We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bonne cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Resort - Passikudah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amethyst Resort - Passikudah to your Saves list
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coconut Cultivation Development Board Rd, Passikudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
gennes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“bonne cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

it does not look very beautiful those little houses, it is not a great architecture, but the room was ok and the swimmingpool also. We were only three huests on sunday evening and of course we had no buffet. But what a surprise! A good cuisine specially the fish and a beautiful decoration! It was raining and there was nobody on the almost clean beach! What else to do than to eat?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Bernard J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you had a pleasant holiday at the hotel and shall pass on your comments and feedback to the rest of the staff. Currently, although Passikudah is mostly famous for its beach, there are lots of activities that can be arranged like snorkelling, water sports, etc., There is also the possibility of doing archaeological/wildlife excursions in the areas nearby like Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and Minneriya. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon and maybe we can arrange some of these for you. We would love to have you!

Sincere regards,
Fazeeha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed during the Long weekend in November 2012. We booked 4 rooms. It was indeed fantastic... The rooms were Superb!!! the atmosphere was excellent... the pool together with the beach coupled was such a serence feeling. The staff was very helpful and assisted us in every way possible. However we had limited seafood for the meals... we expected more considering that sea food was freely available.All in all... it was a superb place and Highly enjoyed it!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Anuki,

Thanks so much for the very kind review of the hotel! We're so happy you had a nice stay. Thank you for taking the time out to recommend us and we do hope we will see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Fazeeha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Awesome good food!, friendly cooperative staff! And excellent room service! Best place to go for a holiday!! Although the prices seem a bit too much...like the christmas dinner..but its acceptable rate... thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bernard J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you had a pleasant holiday at the hotel and shall pass on your comments and feedback to the rest of the staff. Currently, although Passikudah is mostly famous for its beach, there are lots of activities that can be arranged like snorkelling, water sports, etc., There is also the possibility of doing archaeological/wildlife excursions in the areas nearby like Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and Minneriya. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon and maybe we can arrange some of these for you. We would love to have you!

Sincere regards,
Fazeeha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our stay was spoiled by the heavy rain in December and the rooms were not built to protect the rain water getting into the rooms. The rooms were flooded most of the time during our stay.
The secutity is very poor as a camera from our room was stolen as well as $450 cash from another room was stolen. The staff member who took the money was arrested by the police and the money was recoverd but not the camera. We had lot of memorable photos in the camera and very dissapointed. I will not reccomend this hotel unless they improve on the security aspect. As being a resort, guests can not carry their valuables all the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Benjamin,

This is to address your concerns expressed in the review. Firstly, we apologize for the extreme weather conditions causing inconveniences to the guests during their stay. The management is taking all necessary measures to resolve these issues as early as possible. With regards to your camera being lost, we are indeed sorry that it happened, but I understand that the hotel staff did try to assist you and you had admittedly mentioned that you were not completely sure of where you had left it either, and that you were partly responsible for it being misplaced. The guest whose money was stolen was compensated and duly apologized to. That being said, we do have Electronic Safes in all the rooms for the precise reason that valuables can be kept safe. It is unfortunate that guests don’t make use of the facility, as it would avoid many such problems. It’s very hard to predict how and when things would get lost/stolen unfortunately, so we try our best to take the required precautions. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and will take much stricter measures to ensure the facilities provided for safekeeping of valuables is used appropriately, in the hope that such issues may not arise in future.

Thanking you,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked 18 Rooms and 40 guests stayed for 3 days. The Location is fantastic. Food, Service, location, Buffet, Bar - all were fantastic. Something has to be done to avoid heavy rain water spoiling the whole Common area, rooms etc. Very good reception. Prompt service. Very helpful Staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Ravi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are indeed glad that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay. We are taking all necessary measures to deal with the drastic weather conditions that the East seems to be facing these days and assure you that your recommendations will be taken into consideration. Again, we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and I hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Thanking you,
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The check in was smooth. staff were very friendly. Its a very newly build hotel. Rooms were big simple and clean. Bathrooms were large too. overall, rooms and bathrooms could have a little more decor and color. Best thing about the room was that beach was just next door and you could sit on the porch and sip tea while listening to waves. It was very sunny outside and there was no shade. Pool was large and very nice. Food wise, we were very satisfied. Lunch was delicious with a large variety to choose from. salad buffet was exceptional. Dinner was ok, but was not up to the standards but crab curry was mouthwatering. Breakfast was good. Sea and the beach was really clean and very relaxing. Expect lots of seafood. Its a very nice place to go and relax with friends and family and very good value for money. We all had a really nice time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the sea wing have a very good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Methmi,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We are so glad that the holiday was to your liking. We appreciate the detail included in the review which provides a good insight to what we have to offer. Do please visit us again soon! Thank you and we look forward to having you once again at Amethyst Resort!

Thanking you,
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Located on the virgin beach of Passikudah, Amethyst Resort is ideal for those who love sun, sea and sand. Sea has no waves at all and safe for the kids. Resort is in a serene atmosphere with a fresh water stream flowing through the premises. Pool is vast and clean. Rooms are pretty up-scale and the service is excellent. Food is good too, but needs improvement. No animated activity. Ideal for family leisure trips.

Room Tip: If the on-line booking systems say 'no available rooms', call them & you'll still ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sithira,

Thank you for taking time out to review the hotel. We are glad that you seemed to enjoy your holiday. Your comments and suggestions have been noted and we will take all necessary measures to constantly improve our service. Thank you for all the positive and helpful comments. Please visit us again soon. We would love to have you at Amethyst Resort!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amethyst Resort - Passikudah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Resort - Passikudah

Address: Coconut Cultivation Development Board Rd, Passikudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Resort - Passikudah 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The undisturbed, pristine coastline, with golden sands and clear blue waters form the beautiful region of Passikudah. Google Maps calls it one the prettiest beaches in the world. Situated about 28km North of Batticaloa town, in the Batticaloa District, of the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka, Passikudah is an approximate 5 hour journey from the Capital, Colombo. The Bay of Passikudah is a crescent-moon shaped inlet of shallow water. The bay is flat and sandy; and provides a very soothing effect on the feet. Its panoramic views and clear, cool waters, ideal for swimming has made it a much adored destination by holiday makers. The amazing tranquility of the beach lends itself beautifully for moments of blissful solitude, with gentle waters lapping at your feet. For more adventurous vacationers, the 4km-long wide and sunny beach provides a great location for bathing, windsurfing and water skiing. Nature lovers will be pleased to find that the bay comprises of a shallow fringing coral reef towards the outer bay with scattered coral communities within. A hotel by the ocean’s edge, a hotel by the banks of a rippling stream, a hotel amidst lush tropical greenery and mangroves… Amethyst resort encompasses all these comforts rolled into one, to offer you the perfect retreat. Immaculate, untouched beaches bordering the beautiful Bay of Passikudha provide the setting for this luxurious holiday destination we call Amethyst resort. Set on 10 acres of the bay, this beautiful coastal gem is a 97 room hotel, facing possibly the most beautiful beaches the island has to offer. Amethyst resort’s uniqueness is emphasized by a beautiful flowing stream running through it; adorned with lush greenery and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amethyst Resort - Passikudah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.