We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem hidden in the bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mziki Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mziki Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Mziki Safari Lodge
Mziki Private Nature Reserve | Beesetekraal, Brits 0255, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Brits
boksburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A gem hidden in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Truly grateful for a friend referring this lodge to to me. Its absolutely wonderful and Manuela and the other lodge staff make you feel at home then you just dont want to leave. The service was just outstanding from the time you arrive till the time you check out. Words are just not enough to express the hospitality, you need to experience for yourself. Will definitely make a trip to the lodge very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Mziki Safari Lodge in July and I am finally writing my review. We had an absolutely fantastic experience from the minute we arrived until we drove away. This is a small, very family friendly lodge and one of few that gives children the opportunity to view game in such a safe, relaxed environment. The service we experienced was very personal and the staff were professional and friendly. We really felt we were able to relax and feel at home. I cannot fault the warmth of the venue, gorgeous setting, the food and of course excellent game viewing - we ticked off our viewing lists and even had a good sighting of an aardvark, which my 9 year old son (who is passionate about nature) told me is very rare! Thanks to all at Mziki and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

..we planned an early Bday breakaway for my wife Lesley in mid August 2013. We chose the midweek special and it was just that. Special.
It is so close to Johannesburg and I would suggest that of you are thinking of driving up, you use the Sun City road directions!!
Our rooms were very comfy and duvet was perfect for the winter chill. Game drives early morning was very professionally presented and afternoon drinks stop on the game drive was enjoyable. Staff was very helpful whenever approached by us. Lazy mornings reading in the sun next to pool on loungers. The food was very tasty but I found that the Chef was very inexperienced for a lodge of this caliber. All in all I would recommend Mziki any time. Hamba Kahle.

Room Tip: If you have a noisy group - ask for a room far away from boma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I cannot praise the facilities and the staff enough. There is a really relaxed home from home feel about the lodge in a truly stunning location. I will definitely go back, perhaps when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my 1st visit to Mziki lodge. It was everything I expected and more. The accomodation was immuculate and well presented. The food which was included in our deal was excellent. The manager even managed to accomodate my children likes and dislikes. The rangers were very well informed about the animals. The swimming pool and children's play area were well maintained.

On our first evening there even the elephants came to greet us!! We even had the pleasure of seeing an aardvark which is apparently very unusual.In between safaris you can relax by the pool or in the evening socialize around the blazing fire.

The only compliant I could have was that while we were there, there were a couple of large groups which at times could become a bit rowdy and there was no specific smoking areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you want to totally relax and "get away from it all" then take a trip to Mziki Lodge. This is our second visit and we love it. Friendly and helpful staff, good food and relaxing atmosphere, and then there is the spectacular game drives. Make sure you have warm clothing if coming at this time of year (Jun/Jul) and of course your camera and binos, then just enjoy the experience. You will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had an offer via my Travel Agent for a mid week break at Mziki and my wife and I went in late May. We were offered game drives, game walks and a barge trip. Unfortunately we could not have the barge trip as the river level was too low and one of the rangers was on holiday so the game walk was also out. However it was made up by game drives morning and evening each day of our stay. We saw just about everything except Elephants on the drives. The accommodation was very good, it looked like the chalets had all just been refurbished. The air conditioner was a bonus as the nights were cold and the air con heated the room perfectly. The food prepared by Louisa the chef, was absolutely splendid. I have eaten in high priced Restaurants where it wasn't as good. The ranger on duty, Lucy, was very good and obliging, very knowledgeable and patient and tried her best to find everything. She was running the lodge all on her own but managed to keep it all going faultlessly. I don't know how she managed it on our last evening but as we were going for dinner the elephants came to the water hole in front of the Lodge. Wonderful. Personally I don't think it's for children as there's not much for them to do between game drives. A small jungle gym and some games like Scrabble etc. One TV in the main reception area. Nice pool but of course too cold at this time of year. All the free Tea and Coffee you can drink but the alcoholic beverages, soft drinks and bottled water are all at a premium. I would go back again though.

Room Tip: The chalets are probably the quietest as the lodge rooms are close to the pool which will be noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mziki Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mziki Safari Lodge

Address: Mziki Private Nature Reserve | Beesetekraal, Brits 0255, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Brits
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Brits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mziki Safari Lodge is situated on the 6000ha Mziki Private Nature Reserve only 120km west from Johannesburg. We have 4 of the Big 5 and an abundance of game species. The reserve borders the 2000ha Valkop Dam and is one of the best birding areas in the country (372 bird species). Game drives or Bush walks with our experienced rangers, as well as a barge cruise into Valkop Dam (water level permitting) are included in the daily rate. Mziki Safari Lodge is a small and intimate lodge, very family friendly and is an ideal African bush gateway. Relaxed ambience with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mziki Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mziki Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.