We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aviation Museum, Attard, Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malta Aviation Museum

Malta Aviation Museum
Ta' Qali Crafts Village, Ta' Qali, Island of Malta 4000 , Malta
00356 21416095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ta' Qali
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is a living and working museum, which is a prime attraction for all family members of all ages. It exhibits a collection of around 18 aircraft, aircraft engines, airfield equipment, uniforms, model aircraft and much more. Among its prime exhibits are a World War II Hawker Hurricane which was recovered from the seabed in 1995 and completely restored to working condition.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Aviation Museum, Attard, Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What lovely few hours spent looking at the exhibits, My wife and I found it most enjoyable, There is access for the disabled visitor and a cafe on site, Car Parking and disabled parking is in the museum grounds in front of the exhibit hanger. The Airmans chapel is well worth a peek. All in all a nice way to spent some time and a great way to understand Maltas role in WW2. I would not hesitate to recommend this attraction.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    47
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hard to find , hop on hop off buses do not always stop there so be sure to tell the driver that is were you want to go . Very interesting . My ex RAF husband enjoyed it as did my 2 grandchildren .
There was no fresh food avalable when we went , just a machine with drinks

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Like aviation and history? Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You do not have to be an aviation fanatic (like my 12 year old son leading me to this museum ;) - and you have probably read at least a few pages about Malta's history before going there. You really can relate what you see in this museum to not so distant part of Malta's and Europe's history, and of course to the development of aviatic technology. Trying to imagine these exhibits have been really and very extensivelly in use, there, is a fascinating (and also scary) thought. If you like the aviation history, and the newer history of Malta - go there. If you travel in a group and some really do not wish to go there - do not let them spoil your time in the museum - they can find a very good coffee and fenkata in nearby Mdina ;)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if nearby but could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The aviation museum near the craft village of Qali was something I was looking forward to and in all honesty was not quite as good as I hoped it would be.

To be fair, the exhibits and historical notations were actually really good but because of the nature of them being whacking great big planes, I didn't really get a sense of atmosphere from the big warehouses they are stored in. I did hope there would be some interaction with the planes or guides available but when I went there was neither. Saying that, it was over the Christmas period so that could well be different in peak times.

The entrance fee was 6 euros, which I think was very fair. The loo facilities were good and the bus stop to and from Attard and so forth is literally right outside so perfect for us Arriva Riders.

Would I go again? Perhaps not if I go back on my own as I felt I saw all that was there to see but If I was in the area visiting the craft village or taking someone new to Malta then definitely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to see the latest acquisitions and ongoing works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Located at the Crafts Village, it is a little bit out of the way but well worth finding. There is a bus stop almost outside but the buses are not very regular, although one can always walk from the main road.

There is ongoing works and it is turning into quite a good museum. There is still much to do and it's worthwhile retuning from time to time to see how things are going.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta Aviation Museum also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Kalkara, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malta Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malta Aviation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.