We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bolton Arms

The Bolton Arms
91, The Street, Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7DA, England
01256 819555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Old Basing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Originally built as a farmhouse circa 1490, this Grade II Listed building was extended during 1550, 1650 and latterly 1720, as shown below. The sympathetic renovation of 2008 uncovered a wealth of period features such as vaulted ceilings, oak beams and central brick fireplace, all of which have added to the intimate ambience of the three clearly defined areas : Roschild’s Restaurant (fine dining); The InnBetween (snacks and nibbles); The Village Bar (quality wines and beers). In addition, there is an attractive landscaped Beer Garden at the rear of the property For the historians, Old Basing was the site for the longest siege of Oliver Cromwell’s reign where Roundhead met Cavalier during the 23 month siege of Basing House which ended in November 1645. A large proportion of the ruins were used to build the houses in The Street with musket ball damage still being visible. The site of Basing House is open to the public for most of the yearThe InnBetween at the Bolton Arms was built from the bricks of Basing House and is renowned for sitings of “The Cavalier” ghost that has been seen on many occasions. It is rumoured that upon his arrival in Old Basing Cromwell beheaded one of his generals in the original part of the building as “encouragement” to others !Following Oliver and Richard Cromwell’s Protectorate period the House of Stuart was restored to the throne in 1660 when the lands of Basing were returned to the Paulet family. A “Dukedom” was specifically created and bestowed upon Charles Paulet as a show of gratitude for his loyalty to the Crown. Charles Paulet became the first Duke of Bolton, hence the name of the pub. Charles Paulet was later elevated to the position of Lord Bolton by a simple clerical error when called upon to address the House of LordsThe InnBetween was the original Dame School for the area prior to the education system being established. Between 1720 to 1740 two spinster sisters offered rudimentary lessons to local youngsters between 8 am to noon for a penny a week - prior to the boys going to work in the fields and the girls commencing house chores. In the evening the schoolhouse became the local hostelry Conveniently situated in the quiet and picturesque Conservation Area of Old Basing, the Bolton Arms is less than two miles from Basingstoke town centre. The village is surrounded by beautiful Hampshire countryside of open fields and riverside walks and is next to the cricket green, archery and bowling club, tennis courts and children’s recreation ground. If these pursuits appear too energetic, however, you can relax while spotting the many species of wildlife and birds that are found in the area ?
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place and worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, good selection of food and drinks. Nice staff, owners and building. They don't add service charges but you will want to leave a tip because it's worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Liver and Bacon to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just had lunch at the Bolton Arms, and the food was superb. On a nice sunny day we wanted to stay, but unfortunately had to retun to the office. I have never had a Liver and Bacon meal that was so good, there was slight spicy heat to it. Doom bar and T.E.A the two cask offerings I tried and both were well kept. Staff were very pleasant. We will definately be returning in the future.
Thanks for making our lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, and even better service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although busy when we arrived at the time of our booking, we were met with prompt and friendly staff, and enjoyed a meal in reasonably relaxed atmosphere, despite the staff being a bit harried. The pie was light and tasty, and the fish was well recived to. The choice of beers were good. The outdoor seating is nicely done, clearly the owners have invested in the premises.A small matter to note, the vegetable sizes were perhaps a little on the mean side ,but all in all, still recomended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing and would not recommend for a party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

12.95 per person for over 20 people and apparently a bag of lettuce is classed as a salad. The rest of the BBQ was disappointing with the only choices being burger, sausages and a lamb stick. Never again !
To top it off closing at 3 for 2 hours when you have 30 people spending money seems very odd.
I have been to this place a few times now and each time I have left disappointed. This last trip will be my last which is disappointing when its a local pub for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan K, Owner at The Bolton Arms, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Your organiser was advised in advance that you could order a last drink at three o'clock - that's when we close. I am sure the vast number of normal people appreciate that that means you're off-site by 3.20 - you were allowed to stay 'til 3.40pm
So I don't understand your problem ?! Do you want to us allow to you to sit on site for two hours without toilet facilities, without a Licenced Member of Staff in attendance, plus, without a First Aider on-site for that period - if you don't appreciate that, then that's your problem, not ours
In addition, your party chose the menu - if you wanted more you should have paid the going rate, but, your party specified what they wanted to save a paltry £2.05 per person - how can you complain ?
Following your comments I am glad that your recent trip will be your last as I do not wish to see you, or your like, returning as a customer

Duncan A Kerr
Proprietor
Bolton Arms
Old Basing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits in Austria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better than the Crown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to the Crown based in trip advisor ratings for my birthday and were very unimpressed with the whole experience for the price! The menu was limited, the service, atmosphere and food did not deliver the quality we expected. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday at the Bolton Arms instead! What a difference! Very quaint looking pub from the outside with a lovely medieval hall where the bar is and a fine dining style in the restaurant. The garden is has also been landscaped beautifully. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The waitresses were pleasant and attentive throughout service. The menu and wine choices were great and we felt spoilt for choice. We chose different things on the menu. We both had the Lobster bisque soup which was delicious. My husband loved his steak and I loved my chicken. The portions were so large we had no room for pudding which was a shame as the dessert menu looked great too!

Would highly recommend for delicious meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bolton Arms also viewed

Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bolton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.