We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weekly restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lims Kitchen

Lims Kitchen
Cnr King St & The Esplanade, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
(02) 4948 7593
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Warners Bay
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our weekly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Lims is so good we come every week. The food is excellent. The person that came in march must have not booked as this restaurant can be very busy......book in advance and you will not be disappointed with the food or the service. We have never had a bad meal......and we have been hundred of times.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food was recommended by the hotel I was staying at - I loved the duck in Peking sauce, sensational. did not experience the "service" so to speak as I got take away and had it back at the hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrific service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've never written a negative review of anywhere in my life, but the appallingly rude service we had at this restaurant is making me break my positive reviews streak. I can't say anything about the food, as we didn't make it far enough inside to taste it. When we entered the restaurant, the woman at the counter looked at us in contempt and ignored us for several minutes. Finally asked "Yes, what do you want." We asked politely for a table for two. She sighed heavily and didn't reply. Started messing around with receipts. I thought for a minute she was going to tell us they were fully booked and turn us away, but there was only one table of customers, so that would have been preposterous. She eventually grabbed some menus, said "OK come on." And walked towards a table right next to the register, dropped the menus and walked away without a word. Her whole attitude was so contemptuous that I literally would not have been surprised if she started spitting at us. We decided at this point that we didn't much care to give her any of our hard earned money. Another customer who was sitting there waiting to pick up take out heard us talking and chimed in that he would leave too if he hadn't already paid. Hideous, appalling woman who shouldn't be allowed to serve the public.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Take away food - lovely, will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Haven't eaten in at the restaurant, and have only picked up the take away but from what I can see, it's all good....

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The wonderful hosts at Lims Kitchen have operated this malaysian / chinese restaurant in Warners Bay for over 3 decades. The food is always excellent, and certainly a couple of steps above the 'standard chinese fare. Lims has a devoted following of locals who keep coming back for what I consider to be one of the best in the whole Hunter region. If in the area, don't hesitate to visit, but ensure you book at weekends as it can get very busy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lims Kitchen also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Lims Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lims Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.