We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tantarra Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
119 Bayview Street, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Warners Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a pet-friendly accommodation so we were not really sure what to expect. However, whatever we might have imagined tantarra b&b far exceeded our expectations. Selena and Kim went the extra mile to ensure that not only us humans were comfortable but also our two dogs. Nothing was too much trouble, the room comfortable, nice and low maintenance (in case there was a little accident by your pooch). But to top it all off the breakfast the next morning was to die for. Kims creations are like something you would find in a five star hotel but served in the cosy atmosphere of their beautifully decorated lounge room overlooking the pool. We were disappointed that we could not stay longer and look forward to our next visit. Robert, Jutta, Boomer and Charlie

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I called Tantarra late in the afternoon to see if they had a vacancy that night, after a very long day of driving. Serena was so helpful with directions and instructions, she didn't mind we'd be arriving very late that night. The room was beautifully decorated in Balinese style with our own ensuite, which was fantastic to not have to disturb other guests with our late arrival. The breakfast the next day was fantastic and again, our hosts Serena and Kim were just fantastic with helpful information about our onward road trip. We'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

WHY WOULD YOU STAY IN A HOTEL? To travel without fuss, and to bring our staffy "trigger" were the prioroties for us. The added bonus of peaceful and tranquil gardens, delicious cooked breakfast by the pool, and the Balinese 'flavour' of the decor, made our experience at Tantarra perfect. Ease of booking, a beautifully created website, and a terrific cook................. there is no where else in the area we would rather stay. In fact, we may even create another holiday in that area, just so we can go back. A truly memorable experience. Thanking you again for your hospitality Serena and kim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can not recommend Tantarra highly enough It is the perfect b & b. We were welcomed so warmly by Serena and made to feel right at home. I loved the decor of our room and attention to detail. The pool area was lovely, only wish it had been warmer so we could have made use of the pool but we did enjoy the day bed! Breakfast was delicious and was a time to meet and get to know the other guests. We were there for a wedding so didn't get to spend a lot of time at our accommodation but would love to come back and just chill out. . .and make use of that great pool! Oh and Warners Bay is a lovely place to explore and has some good restaurants. . .we will be back, thanks for your hospitality Serena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Even remembering now I feel a sense of peace. Breakfast next to the pool listening to the birds, sleeping peacefully and getting over jet lag. No pressure and no ultra modern decor. Loved the Balinese influence and the hosts were kind and unobtrusive, but there when needed. Freshly prepared breakfast was lovely. An experience I intend to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A wonderful,and friendly retreat, which felt exotic,but with a local Aussie touch. Our suite was beautifully decorated with a Balinese theme, and we were made very welcome, (which also included our four legged Family members) . We were served a delicious breakfast overlooking the pool, and felt totally relaxed the entire time we were there.
We wouldn't hesitate in returning again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My perfect experience with Tantarra started at the booking stage - Owner, Serena, is one of the loveliest people I have ever met - a gracious host and gentle soul. Later, I also discovered that Kim is also exactly the same.

On arrival there was no one there but was a charming letter addressed to me with instructions on how to locate my room etc. I stayed in Shanti. This room is so lovely. Cozy, comfortable and perfect for one (or would be great for a couple). My little dog and I loved the room.

The outdoor pool area complete with gorgeous day bed was heaven. I had planned to explore the Hunter Valley and surrounding region but the pool area was too tempting. Spent most afternoons poolside, book in hand, drink in the other, napping on the day bed with my dog.

Speaking of dogs -this is the most perfect B & B for a well-behaved pooch. All three rooms had dogs staying and once they all met they became fast friends and explored the very secure outdoor area together as the humans often met for a glass of wine at the end of the evening.

I can't recommend this place enough. It was relaxing, effortless, very pretty and really dog-friendly.

Can't wait to go back!

P.S. The pancakes are TO DIE FOR!!!!

Room Tip: Shanti room was lovely and cozy and spotlessly clean. The lovely people staying in Shambala were gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so very very much. It is as always our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantarra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Address: 119 Bayview Street, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantarra is just 1 hour North of Hornsby, 2 minutes drive to beautiful Lake Macquarie and just 10 minutes to fantastic beaches and Newcastle city centre. Suitable for singles, couples, small groups and business travellers, we offer 3 boutique rooms in a unique and relaxed hosted Bed & Breakfast experience. Spend time contemplating in tranquil South-east Asian style gardens, sip wine by the pool or just relax in your well appointed rooms. Your tariff also includes a comprehensive choice of cafe-style cooked or continental breakfasts each morning. Check out and "like" Facebook page for some great discounts and last minute deals. Although a traditional Bed and Breakfast, Tantarra has been designed to offer you both privacy and your own entrance - allowing for 24 hour access. Besides being a unique B&B experience for ALL travelers, Tantarra is also Newcastle's Premier PET-FRIENDLY Bed and Breakfast destination dedicated to offering both you and your fur-friend as comfortable a stay as possible. Your accommodation choices include: - Lotus Queen Bedrooms - EACH suitable for 2; or our very exotic "Shambala" suite - suitable for 2 or 3; or you can combine 2 OR 3 rooms to suit small groups of up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tantarra Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.