to sit with her friends at a table in the courtyard with one of the best views in Champagne over the vineyards around Bouzy and Epernay.

The top room as mentioned by others is enormous, with good bed and sitting room facilities, and the attached bathroom is equally spacious, and modern and well appointed. Breakfast was sumptuous, with Cecile attentive at all times, but never intrusive.

Hautvillers is a lovely village to walk around, but has very few places to eat, although the champagne shop and tasting bar Au36 is just around the corner from la Chevalee. I drove into Epernay for Sunday dinner, and Cecile even popped out unexpectedly as I returned, to open the gate again! Even the quirky chicken coop made me feel at home.

:La Chevalee is very comfortable and relaxing, and Cecile is incredibly hospitable. It is excellent value for the combination of very good rooms, great location and view, and wonderful welcome and attention during a stay. I will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top room with attached bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We originally booked one night here, but ended up cancelling somewhere else and coming back for a second night. Although La Chevalee is located in Hautvillers, it is only a 10 min drive from Epernay and I would strongly recommend staying here rather than Epernay if you don't mind the drive. This B&B is small and intimate (3 rooms), but the owners live in a separate part of the house and give you your privacy, but are available when you need them. The rooms are spotless. We stayed in 2 different rooms - the top room was the largest and had a stand-alone bath with bath salts and candles. The view from the rooms was beautiful. The breakfast was huge and something to look forward to. We felt that this was a better option than staying in Epernay for us, as Epernay didn't seem to have the character and the B&B we tried there seemed more like a mini-hotel. Our favourite thing about La Chevalee was that Cecile offers cold champagne by the bottle or glass and has an 'honor system' whereby you can take a glass and record it in a little book and pay on checkout. This was a lovely touch and we definately took advantage of it!

Room Tip: The top room is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This B&B gets the balance just right: extremely homely and comfortable; spotless and roomy lodgings; and a very welcoming and helpful host. Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation and can not wait to return ourselves. Many thanks to Cecile for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a wonderful welcome. The sun was shining and our host welcomed us with a glass of champagne! The room was stunning- the bathroom had a corner bath and there was also a separate shower cubicle. The bedroom was also a great size with a sofa to enjoy the views of the vineyards. The restaurant we were recommend was a real find- great food and very reasonable. Our breakfast the next morning was truly impressive- so much food that unfortunately we were unable to eat it all. I would highly recommend staying here, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerne, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This excellent bed and breakfast is the perfect location for touring the Champagne region of France. Cecile is a gracious hostess who puts out a delicious breakfast selection. The rooms are wonderfully large and the bathrooms are very modern. The atmosphere (horses in the barn and chickens in the yard) was a perfect way to start and end each day. If I return to the Champagne Region of France I would definitely stay there again. Thank you Cecile for your hospitality and thank your children for the wonderful evening of conversation. I had a beautiful stay.
Deborah Passow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Chevalee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chevalee

Address: 53 Rue Henri Martin, 51160 Hautvillers, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Hautvillers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hautvillers
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chevalee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.