We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very welcoming!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bartons Mill

Bartons Mill
Bartons Lane, Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 8AE, England
+44 (0)1256 466332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Old Basing
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I think if you are a local, you get on much better at this pub. Unfortunately, we came from a neighbouring village so were treated with much contempt! We went to the bar to ask if they were still serving, the man behind it kept his arms crossed, didn't even say hello and just shoved some menus at us. Nice. When we went to the bar to order, the lady didn't say hello or make eye contact.

My husband's food was great - a beef sandwich, he loved it. My burger, not so much. Full of gristle, obviously brought in and not made on the premises, although correct me if I'm wrong!

All in all, just ok. The locals obviously love it, and the man behind the bar enjoyed having a talk and a laugh with those he knew, just not that great with those he doesn't....

Not the best experience which is a shame, as the actual location is fantastic, and the view of the water inside the pub is fab.

Oh and we tried to book a table, but no one ever answered the phone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T, Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for you comments...slightly concerned that you had the experience you did, especially the service and the initial approach. It is not our intention to alienate any of our customers, and work hard to achieve this...I apologise that we didn't live up to your expectation, in this instance. Rest assured we will use your comments , with the intention to get it right in the future.
Also, our burgers are not made on premises(we do not advertise that fact) but are supplied to us by Walter Rose of Devizes, which are a chosen supplier of our meat, there quality and sourced ingredients are second to none.

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    36
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go and see Mano, great restaurant manager.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great Sunday lunch, nice and hot. Plenty of meat and roast potatoes, lovely gravy.
Had the roast Pork, very tasty, but the sweet was a bit disapointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T, Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Mano is an institution, he is the life and soul of Barton's Mill...a real asset to the team.
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very good food and lovely ambience in a converted mill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The restaurant is very attractive indeed, with a delightful beamed ceiling, log fire and good furniture. There is an upstairs part of the restaurant which is just as lovely, with a beamed ceiling. The food is extremely good quality, with generous portions. The service was excellent, with a warm welcome. I shall certainly return to this high quality pub.
An extra feature is that one can walk along the River Loddon to Basing House from the car park, either before the meal to work up an appetite, or afterwards to walk it off.
The main bar is attractive too, though there is a large fruit machine of some kind on one of the walls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T, Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your encouraging review of Barton's Mill...it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very close... But can be improved upon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Food is tasty and reasonably presented. It is however inconsistently priced and, in my opinion, some items are incredibly overpriced.

The Service I received from our server (a European gentleman) was just about the best I have received anywhere. He was funny, attentive and incredible accommodating. The service was let down by two girls behind the main bar who were quite rude and offered very little assistance when requested; The manageress ( a smartly dressed woman behind the small bar in the main restaurant) also seemed a little "thrown".

All in all, a good attempt at a gastro pub. Just missing the spark in customer service- and lacking the attention to detail.

Sort those bits and ensure consistency in all all areas, then we will have a perfect little gem at the Barton's mill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T, Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your review...sorry that you didn't feel the service was up to standard, I have passed on your comments to the staff involved and reviewed with them, the errors of their ways.
Mano , who you encountered. optimises everything we strive for at Barton's mill...call it a work in progress, regarding the others.
Again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Meeting up with more family during the weekend in Basingstoke at this lovely historical pub did not disappoint. We did not ea but most everyone else were, the place had a gentle bubbling of people coming in after a walk with the dogs. Yes, dogs are allowed and so are children. The dogs were no problem and it was quite nice to see them in the pub and behaving perfectly. The children well I like children to socialise with their elders As it s the best way to socialise and introduce them to the bars, restuarants etc. the children were on the whole well behaved and I mean not running around or shouting to excitedly. Great range of ales, beers and lagers as well as the wines and spirits. Perfect for a spring weekend chillax.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray T, Manager at Bartons Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello
Barton's Mill is a beautiful location with tons of atmosphere....you are absolutely right, a great venue to chillax...
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartons Mill also viewed

 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to Bartons Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartons Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.