We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chateau in great location above Chambery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chateau de Candie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Chateau de Candie to your Saves list
Le Chateau de Candie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Bois de Candie, 73000 Chambery, France (Formerly Homtel le Chateau de Candie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent chateau in great location above Chambery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Big room, beautifully decorated, friendly welcome and great price. Bathtub with handheld shower is a challenge if you want to avoid soaking the floor. Delicious homemade continental breakfast worth the money - no hot food. Cos we stayed in October the weather was a bit dicey and the pool was closed so can't comment on that!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
103
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed here three times now, totally satisfied with the accommodation. Staff efficient and attentive. The hotel is based on a former elegant chateau home and displays all the character you would expect. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We requested a dinner reservation when we booked our room well in advance and 2 days before we were due to arrive got an email saying dinner not possible with no clear reason why. An email that wouldn't allow a response. When I phoned they first of all said fully booked but when I queried the length of time to let us know that a different reason seemed to appear.

As restaurant the main reason for booking Candie and not a town centre hotel, this time we cancelled the room and to their credit they didn't charge us.

I do recommend more than a basic knowledge of French for a stay in this hotel - we will go back and I will be better prepared this time! Our stay in June 2012 is still memorable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau de Candie for two nights in June 2013. We were travelling with a baby back home to Germany from South-France, so we had to stop in a central region to make roadtrips bearable for our daughter. Overall our stay was superb: the hotel is really beatiful, rooms are impressive for their price and Chambéry was a surprise as a touristic destination. There are, however, two small aspects which were not perfect, although I think they do not diminish the excelence of our stay. Let me summarize these points.

-The Chateau is located in a small park with a very beautiful garden, which combines a semi-french garden with some wineyards. The building itself is quite impressive for a small castle outside Chambéry and it is perfectly well kept.

-Rooms are REALLY spatious. They are nicely decorated in traditional style, which can make dust a small problem, but it is very well kept. The rooms have HD-TV. All channels are unfortunately in french. This was no issue for us, as we are french-speakers, but can be a problem for non-french speakers who wish to stay for longer periods.

-Chambéry itself is great for an area which is generally speaking neglected outside of the ski season. The Palace of the House of Savoy, the old town and even Madame de Warrens residence (the central place of JJ Rousseaus Confessions) make up for great city tourism. The area has yet much more to offer: the Lac du Bourget has a nice beach, Annecy, trekking in the Alps. We were there for only a couple of days, but the area should be great for longer stays.

I can only identify two small cons: for once, services (breakfast and dinner mostly) are really expensive. Although breakfast is nice, with a great variety of cheeses, 20 Euro pp. is still expensive. The restaurant is also expensive, although the food and wine are of great quality. If you are there for budget, the Chateau de Candie is still a great option, but not for eating.
During our stay it was also very hot. Swimming pool was unfortunately unavailable. I guess that was just bad luck for us, but you might still want to check before you make a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Old chateau in its very nice own park. One can stop by the hotel entrance to unload the car, but then have to move the car to one of two car parking areas, the nearest the other side of the swimming pool and down some steps, but it had plenty of space, and it felt very safe!

Rooms are nicely appointed, yet not entirely practical furnishings.
Nevertheless, a pleasant and recommendable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights a pleasant suite but no hook for the shower so not easy over a bath! The room was spacious but the beams andbed posts very dusty. Breakfast was good but expensive at 25 euros each, and the evening meal beautifully presented but small portions and over priced with 3 set menus starting at 58 euros up to 90euros. A la carte starting from around 30 for a main course with puds at around 14 euros.

Lovely grounds to stroll around and very friendly staff. No tea or coffee facilities in the room either!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Chateaux de Candie in a superior room in the old building and found it a great value. With quaint vintage but certainly adequate furniture, an extremely comfortable bed and pillows, a much larger room than expected and a huge bath, the accommodations exceeded our expectations for the price, which included breakfast. The breakfast itself was fine and on par with most across Europe, however, for an establishment that boasts a fine restaurant, one might expect a hot offering other than self-boiled eggs. The fine jams, home made yogurt and freshly squeezed orange juice were excellent. From the time we arrived, the service was superb. While you can drive right to the main entry with your luggage, parking is in a lot a very short walk from the main building. As expected in early May, the pool was not yet open, but must be a nice amenity in the warmer months. The building does have a lift, which makes handling heavy luggage no problem. The Internet access speed was quite adequate. The location of the hotel is definitely in the countryside, which gives it the expected charm and quiet experience, very quiet. Some may think it a bit of a stuffy atmosphere, but it is quite what you might expect. While others have reported having difficulty locating the property, and we suspect it could be somewhat challenging, the GPS in our leased Renault directed us right to the gate. A great place to stay for a couple of nights, but the drive to the city might wear thin after that. It might be advisable to bring along some snacks. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful and pleasant stay for a reasonable price, but know that it is just what it is promoted to be, a specialty accommodation, and we found no reason prevent us from giving it a high rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chateau de Candie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Candie

Address: Rue du Bois de Candie, 73000 Chambery, France (Formerly Homtel le Chateau de Candie)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Chambery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau de Candie 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Chateau de Candie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chateau de Candie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.