We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly only a one night for return visit July 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Souvigne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Souvigne
3 impasse La Fontaine | Forges, Nr Argentat, 19380 Forges, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Forges B&B and Inns
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sadly only a one night for return visit July 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We first visited Jackie and Ian 5 years ago on the night of Ian's 65th birthday and they gave us a superb evening meal to celebrate.
This year we were travelling with some friends and found we were going to be going along the same route, so emailed to see if this time all four of us could stay and have a meal.
So we arrived and had the same wonderful hospitatility we had enjoyed before, sitting first in the evening sun on their patio, whilst enjoying an aperitif, and later having been joined by another couple who were staying, eat otside under the loggia.
After another wonderful meal and delicious wines, all very carefully thought about to go with the meal, we retired to our respective extremely comfortable rooms which had been recently refurbished.
It was a shame it was ony for one night, but it was a real pleasure from beginning to end.

Jenny and John

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wash DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We are well acquainted with La Souvigne having stayed there multiple times over a 7 year span. Ian and Jacquie are ageless and super hosts, guests are very well taken care of. We recommend this Gite and this area to all who want to escape the maddening crowd. Evidence of this recommendation is that we shall return as long as Ian stays Overt!
Bob and Kathy Appenzeller

Room Tip: Downstairs is the biggest and best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a fantastic 10 days,great repartee wonderful food and a laugh from start to finish.
We will be back sometime to enjoy the home from home atmosphere.
Colin & Mary

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

You are guaranteed lively conversations and a wonderful ambience and welcome. Ians' cooking is to die for. They also know the area intimately and can recommend places to visit, etc.

John and Jean Brace

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton on Trent Nottinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

the other reviews have said it all!! We just wanted to add our thanks for yet another wonderful stay - great hosts - good company - superb food - comfortable roooms - excellent value

will be back to stay longer - Andrew, Christopher, Frances & Hilary Jackson

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying with Ian & Jacquie for four nights (we had booked for two and stayed for four!). Their B&B was the best value accommodation we encountered in four weeks travelling France. Everything was perfect, from the rooms to the helpfulness of Ian & Jacquie and their evening meals were a wonderful experience!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IaninFrance, Owner at La Souvigne, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review and hope very much that if you decide to visit Europe again, you include us on your itinerary. We enjoyed your visit very much. But next time, please don't leave your camera on the train, it's bad for our nerves (they got it back).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Over the last 5 years have stayed overnight on each of my Calais/Barcelona trips with a classic car. Found first in Alastair Sawday and never regreted, since staying at least once if not twice in these years, only missed due to being full, and they kindly organised alternate accomodation. Wonderfull hosts, wonderful food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IaninFrance, Owner at La Souvigne, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thanks very much Keskom for your comments. Even if we tease you rotten, we do very much enjoy your visits. But we would love to know what we could do to improve your sleep quality and our service. If it is our power we will do it, though we can't stop the Angelus ringing at 7 in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Souvigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Souvigne

Address: 3 impasse La Fontaine | Forges, Nr Argentat, 19380 Forges, France
Location: France > Limousin > Correze > Forges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Forges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La souvigne ("best of the best” Guide Routard, 3/20 best B&B in France 2011 The Times) is a cleverly restored quiet stone-built cottage at the edge of the village with excellent access to main roads. All rooms have private en-suite facilities and are cozily decorated with wall-to-wall carpeting and electric heating. Ex-chef & wine consultant Ian cooks 5 course meals normally only available on the day of arrival and when reserved in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Souvigne France/Forges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Souvigne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Souvigne to your Saves list