We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transylvania on a cliff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow's Nest

Swallow's Nest
Gaspra 98300, Ukraine
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Gaspra
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Transylvania on a cliff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stunning location. Cliff top Castle with apocryphal stories of how & why it was built by a Russian Tsar gor his Fiance who "Flew the Nest" before it was finished??
Great location. Better to see it from a neighbouring hillside where you get panoramic views of it, rather than from it (not much else to see from it bar cliffs and sea!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirovohrad, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you visit Crimea, Swallow's nest should be on your 'must see' list. I would recommend to take a boat trip from Yalta. In this case, you will have a chance to see it from the sea side. Do not expect to see a medieval castle as many people do, it looks more like a princess house from a fairy tale. Nevertheless, it is one of the most interesting attractions in Crimea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth the Time and Effort to See the Swallows Nest and Experience this on our own!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Port of Yalta, Took tender from Pacific Princess to shore- turn left to find the Ferry to Swallows Nest - From Pier #9 in Yalta about a thirty minute ride on Ferry to Swallows nest. It is quite a sight from the water. We climbed up the stairs, quite a walk, but worth the effort to see the small medieval fantasy, like a small castle built on a rock high above the sea, very romantic; the views are spectacular.

When leaving,To get to the bus stop Climb down to the bottom about 200 steps (no elevators) and turn left to cross over the bridge then climb up the hill about 200 steps (no elevators) to the road.
Hardly any one spoke English, only Russian and Ukraine and little help with no signs in English. We eventually learned to take bus #32, #102, or #27 back to main bus terminal in Yalta. We got on bus #32 but it was packed like sardines so we got off at the first stop and then took bus #102 to the main terminal in Yalta, we drove by Livadia Palace on the way back to Yalta main bus terminal.

Eventually we learned where to get the bus #1 back to near the cruise ship terminal and the bus driver was kind enough to tell us where to get off the bus. Only local VAH currency is accepted, no Euros or American dollars are accepted. Not the friendliest place we have visited, locals not concerned at all about earning the tourists income at all. It was quite the experience and worth the time and effort to see Swallows Nest on our own.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Swallow's Nest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Took a boat ride from Yalta to swallows nest - there was a very loud crackling commentary all the way there and back - unfortunately in only in Russian/Ukranian . It would be a good idea to have headphones with different languages as plenty of tourist attractions do. The walk up to the castle was not as steep as it looked from the bottom, though one had to fight one,s way through fairly aggressive local traders. The views from the top were stunning, though the actual castle, a little disappointing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pretty little castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is strange just how small it is once you get up close. Id like to think this is what they have based all those disney castles in the cartoons on! :-)
There is abit of a walk to get up close but there is also an option to pay for a zip line across, although you would still have to walk back.
There are ladies along the path selling some interesting snacks. And inside the tiny castle is some exhibition but I did not go in to view this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swallow's Nest also viewed

Alupka, Yalta Municipality
Koreiz, Yalta Municipality
 
Livadiya, Yalta Municipality
Yalta, Yalta Municipality
 

Been to Swallow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swallow's Nest to your Saves list