We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable beds and in need of renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mary's River Lodge

St. Mary's River Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Mary's River Lodge to your Saves list
St. Mary's River Lodge
21 Main Street, Sherbrooke, Nova Scotia B0J 3C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sherbrooke B&B and Inns
Westmount, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable beds and in need of renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Driving up the coast of Nova Scotia, this seemed like a place to stop for the evening. I arrived late due to bad timing on my part. I had registered ahead of time so I was expected. My friend and I were the only guests at the lodge that evening. We were warmly welcomed. I had eaten at a restaurant about 30 minutes away as I had been told that the restaurants in Sherbrooke closed at 7pm.

I have to say out of all the places I have stayed at over the last week or so, this was the worst. The room was small and smelled of mildew. There were 2 single beds in the room and they were so close together I could reach over and touch the other bed while laying down in mine. The mattresses were soft and lumpy. It felt like there was no box spring under the thin mattress. Is was very uncomfortable. The room is in desperate need of a renovation. Only the bathroom seemed to have been recently modernized. Thankfully I arrived late and was leaving early. I could not wait to get out of the room. There was also only one tiny table in the corner. Power outlets were far away so it was difficult to plug in a laptop and sit down at the tiny table. Thankfully I had an extension cord with me that we could use.

I went out for a late night walk just so I would not have to be in the room any longer than necessary.

Breakfast in the morning was good as as the service.

As a whole, the service was great, but the accommodations certainly could use a lot of sprucing up. Basically the beds are in dire need of an upgrade if nothing else. I woke up sore and stiff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room we had was very comfortable. The breakfast we had was very good. the owners were very welcoming making us cups of coffee on our arrival.The lodge was very well situated for visiting Sherbrooke Village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A pleasant little B&B in the middle of main street. A little neglected it could do with a bit of modernisation, but was otherwise clean and comfortable. We stayed in Room 1 and it seemed to be the oldest and most in need of attention because we compared it to Nos 2, 3 and 4 (the doors were open) and they looked much better. The beds were unconfortable and there was a very musty smell coming from the old dressing unit in the corner, Our host was a very pleasant man of Swiss origin and the breakfast he provided was excellent. The swiss music he had on the CD player at breakfast was also very enjoyable. No tea & coffee service in the room but we brought some in from the cafe next door. We parked across the road as parking was very limited right outside the door. Sherbrooke is okay for a quick visit to see the historic site but not worth staying in because there is nothing to do in the evening and all the restaurants close by 7.00pm.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 2, 3 or 4. Avoid room 1 as it needs updating and the beds are uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Contrary to previous reviewer we loved it here and thought it was the best value for money. Our room was clean comfortable and quaint. Breakfast was tasty enough. We wish we'd had drink making facilities in our room though as we arrived too late in Sherbrooke to eat in a restaurant but did manage takeout from next door. A good place to stay especially if you are on a budget and we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Perhaps we were jaded from staying in a series of Victorian mansions, but the room at the St. Mary's River Lodge was more like the old "modern cabins" along the road in days gone by--not rustic, but cheap and basic. The furnishings, bedding and woodwork were cheap. The flimsy door had no security (although not a problem in an obviously low crime area). The key chain was a big chunk of birch log. The public area were cluttered with a mish mash of furnishings. The pillow was flat and bed hard. The room was a good size, with a couch (very uncomfortable). There was no AC or fan, but luckily the weather was not summery. Breakfast was good, and it was a very quiet setting, right in the Sherbrooke historic village. We arrived kind of late, and were barely able to find a place to eat before they rolled up the street at 8 on a Saturday night. I don't know how Canada Select gave this B&B 3.5 stars. I would honestly say 2 would be more realistic. For 3.5 you get the outstanding Rossmount Inn at St. Andrews by the Sea, New Brunswick, or the Waverly Inn in Halifax. No comparison!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we read the reviews,most people said to stay at the house across the river so we did, and we were happy. The room we had was a very large room with a table and chairs and kichenette at one end. One day we looked out the window and right into the eyes of a deer! You do need to drive to the lodge for breakfast, but we did not find that inconvenient. The breakfasts were good with eggs and ham one day and eggs and sausage another (and of course, toast,juice,and coffee) It was a really nice, comfortable place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We decided to break our journey from Louisberg to Halifax at Sherbrooke in order to visit the historic village and we were not disappointed. we were a little suspicious initially when we were told that they were not doing breakfast in the morning and we had money given back so that we could go to the local hostelry. However it turned out that the lady who did breakfast had a family crisis and we were given a generous amount of money back. The room although small, was beautiful with great furniture and very comfortable beds. I needed to get onto the internet the evening we arrived so I went to the main house, met up with the owner again and got on line. Meanwhile he made me the best cup of coffee I had in the whole of Nova Scotia. This is a great place from which to visit the wonderful historic village

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mary's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's River Lodge

Address: 21 Main Street, Sherbrooke, Nova Scotia B0J 3C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Mary's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mary's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.