We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything at your doorstep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat at Rum Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Side
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat at Rum Point
Save
You added The Retreat at Rum Point to your Saves list
16 Sand Point Road | PO BOX 46, North Side KY1-1102, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Everything at your doorstep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've thoroughly enjoyed both our stays at The Retreat. Our family has two introverts and two extroverts...the beautiful thing about this spot is it caters to all types of vacationers!

The accommodations are among the best that I've seen. Clean, large, quiet, well-equipped and right on the beautiful beach. BBQs are available, there are plenty of beach chairs and quiet spots to sit, and the pool is really great.

If you're craving a bit more action, just duck next door to Rum Point, where there are many water sport options, yummy food, killer Mud Slides and plenty of people watching. You can beach walk your heart out, play beach volleyball or sleep in a hammock. Things get much quieter after 5pm when the cruise ship visitors go home, but if you want a bit of nightlife, you can head to Kaibo or do the hour drive into Georgetown.

If I had a bucket of money to spend, I'd probably spend it on a condo at The Retreat - in all my travels, this spot feels most like happy home. Until that happens ;-), we'll continue to squeeze in a trip every year or so - it really is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Located on the North shore of the island just adjacent to the public beach at Rum Point, the Retreat at Rum Point is a very nice condominium complex with a small private beach and a swimming pool. Our family of three couples and one granddaughter stayed in one two bedroom unit (#23) and one one bedroom unit (#13). Both units were well appointed with fully equipped kitchens, cable TVs, and comfortable beds. Unit #23 was on the first floor with a screened porch that opened to access the beach just a few steps away. This unit had a king size bed in one bedroom and two twin beds in the other. Unit #13 was a third floor unit with a king size bed and a screened balcony that provided nice views of the ocean. The beach is sandy with alternate spots of seaweed and sand near shore and outcroppings of shallow coral further out. The water is very shallow for perhaps 150 feet from shore where it becomes deeper but still relatively shallow. Snorkeling is good all around the area beyond the really shallow area, especially to the right of the sandy beach. There is a lot of coral along the shore to the right of the sandy beach, but it is possible to find a sandy spot or two for entry into the water from there for access to the better snorkeling areas. For strong swimmers, a nice snorkel swim is to walk east down the beach from the condos, avoiding all the trash that has washed up on the unmaintained beaches, to the beach at Sea Lodges Beach Cottages (less than half a mile), then swim out to the reef, about 300 yards, and then snorkel along the reef back to the Rum Point area. Lots of good snorkeling along here even if you do not go all the way to the reef.

The public beach at Rum Point next door has a very nice, but very expensive, restaurant called the Rum Point Club and a lesser expensive outdoor bar and grill called the Wreck. While it is possible to walk the short distance along the beach from the condominiums to the public beach area and the bar/restaurant, the area can be very crowed and busy when cruise ship passengers descend on it. We arrived on a Monday afternoon, and the area was mobbed but not too bad the rest of the week. Be aware that the Wreck Bar & Grill, while providing very tasty, though expensive, cocktails and good food at a relatively reasonable price for Grand Cayman, will automatically add a gratuity of 15%, no matter how small the group or how many drinks are ordered. One Caybrew beer for $5.00 Cayman ($6.25 US) becomes C 5.75 ($7.19 US). A second option for food and drink located about a mile down Water Cay road is the Kiabo Yacht Club with a nice indoor restaurant (more expensive) on the second floor and a less expensive outdoor bar and grill on the ground floor.

Just beyond the Kiabo is Starfish Point, a nice area where starfish seem to always be present.

All in all, the condominium buildings and grounds are well maintained, well appointed, and located in one of the most beautiful spots on the island. Highly recommended if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Seven Mile beach.

Room Tip: All units are not beach front but most have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina K, Owner at The Retreat at Rum Point, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you! We look forward to having you stay again in unit 23! We appreciate your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent five nights in Condo 23 and loved, loved, loved it! Beautiful water, private beach, with restaurants and activities within walking distance ... this place has it all! We experienced great snorkeling here as well - I saw a few yellow rays. For best experience, enter the water on the northeast side of the beach and let the current take you down to Rum Point.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you want the Daytona Beach, crowed, americanized feel, then go a head and stay on 7 mile beach. If you want the relaxing, private beach, away from the crowds, Stay here. The prices for a week beat any of the hotels. Yes its a drive, but its a very nice drive along the south coast, up the middle and down the north coast.

Our condo the past stay over looked the north shore but there are other condos that over look the point looking northwest into the bay. The private beach is great. No crowds, but if you want to see the crowds, just a little walk down the path and you are at a beach resort with bar (great drinks).

If you want a really nice relaxing feel on a relaxing vacation, don't let the drive take you away from this place.

Room Tip: Just ask Gigi what you want to look at, Northwest condos over look the point which you can see the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This will be year number five at the Retreat at Rum Point!!! So needless to say we love the area! The Retreat is tucked around the corner from Rum Point and is very private but you just have to walk a few feet to Rum Point to get a cool Rum punch or a tasty lunch.Also great restaurant for dinner!!! We love the relaxing beach away from the crowds that is shallow and you can snorkel right off the beach,Great place for young kids as it is calm ans shallow. You will need to rent a car and driving on the left isn't to bad we just don't like the round a bouts!! But only two before you get to Rum point. Hurleys is the best grocery store for food.find vivine's for lunch it is one of the best places for lunch on the island ( grouper) besides Over the Edge.I could go on and on I mean George Town is nice to see once but to get the real feel of the Island you must tour around!!!! Last You Must go visit Nina at Beach Bubbles in Bodden Town!! If you like to being gifts back to family Nina makes the most wonderful soaps all homemade on the island!as we'll of lotions and other gifts that are not expensive believe me my friends now beg me to bring them some!!! As I write this I amd looking forward to next week.we will be on our way to Grand Cayman for a total of over 4 weeks!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina K, Owner at The Retreat at Rum Point, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the nice review! We can't wait to have you stay again this year! We appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Beautiful unit, had inside hot tub and included its own kayak. Some complained about the cab fare-easy fix, rent a car, cost us around 200 for the week and we had the freedom to travel the whole island. Found a Costco type supermarket and saved big on our food for the week. Beach was amazing and having a lagoon in your back yard was epic. Actually traveled in 2011 but forgot to submit review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Retreat at Rum Point was everything we had been told it was and much more, it delivered the good and we want to thank Gigi at the management company. The unit was fine, could use some TLC but the location at Rum Point was terrific for our needs.
The Grand Caymans is now our #1 vacation spot for the Caribbean but be ready for the price shock, EXPENSIVE, the local currency exchange rate to the U.S. dollar is not friendly, @US $.80.
Depending on your budget, the in season may not be the best time to visit (December to mid-April). Good restaurants and other activities are abundant, this is not just for scuba enthusiasts (but it is known for that activity, as well).

Room Tip: We suggest that you determine what is most important to you, view, amenities, etc., for us it was vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat at Rum Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Rum Point

Address: 16 Sand Point Road | PO BOX 46, North Side KY1-1102, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > North Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious condominiums in a tranquil setting. Situated on a sandy peninsula, our well-appointed one, two and three bedroom condominiums are all oceanfront. Screened in private balconies offer a panoramic view of the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. Each unit contains fully equipped kitchens including dishwashers, washer, dryers, microwaves, cable TV, and central air-conditioning and ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Rum Point Hotel Grand Cayman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat at Rum Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.