We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaibo beach bar, good food, good drink, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill

KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill
Kaibo Beach, Water Cay Road | Cayman Kai, North Side, Grand Cayman
(345) 947-9975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in North Side
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Kaibo beach bar, good food, good drink, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We finally left the 7 mile beach area to see the rest of the island. Drove around to the north side and happened on the kaibo beach bar. What a nice surprise , we will certainly go back again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    118
    57
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you're in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a late lunch at the bar & grill . . . on our way from Elizabeth II Botanical Garden, and before checking out Starfish Point. First of all, grab a table with plenty of shade, so that you will be covered throughout your entire meal. The food was fine, but compared to some of the other meals we already had earlier in the week, we weren’t too impressed. It wasn’t at all crowded, and the vibe was extremely laid back. I think this is a good lunch/dinner stop if you’re already on this side of the island, but otherwise, we could probably do without. (Note: we can’t comment on the “upstairs” restaurant, which is supposed to be fancier).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food upstairs and down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The upstairs restaurant: We chose the “Sampler” menu which consisted of a fixed price for five courses including a fish and a meat course. It was absolutely delicious and presented beautifully. This was New York good, not just island good. The only small negative was the desert was way too heavy and they did not offer a light desert like sorbet and fruit. But it didn’t matter because the meal was so outstanding. This is not an inexpensive establishment, but is worth every penny.

The beach level: It serves sandwiches and island specialty entrees. We had a Mahi Mahi in a curry coconut sauce and a chicken Chimichanga wrap that was deep fried. We ate there three times and each time was as very good. Prices were reasonable and staff enthusiastic and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, overwhelmed staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tried the Kaibo beach bar today. was keen on it when we arrived, with the beach and boat scene very appealing. but every stage of service was extremely slow. must have been 45 min to get simple bar food after our order, which was problematic itself. food was ok bar food, about what we expected, but the wait was far worse than we expected, and impacted our trip put to the North side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a perfect spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a great location and idyllic spot for a beach restaurant. We visited three times during the course of a week and enjoyed every meal. The Tuesday night BBQ was fun also. The food was very good especially the chowder and seafood ceviche. Best part of the trip were the cold White Tip Lagers served on ice at Kaibo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAIBO Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.