We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerdeon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
A496 Caerdeon | Barmouth, Caerdeon, Snowdonia National Park LL42 1TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Northwest England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Well what a lovely time we had at Coedmor this weekend. We were given such a friendly warm welcome which we greatly appreciated after our 9 mile walk, along with the extremely tasty cakes and scones! From the style and cleanliness of Coedmor, right through to Leo and Mikes generous hospitality and delicious breakfast (we loved the potato cakes!) there is nothing we would have changed. We both look forward to staying here again in the future and will delight in recommending Coedmor to our family and friends. Thank you once again for a truly wonderful stay Leo and Mike.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and I and two friends wanted to cycle the Mawddach trail and we stumbled across this absolute gem on Trip Advisor. We had the B&B rooms in the main house during our two night stay. They were beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean with beautiful views across the estuary for one of them. The house is immaculately furnished with great elegance and taste. Leo is a well respected artist and a lot of his work adorns the walls. On arrival we were treated to a freshly baked cake and a tray of tea served in their beautiful conservatory. Mike and Leo are wonderful hosts and take great care to ensure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast in the beautiful, airy dining room is 5 star!
The position of the house overlooking the estuary is wonderful. Mike and Leo have worked their magic on the lovely gardens which are a joy to stroll through.
We have recommended this place to family and friends and hope to return soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I just spent 4 glorious day at Coedmor. The hosts, Mike and Leo, are the very best. Nothing was a trouble for them. Our room at the back of the house was large and very comfortable. The beds are comfy and we had two chairs and a nice fTV (which we never even turned on!) The location is super. Near everything. The weather was a little damp and cool but we had a great time anyway. We were there with another couple, friends from Norway, so we had our wine and cheese in the conservatory. The breakfasts were a real delight. Each morning a full Welsh breakfast was offered along with specials of the day, including a souffle, pancakes, etc. We highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Myself & my partner have just returned from a very relaxing few days in the self catering barn at Coedmor.
The hospitality shown by Leo & Mike was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, & the welcome pack was a great surprise.
The Barn itself is situated in the garden, and has a small raised deck area with the most beautiful views of the estuary & Cader Idris beyond. Spotlessly clean & very well appointed, with comfy bed with crisp white sheets
In a great location for walking & cycling, close to the beaches at Barmouth. Hired bicyles & crossed over the Barmouth Bridge & along the "MADDACH TRAIL" giving fantastic estuary & mountain views.
Looking forward to returning later this year, with any luck we will be able to experience the B & B in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

During February my wife and I and our two year old daughter stayed at Coemor cottage near Barmouth. The quality of the accomadation far exceeded our expectations and the surrounding area (gardens) were beautiful. The owners were very welcoming, and made it quite clear that if we needed anything to ask. My colleagues at work asked me to keep the details of the cottage for future use and I would definately reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Viewed from sea level or from the surrounding mountains, the Mawddach estuary provides some of the most beautiful scenery in Wales.
It was from The Precipice Walk near Dolgellau that we looked down on the river and woods which hold the amazing house called Coedmor. The house itself held even more spectacular delights: afternoon tea served in the most gracious conservatory overlooking both the Mawddach and Cader Idris cannot be surpassed.
Although this is the home of Mike and Leo, we were told that the lounge, dining room and conservatory were ours to relax in, and after each day’s long walk, to come back to such a tranquil, luxurious residence was sheer bliss. The house also has many pieces of Leo’s stunning artwork on display.
The quality of the accommodation is top class. Beautiful beds, linen, TV and comfy seats in each room, also spacious en-suites with lots of fluffy towels!
The 4-course breakfasts, using locally sourced produce, and ‘customised’ to each individual’s requirements, were truly scrumptious. We have shown a photo of the table laid with breakfast starters – a work of art in itself.
We took advantage of the availability of evening meals, and were treated to the most amazing dining experience. From start to finish the quality and presentation of each course was superb. The daily printed menu gave choices for both meat-eaters and vegetarians and what man could resist lemon soufflé, coffee cheesecake, raspberry and chocolate roulade or home-made ginger ice-cream?
A walk in the grounds of Coedmor captures the true beauty of Wales: the whole essence of this delightful place is one of tranquillity.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

What a little gem! We found this gorgeous little B&B by chance on our way from Bala to Barmouth. We saw the rather classy sign and called in on the off-chance that they may have a room and we were lucky. The house is a lovely ‘gentleman’s residence’ and is set in about an acre of very nice gardens. Mike and Leo, our friendly hosts, have only recently taken it over and still have not implemented all their plans but we were more than happy.

Our room (double at the front of the house) was really lovely, very tasteful, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The bedlinen was gorgeous - I am picky about these things and it came up to my exacting standards! The en-suite shower room (they also have a twin room with a bath) was excellent and again very clean. I think that the only complaint I could make was that the shampoo was difficult to get out of the container.

The guests lounge and attached conservatory had a super view where we were served tea and homemade cake when we arrived. The next morning we were served a delicious and very plentiful breakfast in the elegant dining room. We lingered and had a walk around the grounds and enjoyed the views and Mike was telling us about his plans for the garden. He also showed us the 2 cottages in the grounds that are rented out on a weekly basis.

All in all there was nothing to fault, I can hardly believe that this little gem has not yet got on to Tripadvisor so thought I must put that right - although perhaps I shouldn’t share this lovely place there might not be room for me next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages

Address: A496 Caerdeon | Barmouth, Caerdeon, Snowdonia National Park LL42 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Caerdeon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Caerdeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park, Coedmor Cottage and Coedmor Barn stand in an acre of woodland and landscaped gardens overlooking the Mawddach Estuary with magnificent views to the Cadair Idris mountain range. Coedmor Harbour Cottage is a traditional fisherman's cottage situated in Barmouth. A perfect location for a romantic break with miles of sandy beaches and cosy inns on your doorstep. Cader Cottage is located in the heart of the historic market town of Dolgellau, at the base of the Cadair Idris Mountain Range. This traditional 3 storey stone built cottage is an ideal place for that Welsh Retreat. We have four units newly renovated and furnished to a high standard, the cottages provide comfortable accommodation for 2/3 people throughout the year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coedmor Self catering Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.