We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Inn Warners Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eco Inn Warners Bay to your Saves list
Eco Inn Warners Bay
568 The Esplanade, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia (Formerly Lakeside Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Adequate motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The eco efforts are admirable but this is still just a motel. Priced accordingly, so good value for basic accommodation. Free movies and wifi were fantastic, as were nice toiletries and fluffy towels. Bed was comfy. All very clean. Room felt a bit clinical.
Some sort of a problem with the plumbing created an unholy stench for a few hours but this had subsided when we returned to our room having gone out for dinner. Fridge super noisy. No problems with noise unlike in some other reviews. Traffic was audible but not intrusive and we didn't hear any other guests.
A perfectly fine choice. Don't expect a boutique eco lodge, it's a perfectly fine motel.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband, son & I stayed for 2 nights on the October long weekend. We stayed downstairs in one of the back rooms behind the restaurant (room 35 or 36??). Unfortunately we were not allocated a renovated room and was slightly disappointed - we picked to stay here based on the feedback on Trip Advisor.

PROS

* free wifi
* big flat screen TV with all the latest new release movies
* room was very clean
* beds super comfy
* situated in a perfect location - right on the bay and in close proximity to restaurants etc
* quick, easy and friendly check in

CONS

* unfortunately the carpet is not very clean, walking around barefoot after a shower and our feet were brown
* there was a half opened bottle of wine left in our fridge from previous tenants
* the patrons at the restaurant are very loud when leaving the restaurant - standing outside our door talking then starting the car and letting it idle for 10 mins before leaving (no fault of the hotel)
* kitchen staff are loud and noisy when closing for the night (again no fault of the hotel)
* unallocated parking
* lounge/furniture dated (but they are refurbishing)

Overall I would definitely come back and stay, but would recommend getting a room away from the restaurant and hopefully all rooms will of been renovated next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, General Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we will take your comments on board. Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed with family in room 37. This is a ground floor room with driveways on either side and a car space for our car in front. The Japanese restaurant is almost above it.

The good part is, the beds and pillows are comfortable. Not too hard or too soft and saggy. That was nice.
Andrew, the manager, was really friendly and helpful.

The not so good:

The main room, with large bed (I think queen size), TV, table and chairs has a large window overlooking the car space. This window has fly screens that are either lose or broken at the edges, it wasn't in place properly.
The second room has three single beds, a cupboard and one window. That's it. There are no bedside tables or smaller lamps, you have to switch off the main ceiling light and fumble your way in the dark to your bed.

The little fridge looked very old and tipped forward on the left front side each time the door was opened. When you shut the door, it tips back. I don't know if it is due to uneven flooring or the fridge feet. The seal on the door looked old and yellowed and there was a little rust.

We ate our own breakfast rather than ordering from room service. Some plates, bowls and utensils are provided but washing dishes in the little bathroom sink is awkward and unhandy.

Something needs to be done about the water. It took many minutes to get hot water from the tap at the bathroom sink. It was the same deal with the shower. When the hot water finally came, the shower was either too hot or too cold, it would not settle on a nice temperature in the middle.

The rooms were very bland. Most motels have posters or cheap paintings or something to decorate the walls. Room 37 was nothing but bare walls. The shower and bathroom door are painted dark charcoal grey. A lighter colour would look nicer, but I supposer that might show up any dirt or mould.

The swimming pool water was very, very cold. The pool needs resurfacing. The painted surface was cracked and had pieces missing. This is an eco motel, perhaps the owners could consider solar heating for the pool?

You can hear the traffic from room 37 (may be different for rooms at the back), it seems to quieten down to almost silence after midnight til around 5am when the morning traffic starts up.

Visitors to the Japanese restaurant will create noise too. Between 7pm and 9.30pm large groups of people could be heard walking past our room, making the usual crowd noises: loud talking, laughing, giggling. Add to that the loud clacking of ladies footwear. Finally it quietens down but sometime after the guests leave, the staff of the restuarant get in their cars and leave.

As room 37 is between two driveways, if you stay there, you'll get to hear every motel guest arrive and leave. It's not particularly quiet and add to that the bland rooms with lack of any decor, you won't want to stay in your room except to watch late night TV and to sleep.

Another thing we noticed, which I'm sure is a temporary problem, was a smell of sewerage in the driveway/drive through area outside room 37's door.

The place is located pretty well, opposite the lake which has kilometres of bike/walking paths and ten minutes walk from local shops.

I would recommend this motel only for those needing to stay one night during a long road trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, General Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your comprehensive feedback. We have taken as much of what is possible to remedy on board, particularly with the inside of the room, which is yet to be completely refurbished to the standard of our queen rooms and waterview queen rooms. Whilst we have a large core group of regulars who love and request room 37, there are others who just aren't cool with it - whilst we do everything we can to provide the best possible product, sometimes we just won't meet some folks expectations, we're ok with not being everyone's butter cake and understand some expect more than others - we are a sustainable 3.5 star regional motel that is a work in progress providing ultra comfy beds, the highest standards of cleanliness, and heaps of value adds and really happy and hardworking staff that provide the best service possible. Thanks again for taking the time out to provide your very comprehensive assessment. Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got the living social deal which consisted of an overnights stay, late check out, bubbly, chocolates and popcorn with unlimited new release movies.
This deal was exactly what it stated, the room was clean and had everything we needed (including an ipod docking station, which came in very handy after I’d forgotten my charger)
The bathroom and kitchen is a little dated, but was fully equipped and was perfect for our stay.

Thanks again

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, which was very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are working very hard to get all of our rooms renovated and completed and are getting very close now. Glad you enjoyed your stay - regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We bought the living social deal and we were very disappointed. The deal was for 2 nights but we only stay for one, checking out very early In the morning! Our small room was clean but had an overpowering smell like vomit and the windows rattled all night long.The breakfast consisted of packaged porridge and small a frozen Danish. I must add that the coffee was pretty good. The Eco-inn is an old style motel that has just been repainted with new artwork. This deal is not at all what we thought it was going to be like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We are all really sorry that the "Living Social" experience did not live up to your expectations. We took great lengths to explain to Living Social what the actual deal consisted of and everything provided was exactly as advertised. We also take pains to point out that we are "Motel" style accommodation. We post recent photos of the actual rooms and do not claim to be more than what we are - quality renovated 3.5 star motel style accommodation, we are what we are and that's what we advertise.

We did receive guest complaints about your dog. We also point out on all of our material that we do not accept pets in the property at all as they tend to disturb other guests and it is against health laws for pets to be taken into rooms for our style of accommodation - We did try and be tactful about ensuring you kept your dog out of the room. Other pet owners do give us the courtesy of asking if they can bring their pet before arrival, however, we feel it is in the best interest of other guests to offer pet free accommodation.

Yes, we are a 1960's building, but there has been substantial works done to every room to modernise them - the bathrooms have been completely renovated, the bedding and linen are all new, a brand new entertainment system with state of the art TV's and on demand movie system has been installed and the furnishings and air conditioners are also all new. Many "Older" buildings are renovated nowadays (people make and watch TV shows about them).

Thanks again for your feedback, we do try to do what we can to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible but we are not PET FRIENDLY which I think may not have helped your experience. We have a strong corporate and weekend guest base that are thrilled with the work we have done, perhaps motel style is not your cup of tea - perhaps next time buy a deal based on the experience rather than the price and stay somewhere pet friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

WOW, stayed here about 9 months ago and the place was reasonable, was back in town to visit family and can't believe the transformation.

I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with a balcony and a view of the water - the room was a little small, but had really comfortable leather arm chairs - the bathroom has been renovated and is pristine. There was even free movies and free internet. The movies are great all recent and you can watch as many as you like for free. The TV was big and clear.

service again was very good. Young girl called Kate was very helpful and friendly as was the lady that cleaned the room (short blonde hair?).

Overall for $120 this was very good value for money on a saturday night. Did not have breakfast but the menu looks pretty standard motel style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, they have new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, General Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi, thanks for your feedback - glad to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We are currently completing bathroom renovations on the ground floor.

Great you enjoyed the movies and the new TV's - hope to see you again - regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First off, it must be mentioned that the motel is going through a renovation, and based on what's been done so far it will be even better once complete.

To me, good accommodation means both product and service so I'll speak to each separately. In terms of product, we stayed in a waterview twin. The room had been refreshed (painted, etc.) with great beds (comfy!) and a flat screen TV with free movies (tons of choice including new releases!) The balcony was a lovely place to sit and watch the sun go down. The bathrooms are being renovated, and ours was not yet done but it was clean, large and perfectly functional. No complaints there. The air conditioning unit (only used for a few hours one afternoon) looked vintage, but worked a treat and wasn't loud. There's a whisper quiet ceiling fan as well. We had breakfast by the pool one day and on our balcony the next.

The motel is directly across the street from the lake, and a walking/cycling path. We brought our bikes up and did the 6km or so ride each day. You can walk into Warners Bay (5 minutes) for food, or eat at the Fukusui Teppanyaki restaurant on site (separate owners). We did the latter and it was good food and good fun. It's 20 minutes into Newcastle, so easy to explore both the lake area and the city.

In terms of service, I loved the fact that this was a family run place. Andrew, Rob and Kate were full of information and clearly care about the place. They staff the office from dawn until almost 10pm. The service is informal, which suits me well as I don't like feeling I'm in a stuffy place. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The only constructive feedback I'd give (and gave) was that the balcony doors could use a flyscreen, and those are already coming. Oh, and as silly as it seems, maybe better quality sausages with breakfast...but really, that's a reach. I just wanted to be totally unbiased in my review!

I would definitely stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The upper level Waterview rooms are definitely the go as perhaps the lower level rooms might be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDaff, Manager at Eco Inn Warners Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi, thanks so much for the positive feedback - All guest feedback is important to us. Thanks to your comments, we have had a chat with our butcher and gone from sausages to organic chipolata - heaps more flavour, a little smaller but much better than our traditional breakfast sausage.

Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to having you back when all of the bathrooms are completely done - thanks again, best regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eco Inn Warners Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Warners Bay

Address: 568 The Esplanade, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia (Formerly Lakeside Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Eco Inn Warners Bay (formerly Lakeside Motor Inn). Newly invigorated, Eco Inn aims to set the becnhmark in sustainable comfortable and clean accommodation. With a prime waterfront location, and easy access to some 6km of dedicated lake walks, and only minutes from Warner's Bay Village, there is simply no better location.Some fabulous in room features include; Free WiFi, state of the art IPod dock clock radios, signature mattresses and the finest crisp white linen. Now showing on our new 7 star energy rated 40 inch televisions are FREE on demand latest release movies. Enjoy our great new pool/entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eco Inn Warners Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Warners Bay Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Inn Warners Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.