We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whale of a time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Pasage Whale Watch

Petit Pasage Whale Watch
3450 East Ferry, East Ferry, Nova Scotia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in East Ferry
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A whale of a time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Captain Craig and both crew members were a fountain of information on our trip today. The weather was great, we saw seals and 5 whales, in two separate locations. The Captain even circled around so we could see an ocean sun fish. Dress warmly as they advise you to, book early or reserve so you are not disappointed. This was recommended to us by the Harbourview Inn. We are so glad we went and you will be too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing...don't miss this!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My Aunts and I were very lucky to find out about this tour when we visited the Information Centre in Digby, NS. We only had to drive a little over half an hour for an amazing adventure. Crew member Suzanne was full of information on the whales, the ocean and the other animals we saw along the way. She took the time to sit with every person on the boat and answered our questions, she was super friendly, knowledgable and funny. Our Captain was very friendly and answered our questions too. When our 3 hour tour was supposed to end, he was rushing us off to the next whale sighting because he was more concerned about showing us all the whales he could and not watching the clock. We saw Humpback, Minke and Finback along with some dolphins, a seal and some birds. I think it's safe to say that everyone in our group had a great time! If you want to see whales, if you want to have a wonderful time...then take this tour!!!! Before you board for the trip, there is a cafe right there and you can pick up snacks...they make great muffins!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great whale watching experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We head out yesterday- still pretty early for the whales in Bay of Fundy. Our Captain Glenn and crew Suzanne were professional and knowledgeable. Within minutes we saw a large Minke. But then no whales for 20 minutes-- until the Captain got a tip on the radio. He took us to the spot and we saw several Humpback and a whole group of Finback feeding and enjoying themselves! We have so many photos of flukes! Many came close to the boat!

And we too smelled whales breath: not a pleasant smell but to be able to say we were close enough to do that is something!!

it was a wonderful tour and we highly recommend Petite Passage in Digby Neck!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Whale Circus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I don't think we could have had a better whale watching experience anywhere. We saw whales for well over an hour. The crew were helpful, informative and safety conscious. We hoped to see one or two from a distance but not several whales up close-we smelled the whale's breath!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Professional crew, wonderful experience, strongly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We travelled with 3 children, 17, 15 and 7

I had read reviews of other vessels but was tempted by the quality reviews and that we did not have to get ferries from the mainland to the start of the watch.

East Ferry is a good 3 and a half hours from Halifax. We went on a good day with sunny skies and little wind.
We arrived at East Ferry for the 1.30 sailing with mist swirling around us.

Once we left we were soon in the sun again and we headed south west.

As we travelled out the crew noted some dolphins and next we came across a mother Humpback with a calf. We had several opportunities to see them before other boats, they share the whales information, arrived to wait their turn.

We then moved into the mist to see another pair of humpbacks, they came within 3 meters of the boat.

We also saw seals, dolphins and porpoises and learnt a lot about what we saw

The kids had a great day out. It is an unforgettable experience and we felt in safe professional hands at all times. The crew knew what to look for and helped every passenger get the most from the day.
Strongly recommended

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Pasage Whale Watch also viewed

Tiverton, Southwest Nova Scotia
Brier Island, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Petit Pasage Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Pasage Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.