We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch so far this year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Kitchen

The Castle Kitchen
Castle Street, Nunney, Frome BA11 4NJ, England
+(44)01373 837406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Nunney
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best lunch so far this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Really great food, imaginative vegetarian menu and cake that you'll dream about for days to come. Will I be back? Absolutely!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They even coped with a Vegan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

On our way through Somerset with Americns to show them a 14century castle with a moat, we find a homely little restaurant which is friendly and obliging . They can present a vegan and vegetarian lunch and serve the rest of us hungry travellers!
Not at speed but with a smile. We will certainly have it on the tour list.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The setting is perfect - a lovely little cafe/restaurant in a gorgeous village. This was our first visit, and a bit of a mixed one. Lunch was very good, with huge portions of very fresh food. The crab sandwich was the biggest I've seen!
However our experience was marred by the total lack of welcome from any of the staff. Despite it being quiet there were no smiles or even a proper greeting... not what you'd expect from a small family business, and very disappointing.
Hopefully next time the staff will be in a better mood.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really enjoyed our lunch of crab sandwich and pork pie ploughman's. The crab was fresh and delicious. The ploughman's was immense, loved it- came with a slab of pork pie, healthy hunk of cheese, potato salad (with capers), ham, pickled onion, branston style pickle, bread, salad with balsamic dressing. Just really nice to go somewhere where each ingredient is quality and is presented like it was made with pride.

Also kudos for sourcing some great coffee from a local bean roaster. Delicious all round.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in a pretty village!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Decided to make a stop at Nunney as it was such a pretty village and whilst there stopped for something to eat and drink in The Castle Kitchen. The food was all home made and beautifully presented. The portions so generous that I had to ask for a 'doggy bag'. I will definitely be stopping again on my way back home from my holiday in Devon and highly recommend anybody travelling through Nunney or nearby to make this part of your visit. A wonderful, surprising find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Castle Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.