We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax after tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalkudah
bergamo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“relax after tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we spent six nights at this resort, staff very friendly and professional.
Food was delicious and varied every day fish. General manager was veort ry nice and attentive to the comfort of the guest. we had a little problem with our room and immediately we had a new room with a view of the bay! very confortable rooms quite spacious and confortable bathroom.
long beach and wild, unfortunately the wind did'nt give us the chance to snorkel.
ideal place for relax after the tour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    87
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
124
142
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meisterschwanden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

After a 'pre-season' Tour of Sri Lanka, we stayed 7 nights in this wonderful resort in half-board ...
This resort is three years old and the first one constructed after the end of 'war'.
Minor potential improvements were communicated to the management but if I could, I would give SIX POINTS at least.
Management training policy is exceptionally good and performant with numerous young fellows ready to learn and customer oriented.
Superb welcoming and constant receptionist support all the time.
Room cleaning and preparation twice a day with artistic creativity.
Cleaned beach and swimming pool daily.
Immediate technician support on request.
Exceptional Spa Quality. Only manicure/pedicure missing.
Breakfast and Diner Buffet are diversified and each day different with an extended selection of drinks and wines.
For sure we will come back as we still have a part of Sri Lanka to visit ;-)
To the WHOLE TEAM, Thank You again so much as we felt YOUR hospitality as being welcomed home by family members ...

Room Tip: ``All rooms are watching the Indian Ocean but we enjoyed the 12A.``
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Only a two day stay whilst touring Sri Lanka but just superb from the welcome, efficiency of all the staff, to the sad farewell.

The contemporary minimalist rooms with huge suite bathroom and shower are wonderfully expansive, the toiletries and towels supplied luxurious and the most comfortable bed in Sri Lanka.

The sea was warm, the pool perfect and the buffet breakfasts and dinners out of this world. The boat bar was fun and the beer not overpriced for the captive market.

Particular thanks to Samith for sharing the love of his country and encylopaedic knowledge of Sri Lankan cricket. What a star, but then from chefs and waiters to room boys they all were.

Room Tip: Hire a tuktuk (through reception) for an hour or two and visit the friendly local village to meet S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even though the price is too high, this place is the true value for the money. You will forget everything about the daily routine. You can always enjoy the warm, salty and cheerful sea breeze, and can enjoy the spicy sea food. What else do you want????

Room Tip: There will be a slight delay when checkin. It s better if you can give a call about one hour before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Booked a loft room, August 2013, for two nights direct with hotel which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenage children, but after a long wait on arrival we were up graded to a deluxe ocean facing room with private plunge pool and sauna. The whole ambience of this hotel is relaxing quite trendy friendly helpful staff, really nice food, free early morning yoga sessions with a charming and very flexible young lady. Nice walks up the beach past the growing skeletons of several other hotels being built. This was our bit of luxury on a budget tour of sri Lanka and it really fits the bill. The only bad bit is the horrid games room. Oh, and a problem with the bill on departure, where they tried to charge more than we had been quoted, ie.extra for our older son, a few phone calls to head office later, the manager agreed with us that we were right and head office was wrong, and the whole thing was sorted. We were enjoying the luxury so much though, that we lingered too long and missed the last bus to Arugum bay, and had to finish the last little bit of the journey by tuk tuk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Maalu Maalu simply in English Fish Fish. 300 kms from Colombo you can find this paradise call Maalu Maalu. This is the first hotel build after 30 years of war in east cost of sri Lanka. Me and my wife went maalu maalu for our honeymoon. I have nothing to say for bad side, rooms- hotel staff- food :) - pool- view awesome. Good luck for evening.... cheers!!!
P.S- you can see sun rise to Sri Lanka around 6 to 6.30 am

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We spent two weeks trying to contact Maalu Maalu by email and 3 phone numbers to book our wedding there. After 10 days of trying from both our emails we got the same copy and pasted reply which we replied to immediately. And never heard anymore. And to think we wanted to hold our wedding day there!! Why would anyone make the 6 hour transfer from Colombo?! Worst customer service I've ever come across.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjaya B, Manager at Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Nikki,

Thank you for your inquiry and interest shown in having your wedding at Maalu Maalu Resorts & Spas.

I’m extremely sorry that we couldn't get back to you on a timely manner and for the inconvenience this has caused.
We were experiencing an unexpected volume of inquiries via phone and mail which resulted in long queues that may have been the reason in you not-getting through to our numbers.

I don’t believe you have stayed in our resort as stated in this site. Nevertheless our team has got back to you on your personal email and we hope to have you in our hotel soon to experience our exotic resort and unique service to make your big day memorable.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Address: Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maalu Maalu our beach hotel is awaiting you with its services in the beautiful environment of Pasikudha. The hotel offers comfortable 32 Deluxe rooms, 04 Interconnecting Chalets, 08 Rooms with Attics. A swimming pool, a sauna, a massage tub and further services are available for our hotel guests who wish to relax and indulge in Ayurvedic treatments. You can feel endlessly rolling waves reflecting the blue of the sky and tipped with frothy whiteness fill the air with a salty haze that sticks to the skin and fills the ears with sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalu Maalu Resort And Spas
Maalu Maalu Hotel Kalkudah
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.