We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to go back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“I can't wait to go back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa from the 11th - 14th Feb 2013. We left the main road, driving deep into the coconut plantation, before arriving at the open air hotel reception. We were shown into an air conditioned lounge, offered a cooling fruit drink and given the warmest welcome I have ever had!
My friend and I stayed in a twin bedded luxury garden chalet, with its own private garden and plunge pool - I liked the addition of the gym equipment and using it made me feel virtuous, before lounging on the oh-so comfy rocking chair out front, whilst watching the abundant bird life.
The room was large, very relaxing and had amazingly comfortable beds. Everything was clean and there were some nice touches like a hair dryer and a beach bag and towels for you to use.
The food was simply fantastic. The head chef came to see me to ask what vegetarian food I liked (everything he cooked, as it happened!) and the meals served to us were lovely to look at, and even better to eat! For breakfast, there was fresh bread, muffins, croissants, full English, Sri Lankan curries and even porridge - delicious.
The staff were truly lovely and I felt as if I was part of the extended family, nothing - and I mean nothing, was too much trouble. One night it rained heavily when we wanted to go to dinner; one quick phone call to reception and they came and collected us in a car, dropping us back at our door when we were ready to watch a bit of telly and go to bed. Now that's proper service in my view.
The spa is rustic in style, but the full body massage was really good, leaving me feeling relaxed and totally at peace with the world.
The surroundings at Brook are beautiful and enchanting, we didn't have time to go on the river walk and so that will be my reason for going back to that lovely hotel sooner, rather than later.
Thank you to all at Brook.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Me and my wife went to Brook 19th Jan 2013 . It was my second day of my Honeymoon trip. My whole trip was 7 days and i was visit many hotels on those 7 day, But Brook is the best place and best day of 7days. There service is supper, Nice and friendly team, Maxa food :) . Everything was perfect. Also Brook give us a good stream walk and that is good experience with fun. Thanks for Brook that give us a unforgettable day in our life, Special thanks for Mr Indika for everything. Wish all the best and good future for Brook Boutique. Thanks.

Ops... forgot to tell, I will visit Brook again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We (my wife, daughter who joined us on winter vacation, and I) enjoyed our stay (nights of 30th & 31st Dec 2012) at the Brook as its quiet and spacious environs was very relaxing after strenuous drive from Colombo on the first day and the fabulous sight seeing of the Cultural Triangle on the second day. We could visit Sigiriya, Dambulla and Mineria national park with our base at this out of the way rejuvenating place.
All the staff are very well trained, and were most gracious in all their interactions. The Chef was super as he came and asked our requirements before dishing out a delicious lunch (a mix of Sri Lankan delicacies & North Indian cuisine) when we arrived tired and hungry on the first day. We felt refreshed after the lunch, and then the Resident Manager met us and insisted showing us around the estate, which is in the middle of natural greens full of trees and shrubs (very well tended) and has a lovely stream running through it, hence the name Brook! We were happy that he took us around and happiest when he left us after making us climb up a slope to a swimming pool with awesome views of the hills and forest on the horizon. By then it was twilight and we enjoyed our swim. We requested for cocktails to be served at the pool, and that was gladly provided from the bar lower down the slope.
Next day was special dinner for the new year eve and the owners were present ensuring the guests were suitably entertained.
We will return to this hotel for sure if we make it back to Sri Lanka again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My Self and my wife went for our honeymoon. what a lovely place. really attracted the hearts of both of us. also the service of the staff was really good. i really appreciate it. i wish all the best and success for Brook Boutique. Thank you.

Room Tip: Garden Challet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My family of 4 and a friend stayed in Brook for 3 nights during our 8 day trip to Sri Lanka. We took the local train from Colombo and alighted at Kurunegala station in the early evening. The hotel manager, Mr.Indika, was there punctually to receive us. The journey to the hotel took about an hour, and the route to the hotel took us through a narrow road wide enough only for one vehicle in the middle of a plantation. When we reached the hotel, we were greeted by the cheerful owners, Mr.Pubu and Ms.Karen. The rooms are large, comfortable, well-maintained, well-furnished and complete with nice little touches like a pretty straw hat and pool towels neatly folded in a pretty straw basket. In the morning, you will wake up to a view of the palms and mountains in the background and gardens in front of the rooms. And the food was gorgeous! This being our first trip to Sri Lanka, we have come to realise that the many sights will take you hours to get there. Most of them require you to set aside at least a day just to cover one site, two if you wake up really early and head out. So if you are looking for a place to relax after many bone-shaking hours in a vehicle, this is the place to come home to and relax! We were very glad we chose to stay in this place!

Room Tip: You would not need to spend on a villa, unless you want absolute privacy. The rooms are all large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we had a nice time with u in our honeymoon.foods,accommodation,landscaping..everything was amazing.we really really enjoyed the stay even though it was for two nights.the staff is very hospital and friendly..specially we enjoyed our meals very much..thank u very much brook..we have no words to tell about u..really a wonderful place,wonderful people,wonderful service we have ever mate...good luck..

Room Tip: garden chalets are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is on a large coconut plantation which provides a gorgeous and peaceful backdrop. You'll wake up to the sound of birds in the morning and there's a stunning view from the pool. It is well off the main road so the drive there can be a little longer and more rugged than expected.

The hotel is fairly new and in great condition. The rooms are well decorated, have fantastic beds and are very clean.

This place is great for relaxing and you feel the stress melt away. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Without been asked, someone even fixed my partner's broken flip flops while we were sleeping!

We had a massage in their rustic-style, open-air spa. While the actual massage could perhaps be improved, it suits its purpose and is extremely relaxing given the soothing sounds of nature from outside the hut

The food was good, especially the sri lankan hoppers with egg at breakfast, and we were thrilled with the festive treats around Christmas, especially the surprise whole turkey being wheeled out and carved in front of us. The party crackers on the table were a lovely touch.

By far the best part of this hotel is the service. Staff check in to make sure everything is okay and the owners invite guests to mingle over drinks before dinner. The owners have done an excellent job creating a great atmosphere.

Our biggest disappointment was that we only booked for two nights

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Melsiripura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Luxury Hotel Award winner 2012 for the best Luxury country Hotel,Melsiripura-hub to many Cultural Heritage sites-on 80 acre fruit-growing estate.(Close to Dambulla) 4 Superior rooms,3 Luxury Garden Chalets,2 Bedroom Luxury Villa, Flat screen satellite TV-DVD-Internet. In room T/Coffee- 300 thread-count bed-linen/Pillow Menu, AC/fans, safes, minibar, hairdryer, iron, robes. Designer bathrooms-state of art body-showers. Chalets with secluded gardens-Jacuzzi or plunge pool,Magnificent hilltop swimming pool. Brook running through estate with natural pool, Spa, Ala carte and Fine Dining. Underground Wine-cellar, bar, lounge with variety of board-games. Designer Jewelry shop-Book/DVD Libraries. Child policy 7+ Ideal for bird-watching and relaxing.Day tours recommended from the hotel are: Dambulla, Sigiriya, Kandy,Na Uyana, Arankelle, Rideegama, Matale.Approx 2.5 Hrs Drive from Airport. Closest Luxury Boutique Hotel (Cultural Triangle Hotels) to the Airport/ Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Boutique Hotel And Spa
Brook Boutique Hotel Melsiripura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.