We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greed is such a turn off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swell Beach Bar

Swell Beach Bar
Bus Stop 5 | Angeliki Hotel, Megali Ammos, Greece
+302427022354
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner, Greek, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nice chill out spot ,on the beach.Food-drinks-face all day long. Fresh salads, greek flavors,many refreshments.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Greed is such a turn off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Went to Swell in July 2012. The First time we went, the staff informed us we could only sit if we were eating. No reservations on tables and several empty tables. They "gave us the choice" to sit in our adjustant hotel's garden away from the bar. It was too hot, with no view and uncomfortable chairs. When we complained, the staff said that they work with Skandinavians who eat around that time and this us why they want to keep the tables empty. 5 days later, i went there again at 9 but again the staff told me that we could not stay for too long if we were not eating. The food is the typical kanteen food with no real Greek elements. Anyway, life s too short and this was oyr holiday. We did nit react to the incredible rudeness and jyst started going "Thessaloniki" near by. Amazing people, really accommodating, lovely food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos-Dimitris K, Owner at Swell Beach Bar, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear visitor,
I am deeply sorry to read that you did not enjoy your holidays in our beautiful island and in particular on Megali Ammos beach.
The description you are making is incomplete and like I mentioned in your other review about Hotel Angeliki, when you came at the bar that morning at 9am to take your coffee, we did notify you that the table was already booked for 1pm.
The waiter always informs politely and solves any issues that may arise by offering seating on various tables in our big garden or smaller tables that are ideal for 2 people and not 4.
We are clear and informative to all our clients, many of which have been visiting us and the island for many many years.

The incident you are describing was the only one and we are truly sorry that you didn’t give us a chance to rectify it and instead you started writing various comments on various sites.
We would be very pleased if you visit us again not only to taste our delicious burgers, salads and the rest of our dishes but also our cocktails and to chill out listening to the lovely tunes playing in the background around our property.
Regarding the wifi, it is available only to our clients and it has been commented on how fast the connection is. Unfortunately it is not available to anyone that passes by simply because, as you may understand, if we did that, it would become very slow and no fair to our clients that pay to stay with us. I do believe that there are hardly any business along the beach offering this service to its clients.
Before closing, I noticed that you made comments about Scandinavians with a different sense of humor that I find difficult to comprehend and I would like to point that our clients are of different nationalities with diverse needs and views and include Scandinavians, English, French, South African, Germans, Italians just to mention a few and they are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The nicest staff in Megali Ammos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I want to praise the staff at Swell Beach Bar! You will always feel welcome, at any time, even if you only want a drink or a beer, before or after lunchtime. They always do their best to fulfill all our desires as guests. They will also serve you in the garden or at the beach.
It's a very nice atmosphere in the shade of the trees, in the hottest hour of the day.
When you learn to know this place, at Angeliki Beach Hotel, you will come year after year and feel like family.
The food should satisfy the most discerning, with salads, pizza, burger, sandwiches, pasta etc.
Should mean something that I've been there every year since 2001! :)
Looking forward to my second visit this year.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most beautifull spot on Megali Ammos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy a great meal while sitting in a beautfull garden with great view than this is the place for you! The food is great and the service is excellent. Never felt so welcome and relaxed by it's owners and staff. A wide variety of food, drinks and icecream at good prices just meters away from the beach, you can even ask for coffee while sitting on the beach and they bring it within minutes. Now that's what i call good service! Thank you Swell Beach Bar!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Beach Bar on Megali Ammos, Skiathos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Swell is by far the best beach bar on Megali Ammos. I have never met such nice people and the service is not close to perfect. IT IS PERFECT. We already could order anything from early in the morning until closing time (between 18:00 and 19:00 hours). And it is always so that you also have to be a good guest. The people who works there are no slaves so don't treat them like slaves. That time is luckely long gone. So people if you want very good food and drinks and a excellent service GO TO THE SWELL BEACH BAR!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell Beach Bar also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Swell Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swell Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.