We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Restaurant

The Talbot Restaurant
Bath Road, Keynsham, Bristol BS31 1NP, England
01179 116 728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Keynsham
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

this was the third time we have visited this pub, first time there were 6 of us all good, meal was v good for the price, we ate at 6:30 pm so we had no problems with being served, the second time which was midweek still OK, 3rd time tuesday 23rd october, a little later eating, not to busy, the meals came within 10 mins? the wifes meal took a little longer. we waited for here meal to turn up before we started ours, it took 5 mins,that was the First problem, not major. the wife had the fish at £8.plus. it came and it was not the quality she has had before it was not crispy, it was flat and look re-cooked, the batter was oilly. ask to see the manager, he recovered the situation very well, we will return again next week. to give it a 2nd chance. we all have bad dayswell done the manager.
from Phil Templar

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    13
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rude, ignorant staff. 10 customers standing at the bar 1 member of staff serving. Always the same everytime we have been here. Each time we go we are hoping it has changed, sadly not.

Eventually got served by a sour faced girl,who came out from the kitchen, there were no apologies for the wait or no thank you for waiting.
This girl had no manners at all, no please or thank you, and then guessing we wanted half a pint of ice in our drinks.
The pub itself was not busy so therefore I find there is no excuse for the bad service we continually have put ourselves through.
However no more, we will be using another public house from now on, where the customers are treated like the priority and where our custom is welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Two for a tenner, you cannot go wrong, but it is just basic pub food.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Acceptable place to dine. Quite cheap. Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Clean. Ok staff. Bit slow at lunchtime but ok

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I've been to the Talbot many times in the past few years, and always enjoyed it hence returning many times.

The value for food is excellent, with many 2 for £10 selections available to buy. The portions are always more than substantial, and the chips are actually edible ( take note many local pubs ! )

I must confess the fish on the 2 for £10 is more batter than fish, but for the price, it's good nontheless.

Same method of collecting sauces as Whetherspoons, help yourself to sachets, with a good selection available.

The only downside to this place I would say, can be the " types " the pub attracts due to the price.

Staff are always very friendly and appear to have been trained correctly. Again, makes a big difference and they add to the place in a positive way.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Talbot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.