We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mavromichalai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mavromichalai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mavromichalai Hotel
Limeni | Mani, Lakonia, Limeni 236 62 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Limeni
Boston MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our room was cosy and quiet. The window behind the bed (overlooking the sea) let in light for reading. Bathroom was small but had the necessary amenities. Breakfast was simple. Overall we had a good stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
GREECE&CYPRUS
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
1,405 helpful votes 1,405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I came here for a drink only and for some hours, but I plan to visit soon and spend at least two or three nights here. It is about an 18th century tower house which has been fully restored with some magical views. Some of the rooms sit on top of the lapping waves in a small harbour with crystal waters. The sublime aesthetic beauty of the interior decor of this beautiful 4* hotel is evident. The location is unique and it seems as if it rises from the turquoise crystal clear waters of Mani’s finest bay.
I was amazed when I went inside. It seems like a museum and it is surely a building of much history which I will write about very soon when I return here again. Indeed after seeing some photos of the inside décor and the rooms I can say that it truly combines the elegant simplicity of the surroundings. What a wonderful place to be. It surely recaptures something lost in the modern world of today.
I long to be back and of course I will share a more detailed review of not only the hotel but the surround area as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

A beautiful, luxurious hotel in a pretty village. However, readers should be aware that, at least at the time of our visit, no one on staff spoke any language other than Greek. Limeni is very expensive, with rooms at this hotel ranging from 120-200 Euros. I wish that we had known about some of the other lodging nearby, such as in Italo. Incidentally, the hotel is easily confused with another, Pyrgos Mavromichalai, in the same village. If you visit this area, the Dirou Caves are truly spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

The location is great, the value for money is great, the room and everything inside perfect, the service also. But the breakfast was very poor, they charge if you ask for a cappuccino 4 euros and the cappuccino was really bad.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel is excellent. It delivers exactly what it promises (have a look at its web site). There is only a small drawback for tall people (above 190 cm): They should definitely avoid the cellar-like room!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Mavromichalai is an actual tower-house from the 18th century that has been restored and turned into a luxury boutique hotel.

The room is literally by the sea and when you open your window you can hear the soothing sound of the waves.

The rooms are expertly decorated, the bed is superb and linen/towels are designer-made brands. The breakfast is home-made (excellent mini-dakos) and served in the breakfast area, where you also have a nice view of the bay. The staff are both very friendly and super professional and will make everything to make the experience a memorable one!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mavromichalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavromichalai Hotel

Address: Limeni | Mani, Lakonia, Limeni 236 62 , Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Limeni
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Limeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mavromichalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mavromichalai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.