We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill

KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill
Kaibo Beach, Water Cay Road | Cayman Kai, North Side, Grand Cayman
(345) 947-9975
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 2 restaurants in North Side
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Fish Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to this restaurant to escape the rain during a snorkel/Stingray City trip. We were quickly seated outside, and received great service, even though the restaurant was getting ready for a large group to arrive. I had a fish sandwich, which was delicious! Great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    93
    83
    41
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a great barbeque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went on Tuesday night for the barbeque and we were disappointed. It is a buffet that had chicken, jerk pork, fish, ox stew, water sogged corn on the cob, a simple salad, potato salad, and pasta salad. There also was rum cake. Everything was ok. We would not return for the barbeque. Do not know what the regular menu is like or their fancier upstairs restaurant. The setting was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A long drive around but the houses on Cayman Kai were worth seeing. Took the advice of the tour books, and were pleased to see this is not a typical tourist trap. Great setting, delicious food, and a short walk to the incredible Starfish Beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A different kind of prawn curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for dinner and the atmosphere was nice and breezy.
My friends recommended the prawn curry and I was a bit apprehensive --- coming from Asia, I have tried multiple versions of prawn curry (Japanese, Thai, Singaporean, Indian) and I am not such a big fan. But then it was one of the restaurant's specialties so I ordered it. So I was pleasantly surprised that it was a very different version with the prawns covered in a batter with a hint of coconut and the curry sauce (on the sweeter side) drizzled over. It was delicious!!!
It was unfortunate though that the guest at the table next to us lit a cigar and we had to suffer from the cigar smell half way through our dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little beach stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My buddy took us here after stingray city for a little snack. I had the mahi mahi sandwich and we drank Appleton and ginger, which is delicious. The atmosphere was perfect. You're right in the beach and the view was spectacular. Cool little place to stop in at.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
East End, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.