We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bocados

Bocados
71 King Street | Newcastle East, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
4947 2225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 restaurants in Warners Bay
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lake Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant has been a favorite of my daughters & mine for sometime as we love tappa's, my husband has been reluctant to try as he is not a fan of tappas. I took him there for his birthday recently along with my daughter & her boyfriend. My husband couldn't praise the the atmosphere, staff, service enough & the food was to die for. Yummy! The price was quite reasonable also. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    23
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lake macquarie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited Warners Bay Bacados. Service was terrible.............waited a long time for menus and also food! had to remove our own empty plates from our table on to the next to make room for dessert! Food was average, a little expensive for what you get.Won't return in a hurry!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good food, very warm atmosphere services was alright I went here to have breakfast on the weekend. The service was very friendly and the food was nice and well presented, only problem is that they took a long time to make it so that made the experience less enjoyable. All up it was good and I would go again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good food but servings way too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed the food here, great flavours - juicy prawns and mussels in the paella, crunchy chicken wings, all the tastes of Spain. The servings for the price however are tiny. We started with Jamon and sourdough - great thinly sliced ham with 2 small pieces of toasted sourdough, and Spanish fried chicken wings which were mildly spiced and crunchy, but only 2 wings cut in half to make 4 small pieces. At $13.90 for the Jamon and $15.90 for the wings very expensive for what we got even if good. I had asked the waitress for a recommendation of how many dishes for the 2 of us, and ordered the 2 tapas dishes and 1 racione (main) as suggested. We ordered a large paella and when it arrived were both surprised to see it was about equivalent to a single (small) serve and while again excellent we finished it quickly and were left wondering where the rest of our food was. The racione at $27.90 was as I said excellent, juicy, tasty and delicious. But for a large size to serve 2 it was really lacking. The other gripe is that we had booked a table and when we arrived to a half full restaurant we were shown to the table next to the toilets. I had asked for one not near the front door in the cold, but there were plenty of others in the restaurant not near the door and not next to the toilets. We declined this table and moved to another, but surely the table next to the toilets is kept for last minute arrivals or very busy sittings - not for someone who has booked and there are plenty of other tables available? The service in general was average at best, after our tapas and with our tiny plates full of chicken bones, I had to ask for a clean plate to eat the paella from. On the whole if you want really good Spanish food and don't care about the size of serves or the cost, then this is for you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singaporean in Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had prawns and mushroom tapas with seafood baked in fish broth. All tasted good but portions were too all for the price. The coffee was terrible - brewed at too high a temperature resulting in bitterness.
Worth trying once but not going to repeat the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocados also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Bocados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.