We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos de la Garde

Save Saved
You added Le Clos de la Garde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos de la Garde
4, rue de la Basse Garde, 37500 Anche, L'lle-Bouchard, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Anche B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Manfred is a wonderful host, he makes you very welcome and is easily able to give advice on what to see and do in the area. There are numerous chateaus with in a short driving distance, some with wonderful gardens.It is also very easy to relax and enjoy his cottage style garden at this time of year especially the fresh fruit! The room was 5 star, very modern and clean, very comfortable bed and pillows for a restful night's sleep. We stayed for 4 nights and could easily have stayed longer. We have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation especially if you want a quiet and relaxing time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Manfred made us welcome from the moment we arrived. What a wonderful host. He has done a brilliant job renovating this charming property. Large, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds made for a sound nights sleep. The rambling cottage garden has a surprise at every turn and the caves are intriguing. Manfred is a great historian and a great cook too. The property is well situated to visit the local Loire Valley sites with Villandry a short, easy drive. I went for a walk before breakfast and took some lovely photos of the local area. We would have liked to stay longer. This b&b is highly recommended. Do yourself a favour and stay at Le Clos de la Garde.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have travelled extensively mostly staying in B&Bs and pensions. Le Clos de la Garde is our vote as the best. It was like staying in a 5 star hotel room situated in a lovely rural setting with the added benefit of having a very affable host, Manfred, who doubled as a wonderful personal chef.
We greatly enjoyed our dinners with Manfred and since our visit was in September we had the advantage of eating fruits and vegetables fresh from his garden. The wine caves (and contents) are another bonus.
The rural setting was exactly what we were looking for and we found Anché ideally located for touring the Loire Valley with literally dozens of interesting sites within a 45 minute drive.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, make sure that you ask for the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A visit to the Loire Valley we would highly recommend this as the place to stay. With congenial hosts that couldn't do enough for us to make our stay more pleasant. Great from the start with a good breakfast to having an enjoyable evening meal.The setting is superb, with an interesting wine cellar and lovely rustic garden where my husband picked (stole) a few strawberries. Manfred recomended a great restaurant in l'Ille-Bouchard, and added good information about the area. He has done an excellent job in retoring and updating these quaint cottages.
We would definitely return to stay here when we visit the Loire valley again we hope in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived from "the big city" and where immediately relaxed. The three rooms Manfred offers are equally nice, very spacious, comfortable beds and good bathrooms. The location is perfect for exploring the castles in the neighborhood and Manfred can tell you a lot about what to do in the surroundings. The breakfast is simple, but the homemade jams are delicious and the bread as it should be in France. The immense cellar under the house is a great atmospheric place for the apéritif. Let Manfred cook for you and you might get some salad fresh from the garden with walnut oil pressed by the neighbor. What else to you want....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for three nights and - even measured against the remarkably high Tripadvisor ratings - were impressed by the personal touch, great service and lovely atmosphere. Manfred is a marvellous host and an excellent chef to boot! We felt very much at home and would certainly recommend this place to any Loire valley traveller. Chinon is pretty nearby and turned out to be a very attractive small town. On days lacking Manfred's personal dinner service, the restaurant "les annees trentes" is a great alternative!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the newly converted 3rd room of this inn. Manfred was a delightful host, serving vouvray and appetizers to us in his ancient cave before cooking dinner for us! The grounds are charming, and very country. The only recommendation I would make to Manfred is to beef up his breakfast a little. His homemade jams were fantastic with fresh bread, croissants, coffee and juice, but it seemed he could offer a bit more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Clos de la Garde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Garde

Address: 4, rue de la Basse Garde, 37500 Anche, L'lle-Bouchard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > L'lle-Bouchard > Anche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Anche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with 2 spacious suites near Chinon in the heart of the Loire valley. Feel the breath of history and enjoy nature and tranquility in a 3000 sqm garden. Suites in a typically tuff stone house of 18th century with a maximum of 4 persons (convertible sofa), large sized beds, modern bathrooms, heating, free W-LAN, parking.Table d'hôtes (dinner) served upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Clos de la Garde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos de la Garde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.