We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Chambery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Chambery to your Saves list
Ibis Chambery
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100, rue Eugene Ducretet, 73000 Chambery, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here twice before, en route to Italy, but were disappointed this time with the quality of our evening meal. Perhaps that was partly my fault because I asked for a burger that was cooked through as often burgers can be pinky red in the middle. What I got was burnt embers - obviously cooked through but well charred, tasteless and dry. I had asked for a menu written in English but there were some meals which I couldn't understand. I wanted fish but the waitress could not explain what the wording meant. I since observed that the fish was cooked in something that resembled a greaseproof paper bag. The chips were overly thin and dried out. Also, some of the items on the menu had sold out which surprised me at it was only about 8pm and the restaurant had not been open that long. In future I would be tempted to walk out into the Commercial Centre which has a Hippo Grill. The buffet breakast which is optional cost us £7.50 per head on top of the room rate at £55.95 for a double room. I arranged this very quickly via e-mail more than 20 days prior to our stay. The terms were that if we cancelled we would lose all our money but that was a risk we were happy to take. The breakfast was the typical cold self service buffet. The range of foods seems to have been reduced from previous visits. I was disappointed with the croissants as they were burnt and just crumbled. However, there was enough to choose from so we didn't go hungry. There is also a pleasant eating are outside. However, on all our visits we've experienced heavy downpours. I think this is probably due to the surrounding hills. The rooms are of the usual standard and decor for IBIS. They were clean, had a bath and shower overhead, hair/body wash, wi-fi access and a TV. The staff were pleasant. The location was good for close access to motorways.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    99
    92
    28
    10
See reviews for
53
110
25
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Arrived quite late evening on route to ski resort the next day. received a warm welcome and a cold beer. Hotel is very easy to find off the main route to French ski resorts near Chambery. Hotel staff very helpful, spoke English, room clean and simple, self service breakfast just over five Euro's on top of room cost and perfectly adequate before getting back on the road.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel is ok, though not the greatest Ibis in the world. Good in that it's close to the resorts. Chose this over B&B because it was near to restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Good hotel for a stop over for Chambery airport, cheap, convenient location close to main road to airport, shopping centre and fast food nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

great location off auto route, nice n clean n quite room, dinner was good. will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

the rooms (2!) had lots of technical failures: blue water, no waterstop in the bath, dropping doorknobs, no shower point where the shower could be connected to, very much noise, very small rooms, smoke smell in both the rooms where no smoking was required.

only the breakfast was all right. As I stay very much in Novotel hotels, I will never stay in an Ibis again. Very very poor quality in relation to a rather high price!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Chambery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chambery

Address: 100, rue Eugene Ducretet, 73000 Chambery, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Chambery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Chambery 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chambéry hotel is 5 min from the centre, close to a cycling lane. You can visit lake Aix-les-Bains just 8 km away, or drive to the ski resorts 100 km away. The hotel has 88 air-conditioned rooms, a meeting room, a bar with a terrace open 24/24 and free closed parking. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless Internet connection. The Europcar service is available directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Chambery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Chambery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.