We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve at Maalu Maalu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalkudah
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at Maalu Maalu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at Maalu Maalu with kids, family and friends. The staff were very nice and the facility had all comforts for kids and adults. The beach was nice and safe for kids to swim in. The foods was excellent with a simple but fresh and tasty variety. The Ayruvdic Spa is a must - so relaxing!

It is definitely a place that you would want to retun to.

Room Tip: If with kids, take the room with the attic that has two beds for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    87
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
124
142
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We took seven rooms to enjoy the ambiance, and spent 3 days in Pasikudah. We had received negative responses about the food and were very surprised to find the food fresh, delicious and with great variety. Some had told us that Maalu-Maalu, despite its name, did not serve sea food. Our experience was different....we had plenty of crab, prawns and fish.
We were even able to get dishes that were not available on the buffet.

Special mention must be made of the service all of us experienced. It was exceptional. From the front desk to the stewards....they treated us like royalty! We were treated with genuine warmth and bright smiles. They even obliged with fresh palmyrah toddy the following morning, in response to a request from a member of our group.

Negatives: The reception area must be enlarged and a canopy constructed at the entrance so that guests would not get wet during rainy weather. Similarly, the narrow area between the Restaurant and Bar should be covered with perhaps a polycarbonate shelter.

Room Tip: The cabana style upper floor rooms provides an awesome view and a super breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with a group of friends. Would rate as one of the best beach hotel in Sri Lanka. The setting was amazing, eco-friendly (hotel blended with the palm trees and environment, unlike the structures that were coming up... other new hotels), rooms were clean, comfortable with a large bathroom. All/most rooms had the ocean view unlike other hotels. The service was great and the staff was always with a smile. Food too was great with western and sri lankan flair.

I would go back again !

Room Tip: Room near a sea and a level up had a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is the first government financed and run hotel to open on the east coast after the end of the war. Visually from the brochure and web site, it looks OK but in reality is not. Not only does it take 8 hours to get to by road from Colombo airport (so factor in a night's hotel expense on route if you can't bear such a long and tortuous journey), but the area is one vast building site. Scores of hotels are semi constructed and in very close proximity to each other around this bay, including next doorto Maalu Maalu. Corals are being smashed up in the bay (and used as hard core foundations which is scandalous) presumably to give a smoother foot fall when swimming. The rainey season here is November to March. I was at the hotel end November 2011. There were only 2 rooms booked by 8 Sri Lankans, no foreigners. Maalu Maalu has 40 palm leaf cabana type apartments which, even after 6 months from opening, are showing signs of wear. It will be interesting to see the state of this place after the first monsoon has finished. The rooms are basic Sri Lankan style but with an added flat screen TV. The best front line apartment with sea view is US$324 per night for 2 persons, or US $420 if 3 persons: half board. There is nowhere else to eat in the area so you are committed to eating dinner here too at US $27 each person, or US$30 if "BBQ style" meal. Factor in 10% service charge and 12% VAT on top. There is nothing to do in the area except explore the building sites all around you. The sea is rough so there is a large swimming pool to compensate. Take lots of books as none are available and hope the TV works ! On no account order a cappuccino as this conists of a sachet of coffee and creamer that has had a quick whip with a fork and will set you back a staggering Rs300 (for a 10cent sachet of coffee). As the new hotels will provide 2000 beds (eventually), one wonders just how awful this area will be. A once magical bay, now being destroyed by insensitive over development for which there will be no tourists happy to climb off a 10 our flight and drive 8 hours to get to. Even if and when the new airport at Hambantota opens, the drive will still be tortuous. My advice is stick to the south coast of Sri Lanka. The newly opened southern express highway means it is just one hour's drive from Colombo, whereas it used to take 5 hours. Ths south coast has the infrastructure - it will be years before the east coast does.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Well, we had high expectations for Maalu Maalu after looking at the website and also reading some reviews published earlier, but we were truly disappointed and felt it was not worth the money at all.

To make matters worse we stayed at a Ocean Suite which in our opinion was far below the standard of even a standard room in other comparable hotels.

Some of the positives though:

The beach - The beach was nice and even though it was monsoon time it was lovely

The pool - Was also lovely with perfect setting, temperature and well maintained

The bathroom - Very spacious and had most of the amenities

Local food - The local stuff were quite nice and tasty


Negatives:

Service - Still a long way behind in comparison to other comparable hotels around Srilanka

Rooms - Smaller than what you would expect from a standard suite and no privacy at all with the noise from other close by rooms always heard specially since the rooms are located very close by.

Private pool - Not so private being shared with four suites that are located around the pool and not very inviting either. Noted that there were no steps to get down or get up and it was just a tank filled with water. If someone from other suites are using the pool you basically have people swimming and shouting right next to your walls less than 2 meters distance

Food - Apart from the local varieties, the food was disappointing in general and sometimes even lacked the name cards and you could only guess what the food was as there were not enough staff around the restaurant area either.

Cleanliness - Towels were not clean and had signs of being used before and not cleaned well

Location - The whole surrounding is a big construction yard and was such an eye sore ruining the beauty of the famous Passikuda beach. Perhaps once they are done with it will be better. Also the access roads were in terrible condition more suitable for 4x4 off road action. These though are not in control of the hotel.

All in all. we would not recommend this hotel at present specially the suites. Considering the price you pay you can have a much more enjoyable stay elsewhere in Srilanka. But the Passikuda beach was superb and can be highly recommended. Avoid Maalu Maalu though.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I watched last reviews and I cannot believe: people are surprised that now, in main monsoon area on the east, is sea not clean? Dead turtles - well if turtle´s dying waves can move her out of sea. And waves ARE during monsoon season normally. All clever tourists visiting Sri Lanka know the only good time (for sea) to visit east is cca MAR-OCT. Me and my wife stayed in Maalu Maalu full week this July and sea was magnifique, the beach too! Reg. hotel, there´s a long way to go and to be as high-class hotel, someday. But there are nice rooms, splendid pool, excellent food (we used 7 days!) and staff nice as never in Sri Lanka. Journey too long? Let´s make one night in the middle of island - Dambulla or Kandy. What a nice combination!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

We were told the area and beaches were worth the 7+hour journey from Colombo, sadly this wasn't the case, the beach was filthy overall and there was a brown scum floating on the water, as previous reviewers have mentioned it was like a waste disposal place!!!
The prices were so expensive, more than any other hotels and we stayed in 6hotels over our 3 week holiday, there is a huge building site literally a stones throw away where there is construction of unto 4 large luxury hotels, so imagine that noise and waste

Hotel staff were very attentive and service was great. Though there is no regular staff at the pool or outside bar. Pool lovely and clean beautiful setting, shame about the filthy beach. Can't believe there were dead turtles found there though I'm not surprised!!

Def not worth the 7hour trip from Colombo considering the beautiful places there are nearer Colombo, north and south. I feel quite violated considering the price we paid!!!!! Will never go there again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Address: Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maalu Maalu our beach hotel is awaiting you with its services in the beautiful environment of Pasikudha. The hotel offers comfortable 32 Deluxe rooms, 04 Interconnecting Chalets, 08 Rooms with Attics. A swimming pool, a sauna, a massage tub and further services are available for our hotel guests who wish to relax and indulge in Ayurvedic treatments. You can feel endlessly rolling waves reflecting the blue of the sky and tipped with frothy whiteness fill the air with a salty haze that sticks to the skin and fills the ears with sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalu Maalu Resort And Spas
Maalu Maalu Hotel Kalkudah
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.