We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill

KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill
Kaibo Beach, Water Cay Road | Cayman Kai, North Side, Grand Cayman
+1 345-947-9975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in North Side
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cayman's favorite beach bar, honest fresh and fun!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Fish Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to this restaurant to escape the rain during a snorkel/Stingray City trip. We were quickly seated outside, and received great service, even though the restaurant was getting ready for a large group to arrive. I had a fish sandwich, which was delicious! Great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    195
    82
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not a great barbeque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went on Tuesday night for the barbeque and we were disappointed. It is a buffet that had chicken, jerk pork, fish, ox stew, water sogged corn on the cob, a simple salad, potato salad, and pasta salad. There also was rum cake. Everything was ok. We would not return for the barbeque. Do not know what the regular menu is like or their fancier upstairs restaurant. The setting was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A long drive around but the houses on Cayman Kai were worth seeing. Took the advice of the tour books, and were pleased to see this is not a typical tourist trap. Great setting, delicious food, and a short walk to the incredible Starfish Beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A different kind of prawn curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for dinner and the atmosphere was nice and breezy.
My friends recommended the prawn curry and I was a bit apprehensive --- coming from Asia, I have tried multiple versions of prawn curry (Japanese, Thai, Singaporean, Indian) and I am not such a big fan. But then it was one of the restaurant's specialties so I ordered it. So I was pleasantly surprised that it was a very different version with the prawns covered in a batter with a hint of coconut and the curry sauce (on the sweeter side) drizzled over. It was delicious!!!
It was unfortunate though that the guest at the table next to us lit a cigar and we had to suffer from the cigar smell half way through our dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little beach stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My buddy took us here after stingray city for a little snack. I had the mahi mahi sandwich and we drank Appleton and ginger, which is delicious. The atmosphere was perfect. You're right in the beach and the view was spectacular. Cool little place to stop in at.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
East End, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.