We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Old Basing

The Crown at Old Basing
The Street, Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7BW, England
01256 321424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Old Basing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $52
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have been here twice now and will definitely be going again. Small restaurant in a friendly village pub. Staff so helpful. Food & Service excellent. Local produce wherever possible and even make their own vegetable crisps as a pre starter snack! Yum! Wine list varies from very reasonable to something special, whatever you can afford.Cheeseboard is exceptional especially with a glass (or bottle) of Port. A really relaxing venue where you can here yourself speak but are not on top of the next table. I thoroughly recommend the Crown for lunch dinner a bar meal or just a pleasant drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    83
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Without doubt our very favourite place to eat in or around Basingstoke. Whether as a large group, friends, families or just as a couple, we have never been disappointed. Everything we have ever eaten at The Crown has been perfect. Their fish and chips beat Rick Stein's hands down. Presentation, beautiful quality ingredients and super friendly and fabulous staff make every meal there a wonderful and much appreciated treat. Thank you all SO much

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very traditional English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This little pub was a real find, in the charming village of little Basing. There is the option of ordering sandwiches in the bar or ordering meals from the menu in the diningroom. The place is spotless and we were greeted by the staff immediately and shown to a table. Our order was taken quickly - the menu was generally traditional english dishes - my wife had Cornish cod which was the special and pronounced it to be excellent. I was interested by the pork T bone and ended up with a pork chop - it was very good, expecially the gratinee potatoes, but I was a little let down - I tend to avoid pork chops! No their fault, but my failure to link "chop" with "T bone". While we were waiting for our food we were given a complementary plate of hot freshly bread with a delicious dipping oil. I would recommend stopping off here for a leisurely meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Contemporary Take On English Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've dined at The Crown on a couple of occasions, both times as part of multi-national work parties.

My colleagues from Europe and the US love the 'typical country pub' feel, coupled with the 'typical British polite service' and the excellent food quality.
Service is friendly, polite and of a very high standard, the food is delicious and reasonably priced (and a good selection), bar selections are vast and the staff are knowledgeable when it comes to wine selections. The 'gastro' scotch eggs are a particular favourite of my colleagues as a starter, and really should be tried!
Only one thing to note - make sure you have a map or sat nav as it can be easily missed as you drive along the road! Be careful pulling out onto the road in the dark.

Wonderful experience every time, and wouldn't hesitate to take others there or recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been to the Crown a couple times now and I definitely will return. On our last outing we were there with our extended family and the staff was very friendly and the food was delicious.
They are also very accomodating for those with lil ones. The nutty chocolate brownie was yummy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown at Old Basing also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Crown at Old Basing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Old Basing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.