We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Princes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Princes to your Saves list
Hotel des Princes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue de Boigne, FR - 73000 Chambery, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with my wife. We went to Italy for holidays and we wanted to discover this beautiful city. We booked an elegance room, and it was very comfortable, not noisy I was surprised because this hotel is in center. The breakfast is available with extra cost but it was divine, the staff were so helpful. We had a great time in this hotel and we will Come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
77
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Charming, small, older hotel. Our tour group stayed here a few nights and had few complaints,
generally. They use old-fashioned keys rather than electronic cards. Close to the center of
things, including elephant fountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks whilst working in the area. Hotels are normally like airports they are all the same but not this hotel. It's an ancient building with character, the rooms are very clean and breakfast excellent. Location is in the centre of Chambery, with many bars and restaurants nearby. I thought it might be noisy but it wasn't, perhaps as my room was at the rear of hotel? My only criticism was lack of wardrobe space, but I was there for two weeks, and didn't travel light. Free wifi which was great and a life saver.

It's a family run hotel, and the reception staff were so friendly, they remembered my name and room number every day as I came back from work. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hameln, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took the ellegance room: very good room but small. If you open the window in the evening, it can get noisy due to different bars near by.
The hotel is an ancient building with many corridors and floors: easy to get lost in it.
Excellent location downtown and near plenty of bars and restaurants.
For a weekend of sightseeing, it is definetely a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really good hotel, very nice rooms, staff friendly, ideal for an overnight stay en route to a skiing w/e in the alps Only downside was the three rooms we had all of them had a bad smell of drainage / water from the bathrooms Excellent breakfast

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the kitchens as the bin men arrive @ 6h30 and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I negotiated a week's B&B stay for January. Chambéry is a lovely medieval town with good shopping, restaurants & sights. It is close to Aix-les-Bains (& Lac du Bourget) & an hour from Annecy etc.
The hotel is very central with municipal underground parking round the corner. You may need sat nav to find your way through the one way system. Head for the elephants! The hotel is clearly also a business hotel.
Our room was a newly refurbished & adequate in every way, including WiFi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was typically French & good enough.
The hotel staff were without exception very friendly & helpful, including Jade the receptionist (& bosses daughter!) arranging restaurant reservations & offering other tourist information.
We would stay again & recommend wholly except that current profits must be so poor that we had to demand sheet changing after 3 days!
A very nice experience overall

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Princes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Princes

Address: 4 Rue de Boigne, FR - 73000 Chambery, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Chambery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Princes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Princes is located in the heart of Chambery. This ancient couvent, now renovated has been transformed into a charming hotel with cosy rooms decorated in a delightful style. The surroundings and hospitable reception awaiting you guarantee your stay with us will be a satisfying one. Our aim is to make your stay a pleasant one in a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. For parking, the hotel has access to Hotel de Ville underground parking located 30m (€ 8.50 For 24 hours) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Princes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Chambéry
Minotel Chambery
Minotel Hotel Des Princes
Chambéry Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Princes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.