We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“markn'wen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tantarra Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
119 Bayview Street, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Warners Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“markn'wen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A wonderful,and friendly retreat, which felt exotic,but with a local Aussie touch. Our suite was beautifully decorated with a Balinese theme, and we were made very welcome, (which also included our four legged Family members) . We were served a delicious breakfast overlooking the pool, and felt totally relaxed the entire time we were there.
We wouldn't hesitate in returning again,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My perfect experience with Tantarra started at the booking stage - Owner, Serena, is one of the loveliest people I have ever met - a gracious host and gentle soul. Later, I also discovered that Kim is also exactly the same.

On arrival there was no one there but was a charming letter addressed to me with instructions on how to locate my room etc. I stayed in Shanti. This room is so lovely. Cozy, comfortable and perfect for one (or would be great for a couple). My little dog and I loved the room.

The outdoor pool area complete with gorgeous day bed was heaven. I had planned to explore the Hunter Valley and surrounding region but the pool area was too tempting. Spent most afternoons poolside, book in hand, drink in the other, napping on the day bed with my dog.

Speaking of dogs -this is the most perfect B & B for a well-behaved pooch. All three rooms had dogs staying and once they all met they became fast friends and explored the very secure outdoor area together as the humans often met for a glass of wine at the end of the evening.

I can't recommend this place enough. It was relaxing, effortless, very pretty and really dog-friendly.

Can't wait to go back!

P.S. The pancakes are TO DIE FOR!!!!

Room Tip: Shanti room was lovely and cozy and spotlessly clean. The lovely people staying in Shambala were gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so very very much. It is as always our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hospitable, warm, thoughtful and caring are adjectives that best describe Kim and Serena. They are the nicest hosts you would ever want to meet and certainly know how to welcome their guests. Their primary objective was to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and in that they truly succeeded. Having lived in SE Asia for some considerable years, Tantarra was a home away from home for my family and I. Comfortable, peaceful and totally relaxing, a great place to unwind. Each beautifully ornate bedroom suite was an absolute delight to the eye filled with clusters of collectibles from past Asian trips. The attention to detail was second to none. Breakfast was excellent and it was a real treat to eat in the tranquil garden next to the pool. Our furry member of the family "Coco" had no trouble adapting to her surroundings and warmed to the place immediately.
The highlight for us was our last evening when Serena prepared a personalised table top banquet for six in the the privacy of their own exquisite dining room. The table setting, piped music, candles and Asian decor all added to the unique ambiance. The food was outstanding and more than enough and everything was beautifully presented. It was great fun cooking the food in Korean BBQ style and overall, a good time was had by all. it was a truly special evening.
Thank you Kim and Serena for a most enjoyable stay.
Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
You are more than welcome. It is truly our pleasure to be of service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would love to keep Tantarra as a secret but the world needs to know how wonderful this little bed and breakfast truly is. The rooms are gorgeous and generous with an eclectic decorator style and every modern day comfort provided. We felt welcome at Tantarra from the moment we arrived and made ourselves right at home, Serena greeted us warmly and was on hand for anything that came up, and with great knowledged and recommendations for local attractions and places to see and go. We took along our 2 big dogs and they were made to feel at home too with lots of cuddles and plenty of time inside and out with us, and they got their very own doggie treats for breakfast. Speaking of breakfast... pack away your gold amex and forget the 3 chef hat restaurants - the breakfast was indescribably good, you may only have a few choices but they are all cooked to perfection, served on the pool patio surrounded by the quiet serenity of the gardens, it was a slice of paradise to start off the day. Tantarra truly is a a wonderful little secret place, a true B&B with all the oldfashioned homestead charm while not lacking for any of the modern comforts. Thank you Serena & Kim for a wonderful experience, we'll be back to see you again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Shambala is my home away from home when I travel to Newcastle. Best value for money, with legend breakfasts. Quiet, and peaceful, clean and tastefully appointed. Kim and Serena are the perfect hosts - welcoming, but non intrusive. Whenever work takes me to this area, this is home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were searching for somewhere to stay in Warners Bay with our 2 toy poodles and, luckily, found 'Tantarra Bed and Breakfast' on the internet. What a delight! Spotless and beautifully decorated rooms, so reasonably priced, perfect hosts and gorgeous gardens that little Levi and Basil were welcome to explore at their will. We were also welcome to have our fur babies in our room at all times which was a real bonus as they don't like to be away from us. There needs to be more people like Kim and Serena in this world who will move mountains to ensure that you have the PERFECT stay with them. They were very helpful about the local area and gave us directions many times. Not to forget the breakfasts!! Beautifully cooked and presented food and so much of it, all cooked by Kim who really knows his way around the kitchen! An idyllic hideaway which we intend to use as often as we can manage. Thank you Kim and Serena.

Room Tip: All of their rooms are perfect! Beds are comfortable. We slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The room was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean. The owners were friendly and understanding when we arrived late due to our car breaking down. At the end of a very stressful day, this was a wonderful place to stay. Our dog loved the 'pet friendly' accommodation too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantarra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Address: 119 Bayview Street, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantarra is just 1 hour North of Hornsby, 2 minutes drive to beautiful Lake Macquarie and just 10 minutes to fantastic beaches and Newcastle city centre. Suitable for singles, couples, small groups and business travellers, we offer 3 boutique rooms in a unique and relaxed hosted Bed & Breakfast experience. Spend time contemplating in tranquil South-east Asian style gardens, sip wine by the pool or just relax in your well appointed rooms. Your tariff also includes a comprehensive choice of cafe-style cooked or continental breakfasts each morning. Check out and "like" Facebook page for some great discounts and last minute deals. Although a traditional Bed and Breakfast, Tantarra has been designed to offer you both privacy and your own entrance - allowing for 24 hour access. Besides being a unique B&B experience for ALL travelers, Tantarra is also Newcastle's Premier PET-FRIENDLY Bed and Breakfast destination dedicated to offering both you and your fur-friend as comfortable a stay as possible. Your accommodation choices include: - Lotus Queen Bedrooms - EACH suitable for 2; or our very exotic "Shambala" suite - suitable for 2 or 3; or you can combine 2 OR 3 rooms to suit small groups of up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tantarra Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.