We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dorset Arms

The Dorset Arms
NR Hartfield, Withyham TN7 4BD, England
+44(0)1892 770278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Withyham
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I went for Sunday lunch and had the Lamb roast dinner followed by the Summer Fruits Crumble.

The service was efficient, the food was great and the portions were excellent (especially the Crumble).

They are a bit OCD about cleaning the tables, I noticed one table had been cleaned 3 times between customers, still at least you know they value cleanliness.

A table decoration to brighten up the tables would be good. I would definitely go back for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went for a family meal -4 of us. We stood at the bar for a good ten minutes before we were acknowledged (plenty of staff but busy talking to the locals) we ordered our drinks which were wrong so had to be re ordered, asked for a table in the so called restaurant which took nearly fifteen minutes to sort out despite the restaurant not being busy. The atmosphere was horrible, it had a real 'pompous' feel about it as if we weren't good enough to be there.
The menu was very poor, hardly any choices and at ridiculous prices. We all ordered something different and were all disappointed with the portion sizes.
Really found the whole experience very poor and would not wish to visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkyibiza
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Basic menu with high quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Apparently this restaurant has only been open in it's current form for 6 weeks or so as it has been completely refurbished. The menu is quite small and traditional (we had ham hock terrine, prawn cocktail, liver and bacon and lemon sole), the ingredients are locally sourced where possible and the quality and taste are excellent. The staff are very professional and extremely welcoming, making the whole experience a real pleasure. At the end of your meal, check out the range of single malts!! Thanks to Charlie, Bish and the team.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very well referbished - bright open.
Staff very friendly, and welcoming.
Slight error on the order - one meal missed, but that was soon fixed, and not charged for.
Food was good. although the skinny chips could have done with being a bit browner. Meat was very good, superbly cooked, and melt in the mouth.
Parking a bit of a nightmare

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Welcome back. Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I have been going to the 'Dorset' for years now. So we've seen its good days ... and unfortunately some bad days ( the last landlords for example!)
So have to admit we were a bit concerned about the recent refurbishment in May 2014.
But we needn't have been. We had dinner there on re-opening night with friends and we all agreed that it is now a perfect venue. Whether it's for a quiet coffee snuggled up in one of the comfy armchairs - compete with a thoughtfully available book - or a lively drink with your mates or a first-class meal at reasonable prices, the 'Dorset' has certainly cracked it! . The staff are fantastically friendly; welcoming yet totally professional, no matter how busy they are. We had an excellent meal and can highly recommend the superb liver and bacon.
This will continue to be our favourite local haunt - hopefully for years to come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dorset Arms also viewed

Hartfield, East Sussex
Coleman's Hatch, East Sussex
 
Hartfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Dorset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dorset Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.