We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience but very noisy traffic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Side
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Breeze
Save
You added Sea Breeze to your Saves list
Cayman Kai, North Side, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nice experience but very noisy traffic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I too was swayed by reviews on this site to stay here. Turtle Nest Inn was sold out and so they booked us in to their adjacent property - Seabreeze Condo's.

All in all we had a positive experience. The main reason for me giving it a '3' rating was because of the traffic noise. This was not noticeable during the day but come night time the constant drone of trucks and their engines passing by was wearing. The hotel is on a corner and consequently vehicles need to change gear making it that little bit louder than free-flowing traffic. On the second day I went over to the management office but they could offer me no alternative. There was little point in getting upset about it as they had no other options. So they gave me their noise machine and that combined with me sleeping on the sofa for the next week meant at least that I got some sleep. Of course this wasn't exactly what I had in mind when I booked the trip but as I was up early to dive every day it was important to be well rested!

Also at the end of a long day you may not feel inclined to go back in to town to eat/drink. 5 nights out of 7 we spent in the condo as we were too tired to make the drive. This wasn't a hassle for us as we were there more for day-time activities.

Do try the snorkelling on the reef in front of the hotel it was very good when the sea was calm.

We went back to Cayman Islands 4 months after this trip and stayed at Casa Caribe instead. I know it's in a different price bracket but if there are a few of you going it is fabulous and worth the extra. Great location, staff and beach-front. If you do stay at Seabreeze condos be sure not to get one close to the road - if you're a light sleeper!)....hope that this helps and have fun.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of it
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My wife and I were headed to Grand Cayman in August and since we had never been I did some research and decided to stay at the Turtle Nest Inn . Unfortunately, I found that they were booked. However, we found that they had a few condos open, at their affiliate property next door (Seabreeze). I looked into them and for the price, they didn't seem to bad, plus it came with a rental car.

I spoke with the TNI staff by email, which they always answered very quickly. Since we had a late flight on a Saturday, the TNI staff informed me that they would leave our condo unlocked with the key on the table. This lead me to be a little nervous, having traveled to several places in Mexico.

Our flight arrived and we were able to obtain our rental car without a problem. It looked like a small roller skate but it was quite roomy for two people. Anyways, following the TNI staff's suggestion, we stopped by the supermarket on the way in and picked up some food and drinks. Then we headed on to the condo. We arrived without a problem and parked in our assigned parking spot (even though there were only two other cars).

We entered our condo and were amazed. We saw the pictures that were posted on the TNI page, but they didn't do the place justice. Heck, I didn't even realize that the condo was supposed to be 2 bedroom/2.5 bath until we got there. We unloaded and enjoyed our first night hearing the waves crash against the shore.

We woke up early to get a headstart on the day, but unfortunately, the weather was too bad for the dive trip that I had planned, so we settled for snorkeling, just 40 feet from our condo. The reef was nice, the beach was white, and the water was crystal! We checked in at the TNI and our greeting was very warm. We spoke to Marleine and Alain who were very helpful in suggestions for food and excursions.

The rain slowed, so my wife and I decided to hike the Mastic Trail. Getting to the street that it starts on isn't very hard, just finding it from there was a little problematic. But, we finally asked a local and he directed us there without a problem. We discovered that we really shouldn't have done the trail after the rain, as we hit mid-shin water. However, we went forward and finished it. It was nice and relaxing, and I was shocked by what a trooped my wife was, especially when she discovered that we had to walk 2 miles back to our original starting point!

Anyways, on our way back we stopped at a local restraunt (3-5 minute walk from TNI/condos) that had been suggested by Marleine. It looked like a home with a deck on the back of it. We ordred at the counter and then sat on the deck, which overlooked the sea. The food was piled onto the plate and was quite tasty.

We enjoyed the beach and then some more snorkeling. My wife got a kick out of another visitor when she asked if I was part fish, as she had seen me in the water so much. The next day, we headed to the Caybrew Brewery for a couple of shirts. We were greeted by the General Manager who offered us a tour. When we said yes, he lead us to the Brewmaster's office. From there we were introducted to Oliver. He provided us with a great tour. The factory even recycles bottles which was cool. The best part of any Brewery Tour of course, is the Tasting Station.

Oliver filled our glasses and it quickly became my wife's favorite beer. I enjoyed it too. We also met Patricia the 1st Caybrew girl who was quite friendly. Our little excursion turned into almost making a day of it. We were there over 4 hours. Locals were coming in and out, several just for a few cold ones. We spoke with all of them who were very friendly. The Caybrew staff was great and we wish we could have hung out with them even more, but we headed out to Georgetown.

We ate at the Lonestar Bar and Grill. Enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Then we headed to Cemetary Beach and a few others around there. They were nice and there weren't many people. Hell wasn't far away and since we were close, we drove up. If you're not extremely uptight the shops were entertaining. One guy was dressed up as the devil and the keepers greeted you with Hell type of sayings. Wasn't much to see, but there was a plywood cutout that you could place your face in for posing.

The next day my diving was put off once again, so we settled for the Atlantis Submarine Night Dive. If you dive, it's not so impressive, but my wife, who is a non-diver enjoyed it. Hammerhead bar that is not to far away is a nice place to grab a cold one and some lunch.

Luckily the last two days were very nice, but I still wasn't able to dive as most of the companies had already been booked up since the weather cleared. So once again, I setteled and my wife and I made an appointment with Bob Soto's charter for Stingray City. We did some snorkeling on the way out and when we stopped in at the sandbar (stingray city), we were shocked about how many rays we saw. The guides were quite nice and explained everything to us. My wife was a little skiddish at first (see pic below) but she warned up to them and we had a great time feeding them.

All in all, the trip was great and most of this was due to the Seabreeze condo and the TNI staff. They were able to provide us with all kinds of information and were always friendly. Donna even suggested that I apply for the Grand Cayman Police Department. If you're looking for a great place to stay away from the big city (Georgetown) this is the place to be. It is located on the center southern end of the island and everything seems like it can be reached within 30 mins max! Oh, and there are books that are left on the table to read in the condos for suggestions and comments. It is apparent that they are read because 100% of what was suggested by former guest had been purchased or taken care of. I hope that you enjoy your Cayman trip and I would highly recommend the Seabreeze Condos!

  • Liked — The tropical feel of vacation with a home-like touch!
  • Disliked — Front steps slippery when they are wet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We booked our Seabreeze stay through the Tutle Nest Inn. We stayed on Seven Mile Beach then moved to the other side of the Island in Bodden Town for a different experience. After staying in a hotel for 6 days, it was nice to be able to spread out and have some room at Seabreeze.

We were in #2, which is 2 stories, 2 bedrooms upstairs, on with a Queen bed in the master bedroom and 2 twins in the other. The only complaint I have is that there was not a king bed (which we knew), but the mattress on the queen bed needs replacing.

The beach is right out the patio door. It is much rockier and much windier on this side of the island, but provided a very relaxing experience. The snorkeling in front of the condo was not as good as it is on the Seven Mile side, and the water was much rougher.

Donna, Alain and Marleine at the Turle Nest were so friendly and set us up on snorkel/dive tours. Do not miss the Stingray City trip that they recommend with Captain Harvey. We did it on our last day and it was the highlight of our trip. Noone bothers you at the condos - they are clean and very comfortable.

We got a package with a car so we drove all around the island. We went to Rum Point on a sunday afternoon, and I'd agree with the other review (and wonder if they were there the same day we were) because it was very crowded and full of boats.

This is a place to go to get away from it all. There is nothing to do - no night life around - just pure relaxation.

  • Liked — There was plenty of room and the view of the ocean from the entire downstairs
  • Disliked — The mattress in the master bedroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

My daughter, 2 friends, and I stayed at the Seabreeze condos for 8 nights and it was wonderful! There was plenty of room for all of us. (2 bedroom/ 2 1/2 bath) The sliding back door opens to to back patio, 10 feet away from the pool, and 20 feet away from the ocean!

It was my first visit to the Grand Cayman Island and here's my advice:

If you want no crowds, peace, beautiful scenery--stay here! The beach does have lots of seaweed and it is rocky. There is good snorkeling right in front of the room! It's great! Just bring water shoes and you'll be fine! There was a constant breeze that cooled us down (and we didn't find it on 7-mile beach)

Turtle Nest Inn next door is who we booked through. Donna and Alan were very welcoming & helpful! We had access to all their ammenities all week long---thanks for the snorkel gear! We took it everywhere we went! The Thursday night dinner was one of the best we had on the island!

Things to do: Rum Point (but NOT on Sunday afternoon---there were no les than 50 boats all anchored there with 100's of people enjoying the area--it must be the Sunday thing to do on the island).
Stingray City---Captain Dexter's Fantasia tour was awesome! He and John were so considerate and helpful! John personally took my 8 year old daughter snorkeling so she would feel safe and she loved it! We were able to sail back to the dock and it was so peaceful. Just be aware that when cruise ships are in, you will not be the only ones there---we shared the experience with about 250 other people! We were with a small group on our boat, however, and when we went snorkeling, it was just our small group. Also, if driving from the condo, to miss the horrible traffic between 7-9am, you have to leave around 6:55am. We did the 8:30 am tour, left the condo at 6:55am and just stopped and got breakfast and visited Cemetary Beach before going to the marina.
Atlantis--we did the submarine tour and it was good! Book through Turtle Nest Inn and children get 50% off!

Restaurants: My only disappointment about Grand Cayman Island is the food prices. My daughter and I spent around $700 for food while we were there. Yes, it was good and we did go out to eat every day but just prepare yourself for expensive prices!
Portofinos--on east end --GO THERE! It was awesome! We went twice. Their Sunday brunch ($18.95) was the best deal on the island! Try the Mango Creme Brulee)
Pappagallos---great italian (try the coffee creme brulee)
Chicken-Chicken--near 7-mile beach--great deal on take home meal (our cheapest of the week)
Lighthouse--really good food but go for lunch because it is cheaper (but still pricy)
LoneStar--it was ok but not worth going back.
Marriott Friday Buccaneer buffett--it was entertaining for my daughter but still a little pricy--good selection but I would only do it one time

All in all, the Seabreeze Condos were a great place to stay. You get to leave the crowded streets and beaches and retreat to a place of peace and quiet.

There was a full moon while we were there and watching it come up over the ocean at night was the best part of our trip. You get to see the sun and the moon rise from your balcony!

Do the research, find out what each part of the island has to offer you and if what is described about Bodentown, Turtle Nest Inn, and Seabreeze condos sounds right for you, you will not be disappointed.

It is the only place I want to stay when I go back!

  • Liked — The peace of the area
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay there longer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze

Address: Cayman Kai, North Side, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > North Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Side
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.