We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Casa FuenteLargo to your Saves list.
The 8 x 4 metre Private Pool
The 8 x 4 metre Private Pool
The 8 x 4 metre Private Pool
The Sun Deck looking from the Pergola
The front Patio great for breakfast in the early sun
One of two double bedrooms upstairs
Ivy Corner off the Courtyard
Hondon de los Frailes
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NickiDecl...
Linconshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“4th visit. Need I say more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our 4th visit to this wonderful villa. We, as ever, were made very welcome and very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble, privacy is key, and it feels like home from home.
Heating allows winter visits with the bonus of spanish brighter days. A little rain did not mar the recouperation I was looking for. Already booked next visit for warmer days!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxation.
Liked least: Rain!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
don s
colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

What a great place and having the owners on site made our stay even better. Nothing was too much hassle for them it was like having our very own tour guide and the included car was another bonus.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the whole holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Carol R
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2010

The Villa is excellent we had everything there for us, the pool was excellent ideal size for playing Volleyball. The owners are very friendly extremely nice & helpful, we spent an evening with them made us very welcome opened a bottle of wine or two What more can you ask for!!! I would certainly go back there any time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: i like all of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Stuart B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Villa- Lovely location, very quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I travelled to Casa Fuente largo with my wife 10 year old son, step-daughter 18 and her boyfriend 21, we arrived in the early morn to be greeted by Percy at the airport and we were conveyed to the Villa at , i hasten to say no extra expense, upon arriving i was amazed by the size of the place it was a lovely and beautifully decorated home in the middle of know where which was nice as we like a nice quiet spot.
Percy and Jean could not have done enough for us on our stay and although we did invite them for the odd drink they stayed out of the way and we did not even know they were there.
The gardens and pool area are very well maintained and spotlessly clean and tidy as is the house.
I would recommend this Villa to all my friends it is a very lovely house in a beautiful and quiet location.
During our stay we also had use of the car which was very well priced and of good use.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Quiet location pool and gardens
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
glennforr...
leics
1 review
“Excellent setting and very good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Hi we the forrest family have rented the villa for 3 years in a row and we have booked for a fourth visit, the villa is very well maintained and caters for upto 9 people which we had stay in 2011, jean and percy make perfect hosts and we see them for approx 5% of the time over a 14 day stay and if needed they are always available to help. we generally walk to the village one night for a meal and then have a barbecue the next night and eat outside in one of the many eating areas which are kept clean and tidy. the pool is kept very clean and safety is very good around the whole villa so again a great setting for a family and no need to put your towel on a sunbed as adequate beds are provided around the pool. the villa has all mod cons and there is very little you will need to buy during your visit and lastly the weather is fantastic and the odd day you have cloud then jump in the car and travel 35mins to guardamarar beach where the sun always seems to shine.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: We love the peace and quiet the total holiday offers
Liked least: going home is tough
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NickiDecl...
Linconshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, tranquil and wonderfully relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned from another visit to Casa Fuentelargo. We originally chose this villa due to its location, space, privacy and facilities.
It is superbly located 10 minutes walk from the local village (2 excellent restaurants) whilst being away from it all.
It has many secluded and sheltered seating areas (depending whether or not you want the sun!) The pool is well kept, and there are excellent facilities for up to 9 people.
The owners, as explained in the description, live in a separate bungalow in the grounds and are to hand should you require any assistance (always useful-where to eat, where something is.....).
At all other times customer privacy is paramount and you would not even know they are there (human and dogs-2 small, very friendly quiet,well mannered).

The house is well kitted out and is lovely and cool (air conditioning/heating available).

Casa Fuentelargo is a tranquil, functional, spacious home form home in the sun which receives many return guests each year. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to sample the Spanish countryside (but not far from the beach) away from the hustle and bustle whilst having necessary amenities close enough to hand.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
basher_12
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This villa had the potential to be a great private away from it all 2 week holiday that my family were really looking forward to. The reality was quite different. The villa is not private, the owners live on site between the house and the pool. We had to pass them every time we wanted to use the pool. There windows and blinds were constantly open when we used the pool which was irritating. There was no mention in their advert that they had 2 little yappie dogs who constantly roamed the grounds and did their business by the pool and the side of the house that was supposed to be for the barbeque. The private bbq area was in front of the front doors to the owners home so it was not private. The owners could not have cared less whether we were happy or not with the accommodation. This is the worst private villa holiday we have ever had and i really feel the advert is a gross misrepresentation of what was provided when we arrived. I will never book here again and will be very selective in what i book through holiday lettings if they fail to check the validity of their adverts.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the location of the villa was good
Liked least: the villa was not private and the owners had 2 dogs that the failed to mention in their ad, fine if you like dogs not if you dont!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2012
It is with regret that the guests were not happy although nothing was said at the time and on a number of occasions they needed our assistance which we willingly gave, that is one reason why we are there. They were also asked several times if they had any problems and if they were comfortable, and the reply was always ‘everything was great.’
Casa FuenteLargo is built on 4000 square metres of land about half of which is landscaped and totally private with no neighbours. Our private accommodation occupies just over 100 m2 of this space, guests have the use of the remainder. The house for the guests is 190 square metres. In the grounds there are 9 secure and private seating areas for the guests, besides our own single unit.
Privacy is very important to us, we work an eight hour day in an office which does not overlook any of the grounds. There are only two windows overlooking the pool area which have blinds drawn all day for three reasons, we have no wish to look at people bathing nor do we want guests looking into our living area, the windows are south facing and blinds keep the sun out otherwise it would make our premises unbearably hot. We never use the pool area even when we have no visitors.
We do not understand their referral to Barbeques. There are two built in barbeques. One gas fired in the courtyard with an adjoining covered eating area where guests can enjoy the pleasure of eating out doors. We do not interfere.
Most of our visitors look on us as friends who are ready to help, for any reason, 24 hours a day, and of course we keep the pool clean.
Our advertising and web site make it quite clear that we live on the property and we have 2 dogs, most properties in this area have more than that. One is a 14 year old and does not care about anything and sleeps most of the day, also being a Jack Russell rarely barks, the other, a small dog, which we are training having rescued her from the dogs home.
Finally, these are the first group who have stayed at our villa and complained. We have many people who happily come back year after year and the guests staying, as we write, are back for the third time this year.
Jean & Percy Chattey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,086
/ Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Jean C
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2006
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing