We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO KIDS ALLOWED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“NO KIDS ALLOWED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited this place on our way to Dambulla, its a beautiful place, but the only hic up was that they said that no kids were allowed, and well from the moment i heard that i was Put off, What kind of Holiday place can tell you that no kids are allowed, it is costly YES!!! but not a problem, as long as there is value for money, here you have that, but they say no to children....sad but true...Just a waste, where would the married couples with kids leave their kids and come???
Not a Good Ideai would say for a place like this, as i saw it children have many a space to run around and play, so its a shame that they do not accomodate kids here..

Room Tip: no point as kids are not allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Larine Toussaint

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to note that you thought our hotel 'a beautiful place' and you were kind enough to note that we give value for money.

Regarding your actual complaint, I'm afraid you were completely incorrect in your statement 'no kids allowed' as our hotel policy accepts children, initially, we had a policy of 14 years but we reduced it last year to children of 7years & above, so allow me to explain our concept.

We have never marketed our hotel as a 'family' hotel, instead it is regarded as a "couples" hotel, being that I am British, I think this is a concept recognised by most Europeans & Americans. There are numerous famous hotels around the world, including here in Sri Lanka, who do not accept children at all but we do.

You are very fortunate that as a family when you want to travel you have your pick of 99% of hotels world-wide but what about the others, older couples, honeymooners, gay couples, stressed out business people who all just want peace, tranquillity & relaxation - that is what we are offering them here at Brook. It's not that we don't like children, we do, very much, but please think about the hotel, we have some steep steps, unguarded fish pond, areas fenced only by tensile steel cables, although all are completely safe for adults, a little one could have a mishap and we are surrounded by an 80 acre working estate, an open stream etc, etc. Older children know the meaning of danger, little ones do not. We do not have a kiddies pool nor provide cots & high-chairs or toys & games for little ones.

We have actually received grateful thanks from married couples, who have left their children at home with the grandparents or aunties, saying how wonderful it was to totally have time for each other once again; one review was headed "Truly a perfect place to rekindle your romance" - a little difficult to do with kids in tow! These days 'romance' is very much in the air at Brook with many Honeymoon couples making it their dream destination. If you had taken the time to read through the 33 glowing reports we have received up to date, you would have found how our guests value the calm peaceful environment which is Brook.

Was it a mistake on your part that you gave us a 'poor' rating while marking us very high with 5s & 4s for Rooms, Cleanliness, Service, Value, Location and Sleep Quality (we are a little bemused by the last one, as it appears you did not actually stay in one of our rooms & know what it is like to sleep in our beds & to experience the pillow menu but just looked around!) A mistake like that could affect our overall rating but anyhow, we are still #1 hotel in the North Western Province.

Thank you Larine for successfully helping me promote Brook because future guests who are looking for luxury, comfort with peace & quiet will certainly look at your review & know that they will find what they require at Brook Boutique, a sophisticated adult hotel.

Yours

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was the best hotel we've been to so far. We really appreciate the fact that they respect our privacy. Every moment we spend there gave us something more than we expected. From the time we entered the hotel till the last second we left the place they treated us and pampered us very well. Food was delicious & the spread they had for breakfast was just awesome. Also the soothing and calming atmosphere & the classy room was another thing we loved. FOUR thumbs up for the Brook team for their excellent service & making our holiday a memorable one. I guess for all couples this a place you must visit. :D
-Sandun & Anjalie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Anjalie & Sandun,

It was our delight to have you stay with us for your belated honeymoon. Our chefs take such pleasure in seeing their delicious food enjoyed so much. Our total staff are thrilled with your '4 Thumbs up'. The peaceful luxury which is Brook, looks forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Have a very happy life together,

Karen, Pubudu & the Brook Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This review is looooooong overdue! I stayed here in Feb 2012 as part of the last night of a tour with my cousins. In fact, we had upgraded our hotel stay to this hotel without knowing much about it. We did not have high expectations because some of other hotels we stayed at were overrated. After driving miles through the coconut groves, I was in awe standing in front of this hidden gem. We were immediately greeted with drinks by the hotel staff. The manager of the hotel personally greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff was very hospitable. The chef approached us to help set the menu and made an amazing 4-course dinner and English breakfast (and to this day I still talk about how delicious it tasted)! And I can't forget the great selection of wines and huge wine cellar!
Karen...it was lovely to have met you! You have done a wonderful job with the layout of the rooms, decoration, and amenities. The pool tote bags had everything we needed! The pool has the most beautiful view of the sun setting over the plantation... it could not be any more tranquil that this. I really wish I had a few more days there. I was absolutely mesmerized by the property and hope to stay here again in the future. This truly is a 5 star hotel with 5 star staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Salu,

How do we respond to such a glowing review, when a humble "thank you" doesn't seem enough. It warmed our hearts when you told us that being at Brook had been the 'high-light' of your trip around the island. On a personal vein, I'm glad you can't see my blushes from your very kind praise!

We hope that one day you will make the long journey back to Brook from California, we'll be waiting for you.

Karen, Pubudu & the Team at Brook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have travelled to Sri Lanka 3 times, and have experienced many hotels. I have to say there is not one that has had so much thought gone into it, all dedicated to the experience of the guest. Each villa is individually designed, the staff are tentative yet reserved and the most trained I have ever had the pleasure of being looked after by. You find in Sri Lanka that many staff are still so overwhelmed by your white skin and skimpy bikinis to the point where they just can't help but stare, but with the Brook Boutique the staff understand western culture. You can see every brick laid has been laid with thought. The pool is just out of this world and with only 10 villas in the hotel it meant my friends and I had the entire pool to ourselves for the day. Up in the mountain looking up at an even bigger mountain. We were given a complimentary mobile phone so we could call down to reception when we needed drinks and wanted to order food. There is a karaoke room in the basement if you want to have a laugh. When we had a tour of the resort the spa was just what you see in an advert. An enclosed authentic building, each bed having it's own private section, but with large open windows at the head of the bed so you can breath in the jungle air as you enjoy your treatment. In the spa there was a private jacuzzi already bubbling and ready to go with flower petals.
There is a unique jewellery store by the reception with the most incredible hand picked gems. I had never seen a sapphire so blue in my life!
Karen and Poo were the most accommodating hotel owners I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, and when we return to Sri Lanka we will be sure to stay in the double roomed villa they were building whilst we were there, with it's own private jacuzzi pool, garden and facility to have your own chef come in and make a BBQ for you.
If your looking for luxury, tranquillity and the best hospitality Brook Boutique is the place! The sheer fact that you have to drive for 10 minutes when entering the gate just tells you how peaceful this place really is. It's the secret gem in a jungle.
You'd be an idiot not to stay here!
Best Wishes
Emma Critch

Room Tip: All rooms are peaceful as they are so far away from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co Founder/Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Critch,

We are thrilled you make note of the small things that mean so much to our guests. We were delighted to have you & your friends stay with us & while our staff were not gawking, I'm certain they appreciated having four very beautiful young ladies staying with us. The difference with our staff, compared to many others, is that they are all Supervisor or Executive grades & therefore know how to treat our guests with respect & allow them their privacy.

The two-bedroom villa you mentioned is now completed & I'm sure you'll have fun there next time you come to Brook. As you know, the finest food, most comfortable rooms, leisurely pursuits & all you could wish for await you.

Looking forward to seeing you again, possibly next year!

Kind regards,

Karen & the Tam at Brook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Spending a long weekend at Brook was a wonderful experience. The journey was at times tedious but the peace and tranquility of the hotel was worth every moment. The Directors were friendly and very welcoming and the staff super attentive.
The food was exceptional and well presented So much of it too!
Rooms were lovely and provided everything the could possibly be required right down to the basket provided for taking bits and pieces to the swimming pool.
Added bonus ......no mossies!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co Founder/Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much, it really is rewarding for our staff to know how highly our guests rate us & what they think are exceptional high spots in their visit to Brook.

You obviously loved the food; but there again, I think you just loved Brook. You mentioned no Mosquitoes (due to our secret ingredient in the garden), you also would not have seen a black crow here either. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again before too long.

Kindest regards,

Karen & the Team at Brook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I we to Brook for our extended Honeymoon and stayed there for 2 nights. Having previously visited what we thought was the best hotel experience at another well reputed Luxury hotel in Sigiriya, we honestly did not have high expectation for Brook. But from the moment we entered through the gates, we knew it was not what we expected it to be. The staff greeted us with a warm welcome and refreshing towels and drinks which was much comforting after the long drive. We had booked a Superior room and requested a room with a bay window after seeing it.
They sent us a nice rich fruit basket with juicy fresh fruits.The room decor was first class and we consider to be of high standard for a Boutique Hotel. The room is equipped with all Amenities required for a luxurious stay. We are also provided a mobile phone to contact the staff (Janake in our case) for any inquires. And that was just the beginning!!!
The dinner was FABULOUS!!! The waiter (Eranda) helped us choose the best out of set menus for a four course meal and a scrumptious dessert. See for yourselves in the pics!!! We were joined by the Hotel owners Karen and Pubudu and had a nice chat while enjoying the dinner. Pubudu offered us a morning nature walk the next day which we happily accepted.
We started the walk @ 6.30 am and went along streams, visited the vegetable garden and SPA and other areas of the 80 acre land (not the entire 80 acres).
At the end of the trip we were served "kola kanda" (a herbal green leave drink) followed by the best breakfast we have ever had at any hotel we've been to. See the pics!!!
After the heavy BF went out to see "Yapahuwa" (ancient kingdom of Sri Lanka) which is about 30km away. Had lunch on the way and came to the hotel exhausted. Had a bath and selected a movie from the 1500 movie collection (literally!) to watch in the evening.
After a short sleep we want for dinner and again the Chef Ruwan amazed us with an assortment of dishes and desserts which we could not resist despite being full with the main course.
Next day we were again served with a breakfast that was fit for a king. which included some delicious Sri Lankan country food and a complete English breakfast.
We left Brook afterwards promising we will return again soon. All in all the experience was above and beyond expectation and certainly five star class.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with Bay windows (2 rooms) if you are going for the Superior Rooms (all tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you Madura for your kind words, it was our pleasure having you & your lovely bride, Jayathri here with us to enjoy the last bit of your honeymoon. It was such a pleasure to see how you enjoyed the delicious meals our chefs conjured up for your delight, especially the seafood platter.

How wonderful that due to your experiences here with us, we were able to change your expectations into a positive feeling and know that your promise to return soon came straight from your hearts.

Looking forward to your next visit to us here at Brook Boutique.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Brook for 4 nights after our wedding at Palagama Beach Resort in February. We had 50 friends and family celebrating with us for 5 days and we needed some time alone to chill and relax after the madness and stress of the wedding. What better place to do this than Brook Boutique Hotel. The hotel is set within a cashew, mango and coconnut plantation and is at least 10km away from the closest main road so it is super isolated. You are so secluded and the environment so private that it is the perfect place to relax. We went bike riding during the day, swam in the stunning pool and ate ate ate ate ate! The highlight of Brook is definately the food, wow the chef is excellent. Breakfast can be taken at anytime you please and is absolutely MASSIVE. So much delicious food that you really dont need to eat again until dinner time. Beautiful, relaxing and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go on a stream walk with Poopadoo the owner! Great fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you Penny for choosing Brook Boutique for the private 'together' time of your honeymoon. We are delighted as to how much you loved the peaceful, tranquil setting of Brook. Being Welsh myself, it's always great for me to have another Celt in the place. We certainly could see how much you enjoyed your time with us, especially when it came to the 'food' part, our chefs were so happy to cook for you.

Pubudu's stream walk is becoming quite an attraction, everyone loves the chance to paddle through the crystal clear water, one person actually found a garnet stone while in the brook! Albeit a small stone, but still - a garnet!

We know you have a genuine love of Sri Lanka & that you'll be back many times in the future. There will always be a warm welcome awaiting you both at Brook.

Wishing you a long and happy married life together.

Karen & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Melsiripura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Luxury Hotel Award winner 2012 for the best Luxury country Hotel,Melsiripura-hub to many Cultural Heritage sites-on 80 acre fruit-growing estate.(Close to Dambulla) 4 Superior rooms,3 Luxury Garden Chalets,2 Bedroom Luxury Villa, Flat screen satellite TV-DVD-Internet. In room T/Coffee- 300 thread-count bed-linen/Pillow Menu, AC/fans, safes, minibar, hairdryer, iron, robes. Designer bathrooms-state of art body-showers. Chalets with secluded gardens-Jacuzzi or plunge pool,Magnificent hilltop swimming pool. Brook running through estate with natural pool, Spa, Ala carte and Fine Dining. Underground Wine-cellar, bar, lounge with variety of board-games. Designer Jewelry shop-Book/DVD Libraries. Child policy 7+ Ideal for bird-watching and relaxing.Day tours recommended from the hotel are: Dambulla, Sigiriya, Kandy,Na Uyana, Arankelle, Rideegama, Matale.Approx 2.5 Hrs Drive from Airport. Closest Luxury Boutique Hotel (Cultural Triangle Hotels) to the Airport/ Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Boutique Hotel Melsiripura
Brook Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.