We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Farmers

Jolly Farmers
Main Street, Leavening YO17 9SA , England
+44 (0)1653 658276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Leavening
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the first time i have ever left a review on here, though i do read a lot!
My son and i visited the Jolly Farmers for the "Beast Feast", my son had heard about a sampling game menu and wanted to taste the delights... This is the child that looks at food and say's "i don't like that" so shocked and stunned i thought i'd better book us in.
What an amazing feast was offered....
Both of us really enjoyed the evening, 10 courses of the most divine looking and tasting food...
We were both amazed at the game consomme, when you took the top off the glass it was served in, there was a waft of wood smoke, a great talking point!! He now has his favourites, Hare and Rabbit..., as most teenagers he was a little unsure about the parsnip ice-cream, though i thought it tasted delicious. The only thing he stalled at was the rhubarb!!!
All in all i would seriously recommend visiting this pub, the Sunday lunches are fantastic as are the bar meals. Just keep an eye out for the special events...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Full marks to The Jolly Farmers for staging a spectacular 'Beast Feast' last week. This was a ten-course tasting menu of game dishes of rabbit, pheasant, venison, duck, partridge, hare and two desserts. It was obvious that a great deal of thought had been put into the planning and execution of each dish, as they were a delicious combination of flavours and textures. The same imagination was shown in the presentation which included rabbit and black pudding fritters shaped like rockets on sticks and placed inside tall glass jars so that they looked like fireworks and which were eaten with a spiced prune sauce, and a delicate wafer-thin potato tuile served with the duck salad. The whole evening can only be described as a 'gastronomic experience' worthy of praise and a special mention. We can't wait for the next special event!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Leavening's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm lucky enough to have a friend who lives in Leavening, Yorkshire. When he invited me to a 10-course game evening it sounded fun, but I didn't expect the real treat that lay in store for me! The chef is very talented indeed - each course was intriguing, inventive and very tasty. Here's someone who really understands food and how tastes and textures combine. The evening was an impressive feat of organisation, with 20 covers leaving the kitchen simultaneously for all 10 of the delicious game-based dishes, sweets included. All 20 people in attendance sat around one big table, so it was really nicely sociable as well. What can I say? An amazing evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Jolly Beast Feast Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our visit to the Jolly Farmers Beast Feast (10 course Game Tasting Menu) recently was an experience that was eagerly anticipated and turned out to be way beyond our expectation. It was a gourmet experience that would have put many a 'Fine Dining' establishment to shame. We knew the food would be good but when our first taste of the game terrine arrived it was clear many treats were to follow. They included delicious crispy rabbit 'koftas' with prunes, Venison tartare with chocolate - divine, crispy duck and potato salad presented beautifully and with great flare - not a boiled potato or drop of mayonnaise in sight! All in all we had 8 savoury tasters and 2 puddings - the humble parsnip transformed into an ice cream Heston B would have been proud to call his own. Having recently visited a famous Michelin starred restaurant in the area our unanimous conclusion was that the Beast Feast was by far the better nay fantastic food experience which should have the more well known establishments quaking in their 'Starry Boots'. Well done everyone - a great experience we would like to repeat asap!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As this pub is my local, I've chosen, up to now, not to submit a review but a recent dining experience just has to be praised. I had the pleasure of enjoying what Dan at the Jolly Farmers called ‘The Beat Feast’. It was a ten course taster menu of game dishes and what a superb meal it was. Dan and Matt did a fantastic job in creating some stunning food, beautifully presented and of the highest quality. The waiting staff, Beth and Emma, did a great job of looking after everyone too. Great atmosphere, exceptional food and fantastic value. If Dan should repeat it, it’s a fine dining experience not to be missed and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danfYork, Owner at Jolly Farmers, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you Weegie, really glad you enjoyed the evening. It was great fun seeing everyone's responses to the different dishes. It seems a good time was had by all, staff included!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Farmers also viewed

Westow, North Yorkshire
Kirkham, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jolly Farmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Farmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.