We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant

Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant
North Sound Beach and Marina 585 Water Cay Road, North Side KY1-1107, Grand Cayman
+1 (345) 9479975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in North Side
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Upstairs at Kaibo is renowned for Chef Laurence’s consistently excellent Michelin star standard and modern European techniques, using local and Caribbean ingredients, to create a masterpiece of a menu. The scenic view overlooking the tranquil North Sound is delightful, and the Rare Rum Lounge is decadently relaxed.
Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved KAIBO Upstairs! The food, atmosphere, view, and service were all top notch. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Despite the many positive reviews, I had a semi preconceived notion that this place might not live up to its billing.

I was Wrong! Pork app 3 ways (pulled spring roll, pork belly, cracklings) was great. Duck confit app was slightly dry but very flavorful and the accompiaments were fresh. The grouper for me and my lady rounded out a really pleasant meal.

Service was slow and slightly awkward, but food was very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had been anticipating the tasting menu at Kaibo Upstairs months before we arrived on Grand Cayman - we were not disappointed.

We ordered mixed drinks from the bar and they were delightful. The Cayman Lemonade was a favorite in our group. The strawberry and raspberry daiquiris were also perfectly blended and invigorating.

Our first course began with Corn Soup. It was absolutely scrumptious. The soup was sweet and creamy with kernels of corn that tasted fresh off the cob. We would have been blissfully happy eating a large bowl of this spectacular soup, but it served its purpose by making us crave the next course.

The Corn Soup was followed by an Onion Tart. It was a wonderful balance of sweet onion, gratinated goats cheese, arugula salad with hazelnut dressing. It was masterfully prepared. The salad was light and refreshing. It rested on a perfectly baked tart that was topped with incredibly sweet caramelized onions. Delicious!

Grouper was the next course (baked grouper, cashew nut and lime leaf crust, bok choy, pink ginger veloute and fragrant rice). My wife has always avoided seafood. However, she tried the grouper and liked it - but not enough to finish it. I was more than happy to take her portion. The bed of fragrant rice under the grouper was also first-rate.

The next course was highly anticipated by my wife (beef - Certified Blank Angus Beef Entrecote, asparagus, pearl onions, roast beef jus and duck fat roasted potatoes). The beef was divine. It was expertly sliced, perfectly seasoned and flawlessly fired. It was moist and tender with a flavor that cannot be adequately described. The beef was accentuated by vegetables that were also perfectly prepared and savory.

Our dessert course was a Valrhona Chocolate pot with vanilla mousse on a sable biscuit. It was incredibly light, sweet and decadently delicious. It was the perfect end to an ultimate meal.

This was our most expensive meal during our stay on Grand Cayman. However, it was absolutely, positively worth every penny. It was more than a meal - it was a complete experience that was expertly navigated by a team of culinary superstars and attentive staff. We were acutely aware that we were sampling world-class cuisine. Whether you consider yourself a gourmet or a foodie, I hope that you can have the same phenomenal experience that we had at Kaibo Upstairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome restaurant. The atmosphere is something out of a Hemingway book and the food and drinks are top notch. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice dinner and scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed on this side of the island and enjoyed a tasting dinner at Kaibo Upstairs. Michelle and others were extremely friendly and the view is pretty. There are not many restaurants in the area and it was our favorite. Much better than the food downstairs also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.